We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yuma's House Belize

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yuma's House Belize
Save
You added Yuma's House Belize to your Saves list
Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Yuma's House Belize was the best hostel that I've stayed at. The property is in a good location and is well-maintained. Susanne (the owner) was very helpful while we were there, and helped us coordinate with our airline company to get our lost baggage while we were diving. The house is right next to both water taxi drop offs, and is right on the edge of downtown. We had absolutely no problem walking to various restaurants and dive shops. It's a hostel -- so don't come with expectations of a hotel. But if you need a place to stay that's clean, well-run, and has a great atmosphere, Yuma's House is your best bet. Rooms were regular sized, and come with a small locker and fans. You have access to two kitchens, which include condiments, pots, oil, etc. There is one bathroom w/ a shower upstairs, and four showers and three bathrooms downstairs. You can hang out by the picnic tables and hammocks in the garden area, or in the hammocks on Yuma's dock. (The dock is the perfect place to watch the sun rise!) I didn't find any bugs except for mosquitos, but there isn't any place on the island where you won't find them.

Summary: Great value, great people, great place. Stay here if you come to Caye Caulker!

Room Tip: The private room (with two beds) were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    58
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
69
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Always clean, good host, beautiful view!

We stayed for a week at Yuma's house, it's beautiful and near everything. There's 2 complete kitchinette and you can store food in the fridge. Is you don't want to go at the slipt, just take place in the hamacs on the pier in front. The sea and the wind are perfect!

Next to the San Pedro Express Water Taxi !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

the place is very well located, I recommend the hammocks, the rooms are comfortable and the atmosphere is quiet but fun. is ideal for traveling alone, with friends or as a couple. Is not 100% comfort but who searches that in cay caulker? the staff is very friendly and helps to solve any problem. excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Amazing place.
Atmosphere of freedom.
The place is held by Susan tight.
The rooms are nice, dining room and kitchen are excellent.
Service beyond expectations.
It's a place I come back to it.
Take a good book, where the yard, listen to the waves, listen to the gulls, forget everything, focus on quietly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Quiet and easy-going hostel, close to the water taxi pier and to all the resturants and bars in the main street. 5 minutes walking from the split (the main beach). Met some great people there from all over the world. Beside that, susane the owner was very helpfull and kind on every issue. Best place to relax after a long diving day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great location, really nice and relaxing hammocks, rooms are clean with fan, funky style, good value, free wifi, private small dock with hammocks, kitchen facilities available (but didn't use them, so we cannot rate it). All in all, we felt really comfortable and would defenitely go back to this lovely hostel.
Don't miss to book your bed/room in advance, since there was no vacancy during our stay even though it was low season.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on Caye Caulker. I had a private room with one full size bed which was comfortable. The hostel is only a minute walk from the Caye Caulker Water Taxi pier. The public areas (kitchen, shower, bathrooms) were clean and colorful. The were many seats and hammocks in the patio area to hangout and enjoy the nice view of the water. Quiet time at the hostel is after 11pm, but you can head over to the near by bars to party or just keep the volume down at the hostel. There was no hot water in the shower, but you don't need hot water in Caye Caulker anyways. WiFi worked well everywhere. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yuma's House Belize? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuma's House Belize

Address: Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yuma’s House Belize is a lovely inexpensive beachfront Backpacker's Hostel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yuma`s House Belize Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yuma's House Belize, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.