We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill

Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill
Avenida Hicaco | Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly Barrier Reef Sports Bar)
011-501-226-0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Mexican, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had terrible food there one night with mediocre service and had decided not to come back. Then we heard about the Friday Jam Session and decided to go. Service with 200 plus people there was excellent, beer was always cold. We decided not to try the food again and leave on a good note.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    70
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, manitoba
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Atomosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Love the decor, the service was fairly good, and a fun bar to grab a drink and watch some hockey. There are resident dogs with water and food dishes by the bar. The bathrooms were clean. You can sit at picnic tables that look out at the ocean. Just a fun place.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I love this place, right at the end of the water taxi pier. It's always my first stop..whether I'm on the island for a week, or just stopping by from working a cruise ship. The ownership changed a few months back, but it's still the same friendly little place with friday night jam, open mike night, trivia nights and the same bartenders. Amazing staff! They make you feel like you're a local.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Laid Back Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I stopped in for a drink last night. Staff was very friendly and attentive. Located on the beach, atmosphere was lively. It happened to be trivia night and the place was filled with mostly everybody participating. Mixture of locals, expats and tourists. Didn't try the food but the jalapeno poppers looked good. Drinks were inexpensive. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
“Amazing and laid back atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We went to the sports bar while in Caye Caulker to watch the semifinal Olympic men's hockey game between Canada and the USA. The place is so cool and has a great open air layout. The staff were so friendly and helpful despite the place being packed with people watching the game. The food was amazing and then we decided to go back that night for their jam session that goes on every Friday night! The jam was so so good. Tons of great people dancing and singing along. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrier Reef Sports Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.