We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Reef Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iguana Reef Inn
Save
You added Iguana Reef Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Play
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Brighton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We just returned from our 5th trip to Belize and our 4th time to Iguana Reef Inn. We love Caye Caulker and the Iguana Reef feels like home to us. Our favorite room is #12 on the 2nd floor with private balcony overlooking the water and beautiful sunsets but you can't go wrong with any location at Iguana Reef Inn. The setting is beautiful, the rooms inviting, comy and immaculate and the staff are exceptional. Alex, Ann, Lizbeth and Otis are all friendly, professional and incredibly in tune to top customer service. The pool and cozy breakfast patio are great spaces to gather with friends, meet new friends or enjoy private time but the deck at the shoreline with adorondak chairs and spectacular view of the sunsets is our favorite spot - and a glass of wine from the patio bar makes it all perfect! Kayaks are availble at the hotel the kayaking doesn't get much better than at Caye Caulker. Favorite place to dine while at Caye Caulker is Wish Willy's - great grilled vegetables with every entree, owner Maurice is a hoot and very talented chef. Of course, Sandros Italian, is exceptional. Favorite place for live music is Barrier Reef Sports Bar - right on the water and terrific music on Fridays from 4pm to 7pm - perfect happy hour to start the weekend off right!

Room Tip: Room 12 is fabulous on the 2nd floor with direct view of the water and private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    36
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
53
151
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

At the end of two weeks in Belize, my son and I stayed at the Iguana Reef Inn on Caye Caulker, a perfect spot to relax, unwind and enjoy the location, the facility (pool, dock) and the large comfortable rooms along with the kindness of staff including Ann and Alex at the front desk and Elizabeth and Otis in the breakfast/bar lounge. We had an unexpectedly amazing visit. See you again guys!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was our second trip to Belize, and we had stayed in a not too enjoyable place the first time on Caye Caulker. We spent a few hours walking around and touring all levels of places to stay on our return. When we toured Iguana Reef we knew we had found our future accommodation!
So as not to bore you, we'll just say we don't regret our choice in any way. Otis is an excellent bar tender, service, rooms, and surroundings were great.
For snorkeling without paying a guide, walk to the split at the Lazy Lizard Bar. Saw Batfish, Scorpionfish, Octopus, Lion fish, Filefish, Angels, and all the usual reef characters there, AND you can drink rum while ya do it!

Room Tip: 212. Overlooks pool with an ocean west view. Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Iguana Reef Inn is superb in all ways. It is immaculately clean with great service and an excellent location right on the water yet close to everything. You absolutely can't go wrong staying here!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse NY
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is absolutely perfect for a small island get away. Service is superb , rooms are large & clean and views cannot be beat. Small breakfast each morning, but ask Otis for his great salsa to go with your evening drink.

Room Tip: We had a 2 queen room and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Great staff and a fun location. The island is easily walkable from here. Nice pool and we definitely recommend taking the cayaks out. Overall a nice hotel and one of the better ones we saw on the island.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

By far the nicest hotel on the island. Very clean, helpful staff, nice pool, and Belize Diving Services (The best dive shop in Belize) is right next door. I traveled here with my mother over Thanksgiving break and she was very happy with the cleanliness and the location. No TV's in the rooms but you shouldn't be spending time in there anyhow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iguana Reef Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguana Reef Inn

Address: PO Box 31, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iguana Reef Inn is located on the water's edge, in a secluded location in the heart of a charming village. The Inn offers decidedly upscale accommodations and the enchantment of the "Old Caribbean" island lifestyle. Relax on the verandah of one of the Inn's richly textured rooms or poolside and settle into the unhurried pace of the island. The Inn's ideal location is just minutes away from the restaurants and night spots on Caye Caulker. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Iguana Reef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Reef Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.