We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront Cabana for Cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ignacio's Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ignacio's Cabins
Save
You added Ignacio's Cabins to your Saves list
Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Waterfront Cabana for Cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are renting a cabana here for about a week and are very happy with the value. The place itself is located in a tucked away little section to the south of the island and sees very little foot traffic. The balcony over looks the east side of the island and is an amazing place to watch the sun rise and chart the moon's path at night. Peaceful tranquil view with great bang for the buck. The cabana itself is pretty basic but we aren't here for luxury accommodations. Comfortable bed and cold water showers with a private bathroom. Recommended.

Visit us at justapack.com to share our year long journey.

Room Tip: 50 Belize dollars for the waterfront cabanas. Rent those if able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    15
    8
    18
See reviews for
2
30
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Ignacio's Cabins are very rustic, i.e. "you get what you pay for." Simple cabins on stilts with attached bathroom (although that's a generous statement). Basically a step up from camping, however good money saver if you'd rather spend your dollars on food/scuba/snorkel/other experiences to be had in Belize. Far from center of town which is good and bad: quiet and secluded which is nice, but can feel maybe too secluded if you want more socializing. Can rent bikes from Ignacio (read: rusty, old, rickety, but will do the job). A word of CAUTION: in general the place feels so low key and intimate, but there have been several incidents of opportunistic ROBBERY from the cabins by locals, after forgetting to lock the door, or sleeping with the door cracked open for better air flow (many people do this; it gets hot in Belize!). It is generally a safe relaxed place but be sure to use your smart travel head and always LOCK THE DOOR.

Room Tip: Always ask to see a room before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Budget accommodation with beautiful Caribbean views! I had a back room which was very basic and comfortable for what I needed. It's a little further from the happening place so I also needed to hire a bike, the walk isn't too far but maybe a little long at night. Overall good accommodation at an affordable price :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We've stayed here for a few nights (min. stay of 2 nights). I think if you want to have a beachfront place to sleep, this is the cheapest place you can find on the island. It looks really shabby but after all, our cabin didn't collapse (we had one really heavy storm the first night) and we never saw a cockroach or bedbug, so that's a good thing! The owner of this place looks and acts a bit strange, but he is really friendly! Also his son is always there and is a really cool guy. It's located at the end of the hotelstrip, but if you know that you can cross the village in half an hour by foot, then the location doesn't matter. Everything is close to each other!
If your standards are not to high, this is the perfect spot! It's cheap, quiet, you have your own swimming dock, hammocks, ... We liked it, for sure!

Room Tip: The cabines at the waterfront are a bit more expensive, but I think it's worth it. These ones ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Corresponded with the owners of this place before planning our trip to caye caulker as we are traveling with our dog, they assured us they allowed dogs and could accomodate us. Got to the island, walked all the way to the cabins and they said they must have forgotten to mention they don't take dogs. Not cool. Aside from that we waited stood in the office doorway for at least 15 minutes while they finished talking smack about a friend of theirs. The cabins look ramshackle anyway, have no mosquito screens and bars on the windows. In the end we found a delightful place and are glad the owners turned out to be liars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed at one of the back-side cabins in Dec 2013 including the night on Christmas day. The cabins are standalone and perched up above ground that one takes a few stairs to climb up. It's situated at a secluded area of Caye Caulker, which is roughly 10 min on the beach from the water-taxi terminus by foot. The location is its best asset. Ruben, owner's son, is very friendly and is forthcoming with lots of information. However, I felt that this place is somewhat of a missed opportunity for the owners - a lot more could be done to make it a decent place to enjoy and charge accordingly. The cabins are really basic. There's a standing fan, a bed, a toilet and a tiny shower stall. It's also very cheap, so if a couple or solo traveler is looking to roughing it at a great spot with water view and saving money, this is the place to come. Since I traveled by myself on this trip and stayed mostly outside, it was okay, but would look for other options for a longer stay and/or if I am traveling with someone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're looking for a place with a magnificent view over the sea, a bit more tranquil in the south of the island at a budget price (50 BZ$ for a stay of 2 nights (a required minimum)), than this place suits your needs. The cabins are very basic, but for the price they are more than Okay. Especially great for couples on a backpack trip :).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ignacio's Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ignacio's Cabins

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ignacio`s Cabins Hotel Caye Caulker
Ignacios Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ignacio's Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.