We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rainbow Hotel to your Saves list
Rainbow Hotel
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Central Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Rainbow hotel was VERY centrally located on Front street facing the ocean. Some rooms had views that were blocked by the Rainbow Restaurant (ours was) - but we still got partial ocean views. The restaurants were all located within 5 minutes walk (every place on the island was at most a 10 minute walk!)

The property is family owned and operated - so we felt safe leaving valuables in the room. The rooms also had double-locks, making it even extra secure.

Pros:
- Centrally Located
- Hot/Cold Water
- Safe/Secure
- Cheap/Affordable ($36pn)
- Ocean View
- 5 min walk from Water Taxi Terminals
- Accepts CC for room payments
- Very helpful and friendly staff

Cons:
- On Front street with a lot of foot/golf cart traffic - so it was noisy sometimes
- Basic accommodations - bed had fitted sheet, pillow and flat sheet only. Linens were changed every 3 days - bed was made daily. Towels changed daily.
- Water Pressure was poor the first night - but it was great once we told them about it. Like another reviewer suggested - check the water pressure before the office closes!! The water pressure was more like water dripping from the shower head our first night.
- No internet - but it's a quick stroll to Oceanside for free wifi
- No hammocks - just chairs outside the front door along the corridor

I would definitely stay here again next time!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    36
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ignacio, Belize
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel, and it is my favorite due to it's location (central) , view and value for money !
Very friendly staff that will go over, above and beyond !
My only suggestion is to test the hot water and shower before taking the room, not that hot water is a bare necessity on the islands, but a drip, drip shower can be very time consuming, especially if you are washing your hair :)

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

With no reservation, we got a second floor room that fit our needs. Fairly clean, two beds, fans and shower. A bonus was cable tv. Every day the room was cleaned and fresh towels were placed. It is a great location, right on the main street, with a few convenience stores within a minute walk. A great, albeit more expensive, restaurant is right across the street, on the water. You have the luxury of being right on the oceanfront, with so much happening right out your front door. The balcony allows you to hang out and people-watch. You do hear all the noise out front, but with no cars and just golf carts travelling around, it is mainly voices. With one of the local bars/gathering spots just a few doors down, you do also hear conversations and such at closing time. No a big deal, just accept it and roll over...it is sometimes funny to hear the conversations!

All in all, a great place and good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Had a great stay the rooms are very small and clean , but we only paid around 40U.S. per night. Great view right over the rest and dock. Very close to the gerneral store and every thing else. Desk was very helpfull with making phone calls as we booked ahead for other stops. Room service was polite and the water was clear and smelled nice. Pay a little more and get a whole suite with fridge ect.

  • Liked — Good price , clean , close to beach and a great view.
  • Disliked — Basic suite has no fridge, pay more you can have a fridge.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My younger sister and I stayed here for three nights in early March. We went to Caye Caulker without reservations - not a god idea. We looked at 15 hotels but all were sold out. Rainbow only had one room left. Normally I wouldn't stay somewhere of this quality, but we didn't have a choice. It ended up being a good choice. It was right on the beach, on front street. It was quiet every night, t was clean, and the price was right ($34 for a double with a fan and private bathroom and cable TV). The room was cleaned every day and we were provided with new towels. Keep in mind - clean is all relative... you are staying a cheap hotel on a Caribbean island in a third world country... this is not Four Seaons hotel clean! haha

They weren't the friendliest or most helpful hotel staff, but for $34 what do you expect.

If I go back, I wouldn't stay here again unless I had to, but for what we needed at the time... it worked.

  • Liked — Location was amazing and the price was great
  • Disliked — Not very fancy, basic accomodations, not what I want on a vacation
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

For our first night in Caye Caulker we opted for a super cheap option...this it was, and it was pretty clear why. First off, our room was pretty dirty (neither of us felt comfortable walking around without our shoes on), the floor was slimey (it was probably from the humidity), and it didn't even seem like it'd been cleaned from the previous guests. I didn't even take a shower because it felt so dirty... even though I'd just been travelling all day from the U.S. The room was tiny, as was the bed...(We both had a horrible night's sleep because of the small, lumpy bed). We had a room on the ground floor and our window faced the street, which we were pretty much on top of. It was a busy little area where a lot of the locals liked to hang out at night drinking beer and socializing. You felt like they were right on top of you! We even walked into broken glass outside our door the next morning...Because of this, we couldn't even open the window much less the curtains because everyone would be able to look right in at us...This made the room feel even smaller as you can imagine. All the rooms were also on top of eachother...you could hear everything outside the window. I have no idea what the other rooms were like, but we were so ready and grateful to be leaving this hotel the next day. If it'd been clean it would've been a little better, though still nothing worth more than a stop-over. The people who worked there were nice, and they were very good about communicating with me via email regarding our reservation....but I still would not recommend this hotel to anyone...

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2005

We have stayed at the Rainbow 3 or 4 times in the past 10 years. Ernesto (the dad) and family own and the run the hotel in a wonderful and gracious manner. #1, the hotel is safe. #2 you are no more than 50 feet from the water front. #3 all the conveniences are available. The hotel has 12'ish rooms on two levels. The rooms on the second level have cable television. There is only one exclusive suite that has air conditioning which would suit a family or 4 people. Otherwise, one has to rely on the ceiling fan and onshore breeze which is almost present excepting during July and August. No fridges, but the main office always offers ice and cold drinks. The rooms are screened and windows securely barred which is a very good idea for personal security. The locks on the doors also are excellent security locks as well. The Rainbow is reasonably close to the 'split' where everyone goes to swim. Also, is central to all other activities on the island. They provide taxi service to and from the airport. Don't expect North American standards for hotel conveniences on Caye Caulker nor most of Belize, however, safety is most important for piece of mind and the Rainbow offers the same. Enjoy the Rainbow, Caye Caulker, the snorkelling, the people, the ambiance.....and .....go slow :)

  • Stayed April 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.1 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
20.4 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#20 of 30 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel

Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.