We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and Wonderful, great for a girls weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast
Alamina Dr., Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Wonderful, great for a girls weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

I stayed at the Lazy Iguana with a group of girlfriends for a 40th birthday party. We had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We rented bikes nearby and biked all over the island. Irene was a great hostess and the breakfast was light but satisfying. I would definitely recommend this B&B especially for small groups or families. The rooftop hammocks are wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    3
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Upon arriving the hosts were very friendly and helped out with every question and detail we had to ask to feel safe on the island. The rooms are very nice and very private. If you're looking for a hideaway on the island, this is the place. The Miller's were quite refreshing as hosts. It was nice to sit and visit with them during the light and delicious breakfast's we ate while there. Prices are fair and the staff seems to be really nice to your wants and needs. Will certainly stay there again. The panoramic views from the palapa is worth going back to over and over.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

When you run a B&B your personality is part of the package. The owners of this B&B are unfriendly, bordering on hostile. You are felt as though they are doing you a favor having you as their guests.

While their accommodation is nice enough, you can get better value for your money elsewhere. The location, for instance, is far away from anything you might want to do. The breakfast is also not generous.

These people were the most unpleasant I have encountered in the country of Belize.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarketingCayeCaulker, Owner at Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
I am shocked that this lady wrote this review! There were four ladies traveling together and the rest took our business card to pass it on to their friends. I am sorry she had a bad experience. Blessings to her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is a private B&B. We were uncomfortable when host walked in on our floor without knocking. She then proceeded to open refrigerator door and check. She would also walk in at 10:00 p.m. She said she was checking to see how well maid cleaned, but it was eerie.

Otherwise hosts were very friendly and accomodating.

Tip: Ask if they would please knock before entering.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

B&B accommodation comfortable and clean. Price moderate to high range for the island. We arrived one day late -due to a mechanical problem with one plane and e mailed them enroute as soon as we knew about the rescheduling details and they expressed irritation and suggested that they could have " rented our rooms."
Hosts made it clear that they did not intend to make any special accommodation for guests needs eg when requested to provide some fruit and drinks for an early morning departure for a 6 hour trip they resisted, complained and then reluctantly delivered some fruit to our room. Due to these early morning excursions,our group consumed 4 sit down breakfasts out of a possible 16-- and no refund or alternatives were offered.
Breakfast was light and minimal-- platter of fruit and some bread and limited coffee and juice. Another visiting couple expressed to us their annoyance about the limitations of the breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My husband and I honeymooned here for 5 days/nights. The staff was very helpful & friendly. All the accomadations were clean and well maintained. It was the Perfect environment for relaxing; very islandish! the breakfast was light & delicious. It was a great walking distance to all the restaurants on the island & the boat pier, but quiet enough to just relax whenever you wanted to!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Staff was incredible, very friendly, strived to provide above and beyond service to make our stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible, and was spot on with restaurant recommendations. The owner, Irene, however, was nice at first, but as our week went on, she became less friendly and hospitable, to the point where she made unwelcomed passive agressive comments and would not do us a favor (and allow us to save $$), i.e. by taking us to the water taxi in her golf cart.

The room and bathroom were large and clean, and both ceiling fan and wall-mounted a/c unit made for comfortable nights sleep.

Breakfast was a nice spread of fresh fruit, juice and homemade breads. The complementary filtered water, (wireless) internet and bikes were a definite plus, as the cost of all three (3) may add up quickly; however, with only four (4) bikes available, we were caught having to walk into town when there were more than four (4) guests (at the bed and breakfast).

We enjoyed the "off the beaten path" location, as it allowed us to escape from the main street noise. The top floor with hammocks was an excellent place to lounge, read and enjoy the warm sea breeze.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast

Address: Alamina Dr., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Iguana Bed & Breakfast on Caye Caulker, Belize, is an exclusive island retreat on Caye Caulker; an elegant home where you can relax and enjoy the scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming, birding, fishing, and jungle excursions that Caye Caulker, Belize and the barrier reef offers. The top deck has a spectacular 360 degree view of the Island and the sea. The B&B is on the second floor and has a separate private entrance. Full course breakfast, freshly squeezed juice & coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Iguana Hotel Caye Caulker
Lazy Iguana b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lazy Iguana Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list