We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terry's Grill

Terry's Grill
On the Beach by the Split, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Terry's isn't listed online. Things usually don't have an address on Caye Caulker.... I do have photos to submit though.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I had a chicken lunch from Terry's grill based on all these reviews. The chicken was ok - not amazing - and it came with a side of cold rice. Terry seemed like a very nice guy but for the lunch grill at least I couldn't say the chicken was anything more than average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    71
    29
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Unfortunately we only found this place on the last night! Great entertainment if you like acoustic jamming or if you want a place to play while on your travels. I didnt have the food so cant say.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Terry does wonderful things to chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Terry earns two superlatives: (1) the best food on Caye Caulker, and (2) the friendliest guy on Caye Caulker.

During our three days on the island, my husband and I ate at Terry's twice. We missed lobster season by a couple weeks, so I didn't get to try the grilled lobster. But, the jerk chicken is out of this world. Ask him to not hold back on the heat -- gives it so much more flavor that way. A split chicken, marinated and punched full of flavor, is grilled over hot coals. I've never had such ridiculously perfect chicken before.

At dinner, each protein (fish, chicken, lobster when in season) is served alongside Belizean rice & beans and caramelized plantains; plates run ~BZE$20-25. At lunch, the protein is served with rice & beans and cole slaw; ~BZE$12-15. Everything is cooked to order, so it will take a while for your food to be prepared -- plan accordingly. At dinner, he has mosquito punks set up to keep the bugs from bothering customers.

At lunch, find him on Front Street about a block south of the split. Dinner is served out of a light violet colored two-story on Back Street, about a block south of Sea Dreams Hotel. Dinner starts around 5:30 PM; great sunset view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food at a great price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Terry has a stand by the split during the day where we had shrimp on a stick. It was delicious amd we decided to stop by this restaurant on the water for dinner.

I had snapper filet, my husband had jerk hockey, and we had anther shrimp skewer! The food was fantastic, the prices were very reasonable, and terry is a great host! We will probably go back again before we leave the island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr. Terry is awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The food is better than average. The atmosphere is great because of its location at the split. But Mr Terry himself is so damn nice and friendly. I'd would recommend for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terry's Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Terry's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.