We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The funkiest place on Caye Caulker!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kokomo Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kokomo Beach to your Saves list
Kokomo Beach
Beachfront | PO Box 55, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Northern BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The funkiest place on Caye Caulker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

CC is so fun, chill and laid back... Kokomo Beach is at the perfect location on the island with the best views and the most amazing rooms! Bright, colorful & funky... very cool decorating! The best place to stay on CC!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011 via mobile

This is an amazing place!! Takes ahold of u and takes your breathe away!! Loved staying beachfront! The rooms are very spacious, funky & fun. Love laying in the hammocks overlooking the ocean with a rum punch in hand!! Wish I could have stayed longer ! Truly a magical place!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

CC is so fun, chill and laid back... Kokomo Beach is at the perfect location on the island with the best views and the most amazing rooms! Bright, colorful & funky... very cool decorating! The best place to stay on CC!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

Between the time we booked (Dec. '08) and confirmed our reservation the place changed owners; now it's part of Tina's Backpacker Hostel. Some of the suites have become higher end dorms but the upstairs suites are 1 bedroom units with a separate living room and kitchenette.

The location, on the beach near the docks, is perfect and the sunrises were beautiful. We loved having a kitchen so we could prepare some of our own meals, shopping at the local groceries and buying fresh barracuda steaks from local fishermen. The rooms were spacious and clean.

My brother-in-law's family stayed at Sailwinds right next door (our balconies were attached) and had similar rooms with the addition of free purified water.

Our favorite meal out was at Wish Willy (my husband's favorite meal of his life) and we had good experiences diving with Frenchie's. Our last full day on Caulker we went on a Raggamuffin snorkeling/sailing trip to Hol Chan Reserve and Shark Ray Alley and really loved it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I don't think anywhere you stay on Caye Caulker will be bad. If you're their, you're not their for a luxury suite, you can go to San Pedro. It's a beautiful island, it's laid back and the vibe is amazing but it's not a resort town and I love that. The Auxillou is newly owned by Tina's Backpacker's Hostel which is a few doors down. It's only 4 suites and now the bottom two suites are being used as part of the Hostel dormitory. The suites themselves are pretty nice although I don't think anyone could have slept on the "pull-out" (futon) in the living room since it was lumpy and you could feel the wood bars while just sitting on it. It's somewhat awkward as when you approach the hotel there is no service desk or anything. It took a while of just looking lost before someone told me to go to the Hostel down the beach to check in. It would've been helpful to have some sort of sign or something. It's kinda like renting a condo, not being in a hotel. If I had known, I would've just rented one of the other condos on the island. The only downside is that you have to bring your own hammock. Would've been nice to already have them their cause now I have a $60 hammock that I can't use at home... Oh well. Also there's a club/restaurant right behind that can thump the music out on Weekend nights. Also construction is going on which can kinda ruin the mood, if you're just wanting to sit on the porch and read. Granted, construction is happening all over the island and there's not much you can do about that.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

One of our problems is that one of us will wake up early or have problems sleeping so having the extra seperate room is great. He could watch tv late at night--or I can get up early and read. Location could not be better--while we are very active, some our favorite memories were just sitting on the prch and watch the world go by.

Unfortunately the wifi was not working when we were there--but by leading over the porch rail, we were able to connect with the wifi in the related hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

We stayed at the Auxillou Suites as part of our Belize vacation in May. The suites were large and well-furnished, and very comfortable. The rooms face east and have a lovely view of the rising sun each morning. You can see the reef from the porch, and the water taxi stop is about 50 steps away, making trips to the mainland very convenient. Caye Caulker is so small that everything is pretty much in walking distance, but the Auxillou Suites are literally right in the middle of it all. The hosts wer very friendly and they arranged all our day trips for us. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kokomo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kokomo Beach

Address: Beachfront | PO Box 55, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kokomo Beach Belize is located only fifty feet or so from the breathtaking Caribbean Sea on the tranquil island of Caye Caulker, Belize. These are individual one-bedroom suites tastefully decorated to blend in with the island atmosphere. Each fully air-conditioned unit features a private bedroom, private bath, hot/cold water, living room area, cable TV, kitchenette and each has its own spacious deck space. Our ultra spacious units each with a approx. 500 sq ft of inside space makes them the most spacious yet affordable vacation units on the island. Warm furnishings make them a home away from home. This is the premier property on Caye Caulker. Come enjoy our breezy verandahs and starlit nights in relaxed comfort. Welcome to a beautiful island escape. These are beachfront condos that are among the best on the island. Step out from your deck and walk on the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kokomo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokomo Beach Hotel Caye Caulker
Auxillou Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kokomo Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.