We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Paradise Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tropical Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Paradise Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

This is a great place to stay if all you really want is somewhere fairly cheap but not uncomfortable to sleep at night. It is right on the beach which is lovely and my two friends and I found the manager to be very friendly and helpful. The beds weren't that comfortable but we had sky tv for when the weather wasn't at its best, and a fridge to keep drinks and snacks in. Definitely take a room which has air conditioning as the room we had originally booked was appallingly hot so we asked to change, which was no problem. The shower wasn't great but ok and the maid kept the room nicely for us during our five night stay. Caye Caulker is a fun, relaxing place, and you can walk the length of the island in about 10-15 minutes. The locals were generally friendly and there are lots of cheap places to eat with great sea-food. There are a few bars where we met other back-packers and there was a great atmosphere. We were three female students and we didn't feel unsafe even at night. It felt as if there was just the right balance between tourists and locals.

  • Liked — It was right on the beach
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    25
    12
    15
See reviews for
18
52
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

We expected great thinks from this hotel and from caye caulker. The hotel was basic. Considering the price we paid we were not satisfied. For 6 nights our sheets were not changed, the water didnt go down the sink or the shower for ages leaving dirt when it did. The toilet never fully flushed leaving floaters every time. When we asked the management to change one of the mattresses because it was so lumpy you couldnt sleep on it, they simply place a blanket over the top - and then they put it on the wrong mattress. The staff were indifferent to our requests and we found them to be not very helpful.

Some bars were charging 9 US dollars for a rum punch, and made no excuses for it, when the norm was 5, thats when they could be bothered to serve you. The shop/bar owners by and large were not very friendly and as forthcoming as they were in Placencia. Although there were exceptions. We did find a very good Honduran "Restaurant" called the Sea Food Deli - I think. On the main street. It sold all manner of Belizean food. It was cheap and good. We found the local people who sold food from their own kitchens were far friendlier and welcoming than were the "larger" eating establishments.

There are plenty of beaches on CC but none from which you can swim due to the sea grass in the sea and the shallow depth of the sea and the seaweed that has been washed up on to the shore which doesnt seem to be cleaned up. The one area from which you can swim - the Split - has dangerous currents that can wash you way past the island if you are not careful and is always packed with little space to lay down. When you do find a space in the sea with no sea grass, usually off a pier, its so murky that you cant see a thing even with a mask.

We found the diving and snorkling around the reef to be quite poor after Placencia. The manatee watching was less than usless. 2 hours spent watching the sea for a shadow or shape with the occasional blowing of air from an animal you never saw very clearly and which produced lousy photographs. Not impressed. The chap who took us was more intent on cleaning the underneath of his boat than finding us decent snorkling places. The island is so small that you can see everything in a day, which is what most people tended to do, which is probably what accounts for the shop/bar owners indifference; they are very aware of the transient nature of guests and so dont try too hard to impress.

One word of warning, if you pay by credit card, they take the whole lot from you as soon as they can. We wanted to settle in cash at the end of our 6 days but they wouldnt let us.

Everything shuts at 21:30 -22:00 which leaves you enough time to get your rum and coke from the tiny fridge and make your own decent drinks. Piers are very sought after both in daylight for sunbathing (very very few places to do this) and swimming from (the sea is so shallow and the sea grass so prevelant that this is the only method to get a decent swim) when there are ladders to get back, and at night for sitting on and watching the millions of stars or just to listen to the surf breaking over the reef a few metre away.

So, not good for swimming or sunbathing, no good beaches, murky water, no good for snorkling or diving, nope, not a place I could hand on heart recommend.

On the plus side, its cheaper than San Pedro, and you can walk around virtually naked with no shoes on.

I wouldnt go again, and I cant honestly recommend the island. Not after Placencia.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Go for a day, look around, pop over to San Pedro, look around then go to Placencia for the rest of you holiday
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caye Caulker hotels

Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

Not the best hotel in my life but good for the price. The room was clean the restaurant is OK, and the staff is ok too. I have been to an other hotel own by the managemanet in caye caulker (the tropics) and enjoyed much more the tropical paradise. Privilege in caye caulker, you have fresh water in this hotel.

  • Liked — the be able to take a shower with fresh water
  • Tips/Secrets — The price is very competitive, and it's close to the wter taxi terminal and to the airport.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights in october 2006

Room were soso, clean and bathrom was ok, nothing special.

Stayed in room 17 (avoid with a vengence!!!) as each night cockroaches would come to visit me, giving me a rund for my money!! it apeared after the second night the were coming from theough the sink in the bathroom, when i tould the receptionist she was too lazy to do anything so used repellents to solve the problem and after that i was gone, i liked belize but woudlt stay there as me and cockroaches do not get along! nice area ane beach though, so choice is yours if you stay
p.s if you do say hi to the little buggers!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the little buggers
  • Tips/Secrets — If you like bugs then you will be just fine & dont mind the lazy staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

We visited Caye Caulker from Dec 27-30, 2005. My husband and I stayed in room 17 and my stepdaughter and son stayed in 16. Our room had a jacuzzi, but the shower didn't work well. Who cared when you had a jacuzzi? Their bathroom and shower were fine. AC worked fine. Both rooms were quiet. My 11 yr old son and 21 yr old step daughter would walk to "town" (3 minutes) by themselves and were very comfortable. Husband and I would buy Belikin Beers at the local restaurant and visit by the beach. Very pleasant. Son found an iguana living in some cement blocks near our room. Very entertaining. This hotel is owned by locals, which we preferred. We borrowed hotel's kayaks to explore sw part of the island.

  • Liked — Value
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

I absolutely loved Tropical Paradise. The staff was very friendly unlike at some other hotels on the island. Our room was cleaned daily (I was surprised to see that items like soap and shampoo were included...we expected to have to purchase them elsewhere). The location is right on the beach in a quiet area and the hotel has a restaurant with a full bar. What more could you ask for? I can't wait to go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2005

For all the fanfare of its paintjob, this hotel really just lacks in charisma-- though it is a good bet if you can't get a room somewhere else and need to stay one night.

Rooms are simple and clean-- but somewhat hot at midday. Our shower water smelled pretty funky, which made us wonder if we were bathing in rain water. And the provided towels seemed so stiff, I'm convinced they had been washed in salt water. Eww!

Other than that-- if you plop yourself outside on a beach chair its pretty-- and the swimming in this spot isn't dreadful... like it is elsewhere on this end of the island-- and that's a plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.