We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Loved Our Stay at Seaside Cabanas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Save
You added Seaside Cabanas to your Saves list
Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“We Loved Our Stay at Seaside Cabanas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

I first came across this place in one of my favorite travel magazines, Budget Travel. Then, I started reading reviews and it seemed like a great option for our stay in Caye Caulker. We arrived into Belize City, took a taxi to the water taxi (25BZ), and took the 45 min ride on the water taxi to CC (40BZ). When you get off the water taxi, you walk off the pier and the cabanas are right there on the left. We checked in about 530pm and everything went smoothly. We had reserved Cabana #6. It is part of a 2 level cabana and we were on the top level. I thought it would be fun to have the thatch rooftop.

The room is decorated in bright colors. The room is also a pretty good sized room. The cabana is equipped with a small armoire with a few hangers. There is a small TV with cable, DVD player with movies you could rent at the office, a small frige for personal use, a phone, alarm clock, and a small air conditioner. There is free wi-fi available and for general email checking and web surfing, it works great. Our room also has a small balcony overlooking the pool area that we would sit out on at night with our One Barrel Rum drinks. We bought and stored drinks in our room frige instead of going to the hotel bar.

The shower is a walk-in shower and it takes a minute to get hot water, but we really didn't use a lot of hot water. It was pretty warm and humid during our stay. We are used to zero humidity however.

We did get in the pool one day and it was pretty warm and a little salty. It was really quiet when we were there, we had no real noise complaints. Although, we did chose to sleep with the windows closed and the air conditioner on at night. I guess one noise nuisance would be the birds in the morning. Due to the thatch roof, birds would sit on it and start singing and squawking pretty early around 4am. It woke me up, but my husband wore ear plugs and it never bothered him. But, it's all part of the experience!

Supposedly, there was coffee and rolls available in the bar in the mornings, but we had fun eating at places on the island. Our favorite was Glendas, with fresh squeezed OJ and homemade cinnamon rolls. We also discovered Amor Y Cafe had delicious organic coffee. For dinner, we really liked Rose's Bar and Grill down the street. They had delicious fresh fish dinners and they cooked it right in front of the restaurant on the street on the grill.

For activities, we went on a full day snorkel with Ruggamuffin, which I highly recommend. We also went diving one day with Belize Diving Services out to Hol Chan.

OVERALL, we really loved Seaside Cabanas and Caye Caulker! We stopped at the front desk at least once a day with questions and the girls were always really helpful. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    131
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
302
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

On the whole i loved seaside cabanas, was impressed with the quality of the rooms, we have thje 2 bed aaprtment which was nice.
The second bedroom has an aircon machine that sounds like a plane is taking off!
On our last night we moved to room no.9 which is where we encountered the problem.
The bar stays open pretty much till people leave and being on site you can hear everything. Our room was directly opposite the seating and the partying kept going till 3am! We may have been out there such was the noise!
The hotel does not seem to have anyone on site so after they leave its free reign!
This was the only night there was a problem and other than that i have no complaints but it's worth noting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidecabanas, Owner at Seaside Cabanas, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry to hear you may have been disturbed one night during your stay. We have looked back through our CCTV footage from the bar on the night in question and it seems that some other guests that were staying with us for a wedding had some drinks from the bar as it was closing and were making some noise around the pool. (We do always try our best to keep noise to a minimum and ask people as politely as possible, staying with us to respect others peace and quiet) our night security did ask them to quieten down and return to their room around 12:30 which they did. Our Bar is always closed before midnight (very rarely after 10:30) and our night security arrives at this time. There is never nobody on site. We wish you had mentioned this the next day as we could have discussed this and made up for your disturbance then, we always want people to leave very happy and well rested. I hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Simon
Owner
Seaside Cabanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Seaside Cabanas for a week on our honeymoon. It was a very relaxing and quiet stay. Very convenient to the Water Taxi. The managers and staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. They helped book a mainland tour and their recommendations for dining were right on. We are planning to return next year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

There are cheaper places on the island, but this place was lovely, and worth the splurge. It is nice to have a pool after a day in salt water. The sailing outfit right beside is fun!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, La.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Great place to stay!!! There was 12 in our group and we all had a great time. One couldn't ask for better service from the staff, management was very helpful and ensured that our every need was met, pool area was very relaxing, convenient to every thing. Water taxi is just steps away as is just about everything. I'm so glad we chose this hotel and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

As everyone else has said, Seaside Cabanas is the best! The location is perfectly set in the middle of the main area with the restaurants, bar, and tour providers. Very easy to get to and from the water taxi dock and airport.

As for the rooms, it was great having A/C, especially for the nights when there is no sea-breeze. "Uno Mas" bar served up great drinks and nothing can beat a Belikin in Belize. The property was well maintained and lounging in the hammocks under the palm trees was so peacefully. Unfortunately, we spent 2 days scuba diving and the other fishing, so our only regret is not staying longer! We will be back - please don't change Caye Caulker!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

My friend and I stayed here during a recent trip to Belize, and we absolutely LOVED this place. The location was perfect: right near the water taxi and close to everything in Caye Caulker (not that anything is too far...). Seaside cabanas was beautiful - so nice to have a pool and lounge chairs to enjoy during the day. The staff were great, and all of the other guests were really nice too. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
20.2 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.