We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home From Home In The Evenings On Caye Caulker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill

Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill
Avenida Hicaco | Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Barrier Reef Sports Bar)
011-501-226-0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 71 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Our Home From Home In The Evenings On Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Run to military precision by a superbly interesting chap named Scott.

Waitresses who just make sure you never want for a thing. No matter how many drinks you consume they always know exactly who bought what. Superb Panty Ripper cocktails are the way to go. Dont take the mikey by bringing in drinks in bottles as they know but never comment.

The food is great, the company hysterical, the setting one of the best in the world and the wifi is fast. The pub quiz run by Mike is legendary (ask about Brooklyn Ball Busters). Watch Ice Hockey and Basket Hoopy Ball at the same time as singing to Conch blowing girls doing Karaoke.

When the sun sets and you leave The Spilt and but a Happy Cake from Chef head to see Scott and buy him a drink. Hes the breaded dude and hes lovely. Chill out there and eat drink and be merry.

Huge memories of our came for a day and stayed for a month fun. Oh and drink pitchers or Stout.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    61
    20
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friday Jam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Definitely the place you want to be on a Friday for their Happy Hour Jam starting at 4. Besides having a good local band playing classic rock they also invite other visiting musicians to join in making it fun for all. They also have good drink specials & buckets of beer!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The place to be and enjoy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The best place to relax and enjoy a beer with friends, old and new. Great music on Friday and fun creating teams for the pub quiz (thanks to Trivia Mike). Tried everything on the menu more than once and even some specials during the Super Bowl. The service was over the top!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoy some live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Although we heard the food was good, we just did a quick visit for some live music and a drink before sailing. It was 4pm and the place was pack. I was sorry we only had an hour there. Take a peek, I think you'd enjoy it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Our go to spot on Caye Caulker!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I think we came to the sports bar almost every day we've been here, even if it's just for a beer... could have something to do with the fact that the Canucks were playing 3 of our 7 nights here but we also stopped in a couple other evenings and for a snack after diving (2 chilli burritos for $12 BZD/$6 USD... yum and perfect to share... got these a few times actually), and some nachos and beer the other night to snack on ($15 BZD/$7.50 USD). Service is great, you can get a bucket of Belikin for $25 BZD/$12.50 USD (works out to one free with 6), tax is included, and they take visa/mastercard without adding any fees which was nice to find since a lit of spots are cash only and we were running low by the end of our trip. I know we'll be back tomorrow before catching the water taxi home since it's conveniently located right there.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.