We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Cubano Sandwiches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cubana

La Cubana
East side of Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
willard, mo., usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Cubano Sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great location ! The sandwiches were very nice. They were very authentic. The owner was very friendly, as was the waitress.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    21
    11
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalama
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good, fresh variety for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We enjoyed the "help yourself" to as much coffee as you'd like (most of Belize has a walk-up coffee service, but think "Folgers"), fresh tropical juices and a Denny's-esque type breakfast (for double the cost). We liked sitting outside with the breeze, nice atmosphere and great waitstaff! The price was higher than most on the strip and the food was not that great.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Believe this place gave us food poisoning. My husband and I were both very sick after eating here. We had traveled all over Belize and Guatemala and not had a problem until now. We had fish and a salad, would not recommend going unless you have something different, and even then I would not risk it as the food was not that great.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon USA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Hard to describe how bad the dining experience was”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The entire experience at La Cubana will live with me for many weeks. (The meal made itself known later the next day.) The food was cold and tasteless. The service was mute and indifferent. The little owner pranced around on the street trying to draw you in like a carnival hawker. If it was a circus, OK, we would have been entertained by this tragic scenario. You can't try to be this bad!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The fire pit roasting pig drew us in, but the actual serving of pork was miserable; fatty, gristle and very little meat. The black beans were cold and the cole slaw unremarkable. One of the poorest meals I have had.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cubana also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to La Cubana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cubana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.