We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bait and switch. beware.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Paradise Hotel to your Saves list
Tropical Paradise Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bait and switch. beware.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

this hotel is located in a very quiet area of town. the on site restaurant is great. we stayed our first two nights here and then relocated to a b&b. we also needed rooms for our last two nights in caye caulker so we personally spoke to the manager and he showed us an air conditioned room which we reserved and paid for in advance. when we came to check in our room had been given to another party and we were placed a small, dingy, smelly, non air conditioned room. no explanation and no refund for the cheaper room were given. we went to look at "our room" and found a family of four staying in our reserved room. obviously management decided to give our reserved room to a family of four and decided to dump us in a smaller inferior room. not ok. i will not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    40
    17
    20
See reviews for
22
72
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Stayed 4 nights, booked snorkelling through the hotel (v flexible when the weather changed & we wanted to delay a day), ate breakfast & lunch here - all good.
Cheaper rooms around a courtyard (stayed there first night - fine but wanted sea facing so moved on day 2), but deals on our sea facing cabana were as cheap as much less attractive rooms further north.
The island is so small that being 'at the south end' in reality means being a 10 minute walk from the split- a well lit walk at night too so no issue.

Room Tip: We has cabana 10 - sea facing, seats outside for star gazing with a nightcap & easy access to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very convinient. Good place for the price. No one ever cleaned Room during four day stay but it really did not need cleaning. Would stay there again. Understand that there are really two different places with the same name here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Please don't stay here!!
At first we thought this place seemed lovely, good value for aircon and clean room but this changed quickly. The owners hang around on a balcony outside and we felt as if we were being watched, did not feel at ease or very safe, I felt the need to push a desk up against our door during the night.
To make things worse, there were then bedbugs!!
We packed up first thing the following morning and moved to Mara's Place which was MUCH nicer for the same money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. When we arrived we thought it seemed like a great place with friendly people. This is not true of Tropical Paradise Hotel. The staff weren't very friendly and didn't seem bothered if we stayed or not, I wish now we hadn't! We were robbed on our first night. We had locked the door when we came home from dinner and went to bed (we did not, as the management and police like to accuse you of, invite any strangers back to our room!!!) We went straight to the police at 5a.m. and were told to return at 8a.m! The manager/owner found out about the situation and seemed shocked and said he would ask his sister if she had seen anything as she lived next door to our room. After another trip to the police station, we came back and saw the hotel owner who told us that his sister had seen everything and was willing to testify. 'Great' we thought, some good news! He then proceeded to LIE to our faces and told us that his sister had seen us running up and down the hall, my husband climbing up the balcony and us changing money from our wallets!!! We were gobsmacked to say the least. We told the police everything, some were helpful, others made us feel like we were the criminals in the situation. We had paid for three nights upfront, and had to wait for the police report so we had no choice but to stay there. The police apparently didn't have the authority to give us a police report, and told us to go to another island to get it. My husband paid $20 to go to the other island only to be told the officer who could print the report wasn't available. In the end we had to leave and one of the officers said if we gave him $9 he would try and get the report for us! The frustrating thing was we found out the police had detained someone, and had him on camera. On the day we left I went one last time to check if they had recovered anything, I was told a Tablet had been recovered. But they had let the person go as they had no proof it was him! And I had lost all hope now of us getting our stuff back. I don't know if it was a thief or the owner/staff at the hotel or the police were corrupt. All I know is we were robbed, no one wanted to help, infact they wanted to blame us. It is a shame because it seemed like a lovely place, but I would not go back, or recommend going there. And I would DEFINITELY NOT STAY HERE! I do not believe the owner would of given us a refund at all. Infact he completely ignored us for the rest of our stay. He is a rude man and a liar. And I don't say things like that lightly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The cabana was clean and comfy
The first night we had no hot water
The fan in the room was amazing at moving the air.
It was really adequate for what I needed and for the price it was good .
Dion on the desk was really helpful and made the stay better
Will stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Yes, tropical paradise is an OK place - clean rooms, very simple in a good location but - oh the service ....
We told the manager therethat were leaving at the last ferry to Belize city in order to get the night bus to Mexico - a very long trip. Not once did he mentioned the fact that there is a late check out option. When we alreay took all of our asuff out of the room at 11 am sharp and spent the day at the beach - when we got back and asked if we can just use the showers for 10 minutes the other lady there told ilus that we need to pay 15 dollars )!!!( juat for the showers and we cant use the towels and we need to keep everything clean. We were really upset - there are many other places to stay which are better

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.4 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Paradise Hotel

Address: #1 Luciano St., Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Paradise Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach Location offering Deluxe Cabanas, Suites, and Regular Rooms. Our Restaurant offers first class seafood and local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Paradise Hotel And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Paradise Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.