We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great, drinks are hit or miss.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 88 West

88 West
Chapoose Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
+501 226-0643
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 65 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food is great, drinks are hit or miss.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

The food here is terrific. I had the chicken tacos one night, conch fritters a second night. I usually ended up getting beers or rum & coke for my beverage. My girlfriend had the margarita (frozen), which was mediocre at best (and the only reason I'm not giving 5 out of 5). It tasted like a slurpee. Otherwise, this place is great. It is tucked back on the west side of the island by the iguana reef hotel. There was almost always a decent crowd, mostly locals and ex-pats. We stopped in for a drink most of the nights we were on Caye Caulker. The bartenders and folks in the kitchen were super friendly. If you're on the island definitely stop in. Drinks until 9, food until 8 or they run out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Don't get the margaritas...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We went to this place last night for dinner, but the kitchen was closed. Instead we ordered some chips and salsa, beers, and margaritas and enjoyed the amazing sunset from their patio. The homemade salsa was very good, but the $7 US margaritas looked and tasted like a mixture of tequila and Squirt.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favourite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our favourite bar on the island. Had recently reopened as I think the owner wasn't impressed with the service previously, so kitchen still closed, but we went back every night to watch the sunset and enjoy the £1 local drinks! Lovely bar staff, very friendly - can't recommend this one enough. Take mozzie repellent as they are a plenty on other side of the island!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunset with a beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Casual, picnic tables, sunsets with happy hour. White sand and diving frigates. Quiet surrender of the day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bad timing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Unfortunately we can't rate the food since we caught them in the middle of remodeling. I can tell you they were extremely apologetic (missed taco Tuesday). They have a great bartender and she took care of everyone. Will make this a must stop next trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 88 West also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to 88 West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 88 West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.