We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location, good rooms with beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caye Caulker Condos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caye Caulker Condos
Save
You added Caye Caulker Condos to your Saves list
26 Front Street, Caye Caulker 95060, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Bicycle Use
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Unbeatable location, good rooms with beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I'm not sure you'll find a nicer place to stay on Caye Caulker than these condos. We stayed in Room #1 which is a ground floor end unit room. It was perfect!! our deck was surrounded by beautiful flowering bushes facing the beach (reef side of the island). The Split is steps away which is really the only place on Caye Caulker with good snorkeling. The room itself was fairly big by island standards, had a comfortable queen sized bed, A/C and a well equipped kitchen. It's in a fairly quiet location, but the restaurants and stores are within easy walking distance. There's a large roof top deck at the condos with a 360 degree ocean view perfect for taking in the sunset. Barb, the manager was extremely helpful and answered any questions we had throughout our stay.

The downside I can see to staying at these condos is that the decks are not private. Your neighbors will be fairly close to you if you're out on your decks at the same time. We didn't think it was a problem. If you're really looking for complete privacy, I wouldn't recommend Caye Caulker in general. The beaches there are all public and people walk everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    36
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
76
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We stayed at the Caye Caulker Condos for our anniversary and was very pleased with the experience. It is located at the far end near the split which was a good location, not too close and not too far from everything on the island. The room was a little pricey but you get what you pay for. Very clean, private, pool, air conditioning, TV, safe, kitchen, bottled water, nice shower and bathroom. Also a good supply of bikes for anytime you need them. If you are a back packer looking for a cheap night on the island this is not for you, but if you are looking for added comfort for a few more dollars it's well worth the extra costs. No regets staying here. Mark & Sue

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a week in Caye Caulker and had a delightful time. We decided to pay a bit more than what I reckon is the average for accommodations on the island and stayed at the Caye Caulker Condos. All in all, a good choice. The place is well-run; Barbara, the Canadian manager, is straightforward and helpful. Our room was clean and the kitchenette well-equipped, including ample purified water. Would recommend getting a second-floor room at the end, either #5 or #8. The balconies are nice and afford a nice perch for gazing out to sea or watching people stroll by. I would note that there's not much of a divider between balconies, so don't expect complete privacy -- and for that reason get a room at the end. We were in #8, which is the best....as you can look beyond to the Split. (Of course, the rooftop is also very pleasant for just lounging around and surveying the surroundings.) The condos' location was also ideal, in my opinion. The Split is right at hand for a quick dip in the water (as of course is the condos' modest sized pool). And it's an easy stroll to at least a couple of restaurants. In general, the island was a fun relaxing place to spend a week. As noted widely, it's not for you if you yearn for a classic, white-sand, broad beach. But the surroundings are picturesque nonetheless, and the ambience of the place hard to beat. The locals, including vendors, are laid-back. We never felt hassled. Indeed our only unpleasant experience was with the American or Canadian woman managing the desk at Costa Maya, the snorkel/diving shop near the condos; she doesn't exactly provide service with a smile (I'll leave it at that).

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Extremely comfortable, clean, friendly place to stay on the North end of Caye Caulker, very close to the "split" with great swimming and hangout during the day. It's also very quiet at night, the beds are super comfortable, there's a coffee maker & frig in each room if you're an early bird. There's a beautiful pool and a rooftop palapa with hammocks and chairs with an amazing view of the north end of the island, the reef and sunrise and sunset on the backside of the island. Everything is really close on Caye Caulker, so you can walk anywhere, but might want to take a golfcart "cab" from the airstrip if you have a lot of bags. We loved it so much, we came back after going inland for another few days. The staff are so warm and friendly, and can answer all questions about Caye Caulker with a great sense of humor. Thanks so much! We LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

Visited Caye Caulker in Feb 2010 - Barb and Almy went out of their way to see that our needs were met. Rooms are safe, bed is comfortable, located just a minute's walk from the split (the place to be in the daytime) and 5 minutes to the centre of the village - it's simply up there with the best places to stay on the island
Restaurants - basically, everyone is cooking on a charcoal B-BQ grill, so despite the fact that there are a good number of options, they all can seem the same after a week or so. You can eat the spiny lobster every night if you wish, or snapper - lots of seafood options. The difference from one restaurant to another is the quality and amount of sides served with it and whether you eat inside or outside at picnic table. Recommend - Fran's (she's a hoot) and serves the best meal for the dollar on the island (loved the chicken & ribs). Her brother (Jolly) Roger serves up a good scoff too, but he's a little slow since he doesn't start the grill until everyone is seated and the place is full. The Happy Lobster is okay, but their conch was very rubbery; Wish Willy's advertised prices can be deceptive; Roses' is good, but sides are average. Stay Away From - Joe Habaneros up the street near Tropical Paradise Hotel - food was lousy (though I never had their signature offering - pizza. Garden salad we got there was 90% lettuce. Food at the Lazy Lizard at the split is very, very good and priced reasonably - no better place to eat during the day. It's where the local characters hang out, everyone drops in so there is island atmosphere aplenty. No restaurant or bar owner we encountered on Caye Caulker was more friendly or helpful than Immer at the Lizard.
Attractions (Tours) - Stay Away From - Tsunami Tours - Remembered us only for our money, never once said "Thank you" or asked what we thought of the experience. Example - I mentioned to Heather that doing cave tubing and visiting Xunantunich all in one day was too much because it was too rushed. Not only was she not interested in my opinion, she didn't even seem to care that I had one. Highly Recommend - Marios - unpretentious little business, local owners, knowledgeable, kind and helpful. If you are going cave tubing on the mainland (a must-do experience), Marios will hook you up with Vitalino Reyes (cavetubing.bz) - because of his many years experience witrh the caves, he's the best guide possible. He went out of his way to see that we had a wonderful time. You can go Ziplining too, at Jaguar Paw, an exhilarating experience though just a bit pricey
Shopping - Alan Chan's is the best place on the island for day-to-day needs, fairest prices
Recommend - Caye Caulker bakery on middle street - great products, including the Johnny cakes for breakfast
Bars - Never felt more at home than at Lloyd's (Barrier Reef Sports Bar). A great gathering place and the trivia there is lots of fun (look for the N.S. flag we left there). Say hello to Lloyd, his daughter Heidi, and Larry from Calgary for us please
We will definately return to Caye Caulker - just hope we can do so before it becomes a mini San Pedro on Amergis Caye - too many big resorts, too busy and crowded. Thank you everyone there for a wonderful tropical island experience

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

WOW--the pictures on the website are an understatement of this place. The front porch and pool are great for relaxing after a day of diving. The roof is perfect for watching the sunsets. If you inclined to read as you relax there are books in office to borrow

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We moved to caye caulker condos after a disappointing night at costa maya next door. Granted the $100/night price was a bit out of our price range, but i was sold after seeing the sweeping views of the ocean and beach strip from the room. The hammocs on the rooftop were fantastic, the kitchennette was well equipped, and the shower was great. Little pool in the back was perfect for taking a dip after swimming in the ocean. Really worth the $$-- even by backpacker standards. Check out the italian restaurant down the streat for great pasta (but mediocre pizza.)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caye Caulker Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Condos

Address: 26 Front Street, Caye Caulker 95060, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caye Caulker Condos on the beach with sea view from all 8 rooms. Located at the split, away from the downtown area, where you will find the best sunbathing, fishing and swimming on the island. Our rooms are competitively priced, private with air conditioning, kitchens and unique showers for two, TV in each unit with wireless internet. Just added a beautiful swimming pool to cool off after a long day of sunbathing on the roof top. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caye Caulker Condos Hotel Caye Caulker
Hotel Caye Caulker
Condos Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caye Caulker Condos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.