We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond our expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlos Tours

Carlos Tours
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Woodinville, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We went on a group tour with Carlos, and were a bit wary, since the last snorkel trip we took out of Placencia was terrible. Carlos quickly set my mind at ease. He was very friendly and professional. Three promised stops turned into 4. We even got to stop at San Pedro for lunch. He takes you to the same stops as all the other tours, but in a different order, so that when we got to each stop, the crowds were gone. We weren't sure how he could possibly give a "guided" tour, but Carlos pulls it off. He allows you to follow him, and he stops often, pokes his head out of the water, tells you what you are seeing, then goes right back down to point it out again. We saw rays, turtles, nurse sharks, eels and tons of fish. Carlos takes great pictures which he puts on a CD for you at the end to purchase if you want. Don't miss a chance to go out with him you won't regret it.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    14
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding snorkeling tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This was our first guided snorkeling tour, and Carlos sets a standard that will be hard to beat.

The tour is advertised as 3 stops at popular snorkeling spots, with a lunch break in San Pedro. We got a "bonus" 4th stop at a spot with lots of rays.

I'd expected a "guided tour" for snorkeling to involve a general briefing on the boat followed by just snorkeling around, but Carlos actually does a guided tour during the snorkeling. We followed Carlos in a loose pack, and as he found interesting coral and fish he would stop and tell us what they were (repeating a few times in case we missed it the first time). At each of the four stops, we saw more quantity and variety of fish than we saw during the previous day's scuba dive.

Carlos is very personable, and interacts very well with his clients. We felt comfortable and safe, especially with Carlos' assistant trailing the group with a life jacket just in case. The boat was full but not over-crowded, and Carlos piloted it with obvious attention to our comfort.

A special feature is that Carlos takes pictures during the tour, including both the sights as well as at least one decent picture of every client. A CD with all of the pictures is available for purchase after the tour.

We're looking forward to snorkeling with Carlos each time we visit Caye Caulker.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, VT USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consummate professionalism with humor and heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

You're in good hands when you take a snorkeling trip with Carlos and Romeo. My friend and I have snorkeled all over the Caribbean and generally don't like group trips, but going with Carlos is informative and fun, and the wildlife in the cayes is unmatched for snorkeling. Carlos is excellent with people, and tailors his attention and his itinerary to the group. If you need a lot of instruction and assurance, you'll get it. If you're experienced, he'll make sure you have enough freedom and water time to have memorable wildlife sightings and magical encounters. It's clear he loves where he lives and what he does every day, and his regard for the ecosystem of the reef is a wonderful model. He has extensive knowledge of the flora and fauna that he is only too happy to share. And his facility with language is truly enviable — I watched him move effortlessly from his native Spanish to flawless English, to Creole, to Italian, all in one trip.

Romeo drives the other boat, and is a wonderful guide in his own right. His understated sense of humor and low-key reliability is a great asset to Carlos Tours. These guys work hard to make each trip fresh and exciting for every new group. I'm so grateful to them for the many wonderful snorkeling memories I accumulated over the course of the ten days I spent in Caye Caulker.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“1st Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Absolutely the best snorkel trip I've been on. Carlos' service was 2nd to none. Carlos was very knowledgable and helpful on our trip. We spoke to several people on our trip that come back yearly to snorkel with Carlos multiple times during their stay. I look forward to bringing the kids back to snorkel with Carlos.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Snorkeling and amazing photos to purchase”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

My husband and I had gone on 2 other boat trips before going with Carlos. The Sailboat was great and the Manatee interesting but Carlos Tours knows where to go and what to see like no other! Even though we went to the same places as many other groups, we stopped at the sites at different times so we were the only ones at each site! Our guide Romeo took underwater photos that were amazing. We purchased them and they are better than any of ours. We also stopped in San Pedro for 1 1/2 hours (lunch and shops) -- and I think that was plenty - Caye Caulker was so much nicer!! We saw so many fish and sharks and rays and coral -- just amazing!!! Carlos Tours rocks!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos Tours also viewed

 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Carlos Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlos Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.