We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Cabanas
Save
You added Seaside Cabanas to your Saves list
Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights. Good comfortable bed next to the pool. AC, Fridge and cable TV. Water available at the bar and complimentary breakfast fruit, doughnuts and coffee. Good pool with sun all day. Shaded area for when it gets a bit hot. All tours can be charged to the room. Friendly and helpful staff. Much enjoyed and would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    126
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
66
288
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisco, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cabanas for a week in April. Everything was perfect for us, location, size, pool, bar and the reviews made the decision simple. We stayed in 2 different rooms as the rooftop cabanas was only available for half our stay. Checking in was a breeze, taxi was sent to wait for us at the air strip and it was minutes until we were sitting by the pool with a cocktail. I found the front desk ladies to be more than friendly and helpful, they booked our flights and helped us pick a snorkelling tour. Room #11 , second floor, was big, bright and nice, right at the end so there is more room to sit and have a beverage without being "in the way" when people are walking by to get to their room. It was clean, quiet and the ac worked fine, only trick to it, the smaller remote by the tv is not for the dvd player, its the way to get the room at a comfy temperature. The ac unit leaks a bit so don't leave anything you don't want wet directly underneath. There is a small fridge which is extremely convenient to fill with beers! Beers are about $1,50 at the market and $2.50 from the pool bar. There was a safe in #11, but we didn't have one in cabana#3 which I found weird.
Breakfast at the bar can go quick, so if you had a late night, don't be surprised if the fruit salad/coffee are gone. We really enjoyed this, fruits were so delicious, good coffee and pastries. The conch ceviche was one of the best we had on the island, a must try! Wish they had a few more items to snack on at the bar. I had read before that bikes were free to takeout for the day, but that must have been an older review because we now have to pay a fee for rental, still quite cheap for a full day, if I remember correctly $8. They give you a lock and key with the bikes, just in case.
Cabana#3 was simply perfect. Loved the privacy, hot tub was definitely too hot for day use but fine in evening. Although there is a rule where no kids under 10 are allowed, one family had a special pass and it was good to be able to leave the pool area where the kids ran free and spat on each other in the pool and splashed other guests electronics and retreat on our deck quietly. Not too private as people can easily see you, but still a fantastic room. We hung out in the hammock/shaded area and relaxed with the sound of the sea nearby, dreamy! The grounds are cleaned daily as is the pool. Beautiful plants and flowers surround you by the pool. Towels are given to you upon check in and they wish that you exchange them every other day or more, if possible. there is a book exchange shelf at the front desk, loads of options. I still dream of this place and will be back some time. I hope that you enjoy as much as we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidecabanas, Owner at Seaside Cabanas, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

In regard to your observation about the children that were there for a couple of days during your stay. I do apologise if they disturbed you at any time. We try to be as strict as we can with the 10 year old rule due to avoid anyone being disturbed. In fact in this case the parents had assured us the children were 10 and 11 before they arrived, though as you observed and so did our staff they appeared younger than this.
You can imagine, it makes it very hard for us when this occurs especially if they are of the noisy persuasion and we also requested politely on more than one occasion that they keep the noise down but this was ignored. We have decided to raise the age to 12 years going forward.

The hot tub temperatures are easily adjustable and you can always request a temperature change at reception. We will endeavour to make this clearer in the room brochure.
Our range of bar snacks will also be increased soon and rooms 3-6 (the last ones without safes) are due to have new storage and safes fitted this year as part of our ongoing improvement schedule. A safe is also available in reception.

Again thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff was welcoming and very helpful. We had a beautiful room overlooking the ocean and pool with a balcony and beautifully thatched roof! It was a dream! The sun rise and views were great. I was NOT however prepared for the amount of gecko's running around :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We picked this place based on good reviews, and overall we were really happy with it. There literally isn't a better location on Caye Caulker - it's 100 yards from the water taxi and right in the middle of the island. On the beach, close to restaurants, etc. The quality of the rooms was also good. I read some complaints about the lighting, which was a little odd, but we didn't have any problem. When in the room during the day we could open a window shade and it was great, and at night the lighting was sufficient for reading or whatever. We found the bed comfortable, and overall the room was clean and nice. As we walked around the island and saw some of the other places we had considered, we commented several times about how good a choice we'd made.

We had one of the cabana's, which I would suggest. We used the rooftop a lot. It isn't 100% private as you share it with one other room, but it is close enough. We got pretty badly sunburned our first day snorkeling, and the place only had a few lounge chairs around the pool that were shaded, so unless we were poolside by about 8am we wouldn't have been able to be outside at all. The cabana rooftop allowed us to enjoy views of the beach in some privacy and more importantly, in the shade. Also, they request that you only consume beverages from the bar when you're at the pool. I'm sure you could break that rule, but one of the great things about the cabana was the in-room fridge, so we could buy cocktail ingredients on our own and save on the bar tabs. Having the rooftop also allowed us to not feel bad about not getting drinks from the bar.

The reason I rate a 4 rather than 5 was the service from the office staff. We wanted to do a few activities, but every time we went in with questions they were really unhelpful. For example, we wanted to go on a sunset sailing trip, and they raved about one tour company and how it was the best and they would set it up, saying we needed to check back in in the afternoon to make sure it was confirmed (they needed a minimum number of people). When we checked back in, they say that we're confirmed, but its another company (the one they'd earlier said was a little rowdy). So I asked if we should just wait for another day, and they say "no, it's fine, you'll enjoy it". It ended up being fine, but I didn't like the fact that they talked up the one company only to book us with someone else who they had earlier said was 2nd class. Similar story with snorkeling. They go on and on about one tour operator, then set us up with someone else.

I just felt like the staff was totally uninterested in helping us have a good experience on the island. This was surprising because we'd read several reviews talking about how wonderful and helpful the staff was. It was also extra disappointing as we'd just come in from 5 days in the Belize jungle where we stayed at a place that had the most helpful and friendly staff I've ever encountered. I would just say book your own tours and don't rely on the staff at all, and you'll be set.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidecabanas, Owner at Seaside Cabanas, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Hello,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel.

A little surprised you did not feel the office service was up to scratch and can only apologise for this. Generally our guests give wonderful feedback for our office team so we will certainly have to review how you were dealt with and see where it can be improved.
As far as booking trips on your behalf, this really is just a service we provide for our guests and we make very little out of it. While we can advise which trip might be our favourite, we are at the mercy of which trips actually have enough people to go out on the day. Gladly it seems the trip you were booked on was enjoyable so it seems all ended up well anyway.

Feel free to email me if you have any further suggestions how you feel we may improve our service.
smorris@seasidecabanas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Well, everything is close in Caye Caulker but if you take the water taxi in from Belize City or San Pedro, this is right there. Don't worry; it is very quiet. Staff are nice. Rooms are clean. We had the least expensive room which was perfect. It is small but fine. Just open the door and there is the view. Yes, a hot tub would be nice, but at such a higher price, not worth it especially since not used much. I saw one person using it for about 30 minutes. We did take a look at the most expensive room which is two stories with the bed upstairs. Beware, there are no rails to get to upstairs bedroom and no bathroom there. Had large kitchen and was beautiful but really, who is going to spend all that time indoors?

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seasidecabanas, Owner at Seaside Cabanas, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay. We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff to be nice etc.
I would like to note that room 18 that you may have had a quick look at does indeed have an ensuite bathroom upstairs.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed there for three days during last summer (July 2013). As usually we have checked many places before choosing a hotel and this one was much better then others. Rooms were spacious, clean and service very helpful. Barman was serving nice local drinks and you can stay at the nice pool. I was afraid a bit about the fast boat station close to the hotel, but there was no problem with that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

hands down this is the best place, value, and location in caye caulker. The staff is awesome, the rooms are incredible, i would recommend room 2 if available its right on the ocean with a hot tub on the roof, rooms 1,3 ,4 are also the same. One of the only hotels with a pool, and bar, and free breakfast. this is our 6th time here and i wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: choose room 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cabanas

Address: Caye Caulker Village | PO Box 39, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside Cabanas offers Caye Caulker in luxury with a true atmosphere of the tropics. Hotel reception staffed by our friendly and professional team. 24hr security. Free Wifi, pool, bar, gift shop, tour/dive office. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seaside Cabanas Caye Caulker
Seaside Cabanas Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.