We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem with seaview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Beach Belize

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barefoot Beach Belize
Save
You added Barefoot Beach Belize to your Saves list
Oceanfront Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
baarle-nassau
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“a little gem with seaview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we had 4 very nice days in this hotel. we had the front appartment with a lovely view on the sea and with kitchen and i felt immediately at home. nice furbished with tropical colors, good bed, very good AC and the walk to the town's cenrer was only about 6 minutes walk.
I think the owner handled us very nice as by mistake we had paid to much and she informed us about this matter and paid the money back as soon as she found out about this mistake of her assistent. We did like this hotel very much.

Room Tip: we had the room downstairs with kitchen and front seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    56
    23
    20
    9
See reviews for
26
115
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here because we arrived when none of the nicer hotels in Caulker were available. We felt lucky to get a room. The bed was horrible. It was pretty clean and we were right on the beach so it was a great view but a constant stream of people walking by. We ended up leaving the next morning. Did not understand why everyone had recommended Caulker so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

This is a great location close to the town's center. Our room had a spectacular view of the Caribbean sea, but this is not true for all the rooms. If you want a view make it clear. The manager/owner is also extremely unpleasant--not off the usual friendly island kind. This was very unfortunate, as it could have been a great experience otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayemermaid, Owner at Barefoot Beach Belize, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Interesting how 2 versions of the same story can be so different... I did indeed stay till 8 PM worrying over these guests not showing up. I checked my email after the last boat to see she had written to let me know they could not make it. (You can not text or voice mail here and I check my email at least 6 times a day) When these guests finally checked in the day after their reservation I said that I was worried about them and was glad they made it. At this point it wouldn't matter what I said or did because they had to pay for the night that they had booked the room and did not show up. (Very common policy because I could have rented the room, but HELD it for them.) We are on a small island that is in the middle of nowhere. We count on pre-booking over the internet because we do not get walk ups and there is NO business after the last boat. We are not 100 room hotels in New York City. I have 7 rooms total. If your plans change it should not affect the little Mom and Pop Hotels. I always have a form filled in advance which the guest signs with my policy and advise trip insurance. I am happy to provide letters to help in collecting your insurance if anything happens. Sad to get slammed on this site due to someones change of plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

One thing none of us were expecting was how hot the sun is in Belize. After spending a week in the jungle and the kids developing extreme heat rashes, it was nice to stay in a place that had air conditioning. And the AC in our room was GREAT! After a day out fishing or snorkeling it was great to come back to the room and refresh under the cold air.
The room was great - kids slept out in front of the television, we slept in a seperate bedroom. The room had a full kitchen, fridge, full size coffee pot, and drinking water supplied. Out front was a great gazebo out in the water with hammocks that the kids loved.
Ashley was great - very friendly and helpful. Susan was friendly but we just really didn't see much of her. She did make sure to tell our 6 y/o daughter how much she appreciated the sand art our daughter kept drawing on the property.
The only knock was with the way we were asked to dispose of toilet paper. We just couldn't get used to that. But being as it is an island and everyone has septic tanks - maybe that's just how it's done on Caye Caulker.
When we arrived home we had an email from Susan thanking us for staying with her and once again thanking our daughter for the sand art. Nice touch!
We would stay at Barefoot Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamhill, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

the staff were friendly, helpful and honest. my wife and i spent a ouple of days there, and had a great time. in our hsate to catch the water taxi on our final day, one of us forgot to pack our money. we didn't realize we were without money until we reached the Hertz car rental "who were also very friendly and helpful". once we realized we were without funds I called Stacee. Stacee was quick to action she wrote a check in the amount of our cash minus only $5.00 put the check on a plain too us witin 2hrs. we were back in business and on with our vacation. way to go Stacee and Barefoot Beach hotel. you turned what could have been a shipwreck into a luxry cruise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

A good option to stay at the quieter end of Caye Caulker. Turn left when you get off the boat and just keep walking till you see building in cartoon colours.

We were here last Christmas and arrived a few days early. As the room we had booked wasn't available yet we ended up moving round two rooms before settling into the one we'd booked. The 1st we tried was the Ocean Front Suite - definitely the best rooms in the place, big kitchen/living room and an enormous king size bed. Plus the double doors open right onto the beach.

We were then moved to a new Cabana which had just been decorated. No sea view this time but lots of space, a comfortable bed and a little verranda to drink an evening belkin. FInally we moved to the side room that we'd booked. More basic than the other but very good value, comfortable and still in this brilliant guesthouse.

Lovely owners, cleaners everyday, and even some sweets (candy) left in our room on Christmas morning. I can't recommend the place enough.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the beach front cabin, beside the Queen size bed (that filled most of the room) there was not much there. The bathroom was reasonable but with no proper separation from the main room. There are complimentary bicycles but only one pair per room (you can pay extra for another one). The one great thing was the nice peer with hammocks and shade.
And for all that the price was just too high.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Beach Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Beach Belize

Address: Oceanfront Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Beach is the Caribbean vacation spot that dreams are made of. We feature rooms, suites, cabanas, and cottages just steps from the water's edge with a spectacular view of the reef 3/4 mile away. Our accommodations are modern, clean, and quiet with all the comforts of home. Our sunning deck, hammocks, and dock tiki are ideal to get you into the "island mode". For casual relaxation off the beaten path, but only 4 minutes walk to town, treat yourself to our beach front hide-a-way.Take off your shoes along with your worries! Let us help make your island dreams come true. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barefoot Beach Belize Seaview Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Beach Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.