We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another perfect stay at the Iguana Reef Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Iguana Reef Inn to your Saves list
Iguana Reef Inn
PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Play
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another perfect stay at the Iguana Reef Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We have been to Caye Caulker 5 times and have stayed at the Iguana Reef Inn on four of these visits. The only reason we did not stay every time at the Iguana Reef was because it was booked solid during one of our visits and we reluctantly had to book another hotel. Our latest stay at the Iguana Reef was for 10 nights during Feb. 2014. We love staying at the Iguana Reef because of the clean rooms and facilities, the great pool, the great sunsets off of the back deck, and most of all the welcoming and friendly staff. Alex, Elizabeth, and Otis are the best hosts anyone could ask for.

Otis cooks on the beach on his days off from the Iguana Reef. You really need to try his jerk chicken and pork chop lunch plates while you are there. You will not be disappointed! We always hate to leave Caye Caulker and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    44
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
178
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

This maybe a more expensive choice on the island, but for far less than $200 you get a $500 hotel room and top of the line service. The pool is peaceful and the sunsets unbeatable. Our room was huge with a proper couch and sitting area, bathtub, hot shower and great ocean breeze. The owner, Eric, showed me sea horses and tarpin off the dock and made great recommendations for activities and generally made us feel welcome and at home. We only stayed for two nights but by the first afternoon the bartender had already memorized my name and my boyfriend's. They pay great attention to detail and the hotel is fresh and clean feeling throughout. This isn't a rickety spot with lizards in your shower but a truly cozy, warm and luxurious place to stay at a ridiculously low price for what you get. If you want the relaxed island experience with a truly beautiful place to relax at the end of the day, stay here. If you're thinking about Mexico or Puerto Rico, consider this instead!! Great price, top notch accommodation AND you can drink the water ;)

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We cannot wait to go back. We had room 14 which is right in the middle. It was very nice! And quiet..... the staff is outstanding!!We spent Valentine's day here for dinner. The food was great and the service made us feel like we were old friends. We biked all over the Quay looking at all the other Hotels & this one is still our first choice!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedale
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Situated on the west side so less breeze and quieter as most hotels are on front street. Hotel staff have worked there a long time and are excellent especially Otis and Elizabeth. Has a great deck out of hotel and the sunsets from here are perfect, pool is good size and hotel is only a short walk to everything caye caulker has to offer, rooms are spacious very clean and comfortable, one down side though is noise from top floor as their appears to be no carpets in the penthouse suite, so can be noisy from foot traffic if occupied by inconsiderate guests. New hotel owner/manager is really trying to make it the best and has good plans for future. Had a fantastic week there and would/will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

While Iguana Reef might be considered a 3-star resort, I would rate it as top notch for Caye Caulker. My husband and I stayed there for 5 nights and our stay exceeded our expectations. First and foremost, the staff there was extremely friendly and very helpful. All of the staff that we met was eager to say hello and ask how were enjoying our stay or ask what we might need. They were well staffed and always available. For a slow-paced island, Iguana Reef wasn't slacking in terms of service in any way. Our room wasn't luxurious, but it was very nice for the price and we had plenty of space for ourselves and our belongings. My only complaint about the room is that the bed wasn't the most comfortable and the closet lacked hangers (but I'm sure they would've provided had I asked for them. Not a big deal in the grand scheme). The fridge was well-stocked every day and they didn't overcharge for bottles of water or items available in the room. Each day housekeeping did a great job and we were presented with a different & creative towel animal creation awaiting us. Our toiletries were well stocked without asking. The only other minor complaint I have about the room was the loudness of the AC unit, but again, I wouldn't consider this a big issue--easily solved with earplugs or a couple drinks to knock oneself out--at least the AC existed. The pool was set to a perfect temperature and was well maintained. And while we hadn't expected it, they also provided pool-side service for bringing drinks or snacks while laying out by the pool or nearby beach area. We were provided with an evening of drinks on the house (2ea.) and some appetizers for one night of our stay. A continental breakfast was provided each morning over reasonable hours from 7am-10am, including fruit, cereal, yogurt, and coffee. The resort is also located in one of the best spots for viewing the sunset on the island. Iguana Inn had a nice dock with lounge chairs for either laying out in the sun or watching the beautiful sunsets. I highly recommend taking advantage of the sunset views from this property. We also were able to borrow a kayak for a partial day trip off the dock to paddle around the island. My husband and I consider ourselves well-traveled and we have paid a fair amount to stay at much less favorable places. For the price, I have to say that Iguana Reef offers all the amenities that one might need; meanwhile remaining friendly but not annoying for the traveling patrons. We also got the impression that a few folks staying there also lived at the resort and the patronage amongst the staff to these long-term residences also showed their commitment to great service. I would definitely stay there again in a heart beat upon returning to Caye Caulker. The biggest key to their success has to be the overwhelming friendliness and consideration of the folks running this place--thank you Eric, Alec, Alex, Ottis, and Elizabeth!! You guys were awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

There is a lot to love about this place. First, it has probably one of the best views of sunsets on the entire island. Part of our group stayed in the penthouse, and part staid in a standard room. Both were very clean and comfortable. The penthouse was great! It has a full kitchen, but it could use more pots and pans and stuff in case someone actually would like to cook. Also, it definitely has space for 6 people to stay there but the hotel won't allow more than 4 to stay in the room. This was very unfortunate since we were a group of six :( The staff is awesome. They try their best to leaner everyone's name, so it feels a lot more personal than other places. My only complaint was that the outside dining area was under construction while we stayed there. As a result, the pool area was pretty dirty and it was very noisy during the day. However, it was finished before we left, and it was really nice after that. I would definitely recommend that others stay here. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the building with the penthouse provide wonderful views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our stay at The Iguana Reef Inn on Caye Caulker was nothing short of perfect. It was our first trip to Belize and we couldn't have imagined a nicer place to stay. The staff at the Iguana Reef (Eric, Alec, Alex, Liz and Otis) were so friendly and helpful, many times going out of their way to accommodate us. We have never experienced the type of customer service that was extended to us on our stay here - genuine and caring. The room was perfect - large, clean and very comfortable. The ocean view from the beach and dock area was superb and the pool area was comfortable and relaxing. The Iguana Reef is centrally located so you can easily walk to anyplace on the island. It is hard to describe how awesome this place is but when we return to Belize it will be to the Iguana Reef Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Iguana Reef Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Reef Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.