We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Terry's BBQ on the beach with the family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Grill

Terry's Grill
On the Beach by the Split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Terry's isn't listed online. Things usually don't have an address on Caye Caulker.... I do have photos to submit though.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss Terry's BBQ on the beach with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We first met Terry at his BBQ stand across from our hotel, Caye Reef, where he serves lunch time portions of his famous BBQ. We decided we would go to his grill for our last meal before leaving Caye Caulker and we weren't disappointed. Great location to watch the sunset, and yummy fresh lobster (lobster season started June 15). Informal, and very friendly. Enjoyed watching the kids run around - it's a true family run place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    68
    28
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troup, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fresh from the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Terry's smile is infectious and his food fresh from the emerald waters is delicious! Do not miss lunch time at Terry's Grill!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I had dinner one night at Terry's. My husband was very pleased with the chili garlic grilled chicken and I had delicious grilled conch. Terry grills out on the front street during the day and while walking past I ordered a skewer of grilled vegetables that were excellent!! While waiting for our meal at the restaurant, our waiter, who was not busy, sat at our table and we enjoyed a conversation with him. Most, if not all Belizeans, are so friendly and love to share their culture. Unfortunately, there were not enough nights to return to every restaurant for dinner, or we would have gone back to Terry's. He is a a really nice man. Be sure to say high to Misty, his wife's precious pup.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Terry has the best barbecue on the island! Delicious pork chops, chicken and shrimp were some of my favourites. Generous portions. On one of the nights we were there he had live music. Couldn't pass Terry's Grill without my mouth watering from the amazing aromas coming from the grill!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Misty is the boss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you're not into noise with the family running around like you're at an Italian grandma's table do not go here!
While getting a massage on the beach my husband was talking to the locals and met Terry. He said we had to eat at this guy's place he is amazing. We went that night.
Terry came out and welcomed everyone waiting for dinner and said we only have two rules here, be yourself and go slow. That was just our pace.
We had the jerk chicken and the snapper filet. Both were moist and delicious. I enjoyed the snapper more, the veggies it came with were awesome. I'm just not that into chicken but my man loved it.
Tommy was playing acoustic guitar and singing. For us that is always fun. Friends and families of the employees helping out and the kids running around.
If there in the better months the sunset would be amazing but not our luck.
They have a few dogs that lay with you but Misty is the little black and white one. We had a fun time watching her chase off all the bigger dogs, she is the boss.
If you're ready to chill and have a good time go here. If not go somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Terry's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.