We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get Married in Belize !
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Caye Caulker
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited Caye Caulker for 5 nights in January (2014) and stayed at Colinda Cabanas. It was clean, quiet and a perfect beginning to our 3 week Belize vacation. We used the bikes to get around the island and had access to a sea kayak as well. Colin and Linda were wonderful hosts and gave us all the right recommendations for food and activity. We even had opportunities to star gaze off the pier in the evenings. The full kitchen and amenities made this a great value as well as a comfortable vacation spot. We highly recommend Colin and Linda's place and plan to stay again when we return to Belize.
Jean and Doug McDonald
Medford, Oregon

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
145
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed in the Beach Front Upper Suite (2) and it was more than we could have hoped for. It could easily sleep 4 with the fold out futon and the full kitchen and full size fridge was a huge plus! We used to the bikes everyday to get around the island and I couldn't have imagined being on Caye Caulker without them. The hammocks on the end of the pier were super comfortable! They even mopped the floors of our cabana every day to get the sand out! Don't hesitate to book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great location and great accommodations. We stayed in one of the smaller cabanas in the back and were totally satisfied. The bikes are also a huge plus since that's the best way to get around the island. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My sister and I travelled to Caye Caulker and we booked our stay with Colinda Cabanas. The staff was very friendly and located in a nice quiet location. I'd highly recommend Colinda's for affordability and comfort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed with Colin and Linda for 5 nights - what a pleasure. The cabana was small but comfortable with everything that we needed. We slept so well at night - it is on the quieter side of Caye Caulker and this suited us extremely well. Colin and Linda were very helpful in suggesting things to do/places to eat but they were not intrusive. The property is very well maintained and we made full use of the bicycles and the kayaks. A gem of a place. Caye Caulker is a great place as well - we liked it better than San Pedro, and were happy to have chosen to stay at Caye Caulker. The reef was awesome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed from 12/27/2013- 1/3/2014.

I have stayed all over the Caribbean in both lavish accommodations and those that are moderate. I must say that Colinda Cabanas has to be my favorite location to date. I will be going back. Though the cabanas are not for those that expect spa style luxury, they are an excellent value and a wonderful escape for those that want to experience quaint comfort and the natural beauty of the island.

For starters, the cabanas are clean, pleasing to the eye and provide several features that will make a stay on Caye Caulker a wonderful experience.

1) The staff and owners are super friendly and more than helpful with any needs. They even provided a cookout for everyone staying on New Years Eve. This included fresh fish tacos, slaw, punch and a few other things. It was great fun.

2) The Cabanas are in a super quiet and very private location. It's a great getaway

3) Free wi/fi - though the service is slow, it is useable.

4) Free use of kayaks

4) Purified water in the room -- which we found to be super convenient. We had bike water bottles that we could just refill before venturing out.

5) Beautiful pier with some great views of the sunrise.

6) Decent, causal snorkeling right off the pier with very shallow, clear water. There is some sea grass but there are also areas that have been cleared so plenty of sea-life to see.

7) Very accessible to the beach path and Front Street though the cabanas are quite a walk from The Split. Wherever you are on the island, be prepared to do some walking.

8) The dock is private and the grounds are very well maintained/very picturesque.

9) Location is safe and quiet but -- for those that worry, there is a safe in each cabana.

10)Location is adequately lit at night.

11) Our cabana had a tin roof which made a wonderful sound when it rained a couple of nights. This became one of my favorite characteristics. Maybe this is not for everyone, but I loved this.

12) Cabana also has a coffee pot, microwave, board games, two bikes, hammock, fans, plates, cups, silverware, and a refrigerator. All of these, we used and were grateful to have.

So, I could not say more about my experience here. It was wonderful and we are already making plans to go back. The person I traveled with recently said, "when we left, it was like leaving family, not just a vacation destination." I agree and this is what makes Colinda Cabanas such a special travel destination

Room Tip: I liked the cabana in the back of the property. It was very private and comfortable. There is one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights and was a highlight of our trip! The cabanas are roomy, clean and really adorable! Staff were very helpful-going through a map of the island on arrival. Private dock, use of kayaks, own bicycles and free drinking water make this place a must-stay! Was told that this was a place for mainly honeymooners but didn't feel out of place (not being on a honeymoon). The cabanas are on the end of the island and as such are very quiet (much like the rest of the island :) )

Room Tip: try to get a cabana on the beach! However all of the cabanas are well-situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a safe, quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze, most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have ten units available for rent; ranging in price from $59.00 - $149.00 per night. All of the Cabanas and beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge and coffee maker. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply snorkel gear, bicycles and kayaks. (free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colinda Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colinda Cabanas to your Saves list