We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we hoped for and more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Save
You added Colinda Cabanas to your Saves list
Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
September $20.00 Deal !
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything we hoped for and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Colinda Cabanas is an absolutely wonderful place to stay in Caye Caulker! In fact, I'm not sure it gets much better than this on the island. My boyfriend and I stayed in the two upper suites for 5 nights in February 2014 (3 nights in one, two nights in the other). The rooms were spotlessly clean, cozy, and had a full kitchen, which we used most mornings to make breakfast. And it had everything: coffee, coffee maker, blender, cookware, etc.

The best part: the view! The pictures don't do it justice. It is breathtaking (so breathtaking in fact, I walked straight into the glass door staring out into the sunrise). We spent a lot of our time sitting on the porch, swinging in the hammock, reading a good book, and taking in that view. It is so, so peaceful there, day and night.

One of the great things about staying at Colinda is the bikes! Every cabana comes with two bikes, which we used every day. We used them to explore the island, pick up groceries, ride the trails, etc. I wouldn't say they are a necessity on the island, but it was definitely a plus to have them! We also made use of the kayaks and snorkel equipment.

And finally, the hosts: Colin and Linda. They made us feel right at home from when we pulled up to when we drove away (in tears, obviously, because we were leaving). As soon as we arrived, Linda sat us down and gave us a run down of the great places to eat, the fun things to do, and where everything was on the island. And let me just say, she was right on the money. We enjoyed many of the restaurants and took a snorkeling tour with a company she recommended - probably my favorite thing we did! Colin and Linda were there when we needed them, but never overbearing. They were the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: Splurge on the upper beach front suites! The view is INCREDIBLE! Although, no matter where you sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
222
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed in upper suite 9 for four nights Mar 17 - 21 and had a great time. Colin and Linda were away but had left Juan in charge. Juan was an absolutely terrific host providing info about the island, places to eat and best tours to take. As a result we enjoyed Caye Caulker immensely. I would not hesitate to return to Colinda Cabanas in the future. Thanks Juan for making our trip so pleasurable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I wish I could give 5 stars at this place and I would have if...

I loved my time in this cabana.
It was quiet and nice, all the amenities in the cabanas, supernice the people but... in my bed I had the disgrace to being bloodsucked by bedbugs. My skin was full of bites, very itchy too...Lucky I wasn't allergic! Ouch!
Plus the security guy during the night slept big time on the hammocks instead of giving surveillance around...
Nonentheless my stay has been lovely, the pier in the night is supernice and the stars are awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin_M_Walsh, Owner at Colinda Cabanas, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest.
We were away in Canada during your stay at Colinda Cabanas.
When we returned our manager Juan informed us of your complaint(s).

Rather than bedbugs ; it was probably sandflies or perhaps mosquitos that chewed you up.

Who invited the sandflies to our party ?

Sandfleas, sandflies, sand gnats or no-see-ums – they are all the same. They live in the sand and are attracted to white and light and therefore anybody with pale skin and particularly those who are new to these parts like tourists ; beware!
For those (like yourself) who have severe reactions; red itchy bumps appear that may well turn into a rash - Not pleasant to be sure.

The only prevention for sandflies that is 100% effective and environmentally friendly is baby oil or a product from Avon that we supply to our guests called "skin so soft".

There is loads of information on the internet about bedbugs. Seems they are fairly easy to detect in a room, and are often found in beds, especially along the matresss edge ticking where they like to hide.

After your departure our manager went onto the internet and did some research on bedbugs and did a complete search of your room and found no sign of them.
He also informed our cleaning staff who closely checked and monitored all our rooms in the days and weeks since your departure - Nothing was found.
Subsequent guests have been fine and made no such complaints.

The only mistake made was that our manager failed to take you back into the room to do a thorough inspection in your presence.

We would suggest that next time you are heading to the tropics; take some baby oil with you.

At this time we would also respectfully ask you to remove your review.

Travel Safe.

Linda, Colin, Juan and the rest of the crew....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Undoubtedly the best place to stay on Caye Caulker. Beautiful, quiet location, a private pier with hammocks overlooking the ocean and the best hosts you could ask for. They have thought of everything - bicycles, kayaks, hammocks on your own balcony and fresh coffee in the cabanas. Colin and Linda are the kindest, friendliest and most generous hosts: thank you both for everything...we had a superb stay in your beautiful cabanas. Peter and Nuala

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have been more pleased and impressed with Colinda Cabañas!

EVERYTHING - the furniture, curtains, kitchen, shower, plantings, decor, porch, hammocks, dock, linens - is beautiful. It looks brand new but sort of timeless - lots of beautiful wood and nice ceramic tile. Kitchen was complete with coffee grinder, blender, toaster, dishes, utensils, and more. Once or twice we would have used a microwave but didn't really miss it. We shopped at the local groceries and produce stands and bought fresh tortillas and fresh fish straight from the docks, preparing nearly all of our own meals. The 2 meals we ate out - Meldy's and Wish Willy - were both excellent.

I went snorkeling under the dock and the neighboring dock and identified nearly 30 types of fish including juvenile damsels, parrot fish, sergeant majors, and wrasse, a large barracuda, a lion fish (neighbor's dock), a small flounder, lots of yellow rays, a southern stingray, 4 types of snapper, and thousands of synchronized mullets. I was pleasantly surprised.

We were in Room 9, the top floor of the yellow cabin, 1 back from the beach but still with a nice view and good breezes. It was so nice to have a beautiful private deck with tables, chairs, and hammock and we also made good use of the huge dock with multiple seating areas and hammocks.

One joy was watching the pelicans diving for fish, sometimes within a few feet of us.

We have our own snorkel equipment but used the provided bikes many times/day to access restaurants, the dive shop, (Belize Diving Services - recommended) fishing spots, and nature trails. The baskets front were a convenient addition.

We were happy to have a full week at Colinda Cabañas and are hoping to return in the future with a family/friends group. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wow....We were blown away from start to finish with Colinda Cabanas. After toting our bags an easy half-mile down the beach from the water taxi, we were kindly greeted by Juan, who showed us to our room, set us up with cruiser bikes and made sure we had everything that we needed. We even had coffee beans and a coffee grinder in the room - that is a first, and one of the coolest ideas ever. The cabins have a great location slightly detached from the hustle of "downtown Caye Caulker" and a wonderful dock with palapa to watch the sunrise and sunsets from. We plan to come back here many times in the future - it was paradise, and an incredible value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My sister and I stayed at Colinda Cabanas for three days in one of the Ocean View cabanas. It was heaven! The rooms are clean, well kept, and steps away from the ocean. There's no a/c, but with an ocean breeze and two fans in the room, I didn't even miss it. It was very comfortable. The dock chairs and hammocks are the perfect spot for catching some sunshine (or napping) and we spent most of our island time on those lovely blue chairs! It was great to stay at a place with their own beach and dock, since most of the beach space on the island is occupied by restaurants and other hotels. We loved that the hotel is located away from the main part of town, so it was quiet and private at night. However, it's still an easy walk on the beach path (our favorite) or through the village for meals and night life, if you want. Juan was a wonderful host - he gave us excellent recommendations for snorkel trips, restaurants, and local "fast food" joints if we were craving fry jacks (try them!). He was so helpful and attentive, and made sure we always had everything we needed - even beach towels, which we both neglected to pack! Loved our stay here, and hope to come back again someday. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.6 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
19.8 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
12.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a safe, quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze, most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have eleven units available for rent; ranging in price from $59.00 - $149.00 Per night. Most of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge and coffee maker. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colinda Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.