We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marin's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marin's Guesthouse
Save
You added Marin's Guesthouse to your Saves list
Caye Caulker 501, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks and we were very happy with our choice. Magic and Michelle were very friendly and welcoming. Because we were staying for so long, we were able to use the two bikes they had spare and they also helped us out with lending us some beach towels. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and nothing was a drama. The units were perfect for us, the bed was super comfy and we slept great, the linen was good quality as were the towels. I think the 'rustic accommodation' review is for an entirely different place. The units were also very clean and cleaned regularly, there was a fridge, microwave, safe, fan and aircon in the room. No complaints at all, thanks Magic and Michelle.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

It was our first visit on the Caye Caulker and we had good choise. Owners were so friendly, room was clear with good service. View is little bit worst. The present as the trip across caye caulker with history education.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I stayed at this place during the easter holiday as it was one of the few hotels with availability, and I was pleasantly surprised for the price we paid, as it was cheaper than most hostels. The rooms are cute, in small cabanas and the owner very friendly and helpful

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

There are two properties on this review Trip Advisor. Guesthouse and Cabins, mine is re the cabins.

So I rock up and pay $50BZD per night and loved it. For sure its rustic but for $50 a night you get what you pay for. Hot and cold water and a fan that pinned me to the wall.

Clean tidy and well worth the money.

Interesting fact is that Doctor who has his island practice in the grounds is one of the most incredible surgeons I have met (Im ex ambulance) and I saw him work on 3 severe cases in my time there like it was a walk in the park.

Clean and tidy and lovely lady who runs the place.

Its away from the beach but equally as peaceful.

A lot of people seem to review the cabins as the guest house and vice versa which is wrong.

They are going to build more of both this summer.

Stay here but I preferred Ignaccios Beach Cabins

Room Tip: Cabin 4 was my favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I think every one who has stayed at Marin's guest house has had the same wonderful experience as I ...So what more can i say? The rooms are lovely, clean, with a stylish rustic interior design....but at the same time with the modern conveniences. Good lighting for reading at night, a small fridge, microwave and a nice shaded terrace facing the the garden for sitting outside. The bathrooms are wonderful, clean, again with good lighting, great showers and good hot water. The property whilst centrally located to the bustling action of the Island provides a quiet, sheltered secure atmosphere for guests. once you're in the gate, you in an oasis of peace and tranquility. The garden is quite lush, lovely flowers, plants and local trees...and again tastefully designed. I stayed in the new 'delux' cabana which was well worth it. across the garden are little budget cabanas. Their elderly uncle lives across the garden in his own little cabana, a beautiful lean elegant man. I loved watching him sitting on his front porch from my terrace. the pharmacy is next door and the Chines supermarket is just steps across the road. It's a family compound and a great place to stay. Magic and Michelle are wonderful hosts, accommodating and generous.
Magic who is a third generation local islander is a treasure trove of the history and culture of Caye Caulker.... and he shares this knowledge, his child hood memories, etc with humour in a fun matter of fact way. I left Caye Caulker having a deep understanding of the richness of it's Culture....because of him

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but I liked the the second floor corner cabana. I had a better view over th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had the most amazing time in Caye Caulker and all thanks to the atmosphere of Marin's Guesthouse!! Magic and Michele are fantastic hosts and Magic being a third generation local islander, he knows everything about the fascinating culture and history of Caye Caulker.

The location was great! Just a little south of the arriving docks and within a five minute walking distance to everything. Our room was perfect. Very clean and has that brand new feel. The grounds were full of lush and beautiful flowers. Everything was very well taken care of.

Being a world traveler I'v spent many nights in different accommodations and I can say this place was just perfect!

Can't wait to go back!! :)

Room Tip: Any room should be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorento illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We scheduled online with Marin's Guest House because we heard about it from a colleague at work. The owners picked us up directly from the airport in their golf cart eliminating the need to wait for a taxi or go through the inconvenience of locating one. On our short golf cart ride we were given a little history of the island and information about places we might want to see. Our room was exactly as pictured on their website and was perfect for our needs. The guest house has a fenced in courtyard with a gate so there aren't any wanderers passing through the property as we noticed at other facilities. It is also conveniently located next to a market where you can grab anything you might need, there is a laundry service just around the corner as well. A dive shop is just an island block away, along with a restaurant for a quick snack before you head out or come back from your daily adventure. The guest house is just a minute from the waterfront and located next to a pharmacy for any otc's you may not have packed. We were treated well and would definitely use Marin's Guesthouse again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marin's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin's Guesthouse

Address: Caye Caulker 501, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marin's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.