We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yuma's House Belize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yuma's House Belize
Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Plains, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in many hostels in Mexico, Belize and Guatemala during our travels and this was by far the best hostel. Suzanne, the owner, was very nice and extremely helpful. The rooms, bathrooms, etc. were clean. It was in an ideal location, just off the dock that the ferry arrived at which created a great breeze during the day and night. I would recommend Yuma's to everyone I know!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    44
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
61
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights at Yuma's and had a pleasant experience. Book a private room, but do it early - they fill up! I was a little nervous about sending my credit card info via email to a stranger, but Susanne is very professional and I had no issues with overcharging, etc. There was some noise/ruckus coming from the shoreline below the hostel late at night, but I think it was mostly tourists hooping and hollering - it had nothing to do with the hostel or its guests. Highly recommended - I wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Susanne runs a tight ship and I appreciate that! Don't stay here if you're looking for a place to drink and party all night. There are quiet hours that are enforced (yes, this means I was in heaven! I got to sleep!). You are also not allowed on the property if you are not staying at the hostel. If you have friends staying nearby, you'll need to hang elsewhere. The community area is all sand that is raked daily. I spent hours here lying in hammocks and reading. We met a bunch of great people from all over the world and ended up hanging out with them all the way to Guatemala. Lady is the resident guard dog, but at 14 years old her bark is worse than her bite. Communal bathrooms were fine and rooms were cleaned upon request. If you're looking for clean, quiet place to sleep, Yuma's is it- just make sure to book early as she fills up fast.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14. Corner room with a double bed. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Yuma's House Belize was the best hostel that I've stayed at. The property is in a good location and is well-maintained. Susanne (the owner) was very helpful while we were there, and helped us coordinate with our airline company to get our lost baggage while we were diving. The house is right next to both water taxi drop offs, and is right on the edge of downtown. We had absolutely no problem walking to various restaurants and dive shops. It's a hostel -- so don't come with expectations of a hotel. But if you need a place to stay that's clean, well-run, and has a great atmosphere, Yuma's House is your best bet. Rooms were regular sized, and come with a small locker and fans. You have access to two kitchens, which include condiments, pots, oil, etc. There is one bathroom w/ a shower upstairs, and four showers and three bathrooms downstairs. You can hang out by the picnic tables and hammocks in the garden area, or in the hammocks on Yuma's dock. (The dock is the perfect place to watch the sun rise!) I didn't find any bugs except for mosquitos, but there isn't any place on the island where you won't find them.

Summary: Great value, great people, great place. Stay here if you come to Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: The private room (with two beds) were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Always clean, good host, beautiful view!

We stayed for a week at Yuma's house, it's beautiful and near everything. There's 2 complete kitchinette and you can store food in the fridge. Is you don't want to go at the slipt, just take place in the hamacs on the pier in front. The sea and the wind are perfect!

Next to the San Pedro Express Water Taxi !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the place is very well located, I recommend the hammocks, the rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere is quiet but fun. is ideal for traveling alone, with friends or as a couple. Is not 100% comfort but who searches that in cay caulker? the staff is very friendly and helps to solve any problem. excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing place.
Atmosphere of freedom.
The place is held by Susan tight.
The rooms are nice, dining room and kitchen are excellent.
Service beyond expectations.
It's a place I come back to it.
Take a good book, where the yard, listen to the waves, listen to the gulls, forget everything, focus on quietly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yuma's House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma's House Belize

Address: Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yuma’s House Belize is a lovely inexpensive beachfront Backpacker's Hostel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yuma`s House Belize Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yuma's House Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yuma's House Belize to your Saves list