We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Save
You added Colinda Cabanas to your Saves list
Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
September $20.00 Deal !
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Inglewood, California
2 reviews
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I and our three small kids loved staying here... the entire property has been recently renovated and it off the beaten path, very peaceful... our children loved the iguanas by day and the huge fiddler crabs that came out at nightfall, right on the property... God bless Colin and Linda, they are consummate hosts... a wonderful family memory!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
222
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Colinda Cabanas for five nights in May of 2012. The owners, Colin and Linda, obviously take great pride in their property and have given a great deal of thought toward anticipating their guests' needs. The details were what really stood out: the clothesline on each cabana's balcony that offered a convenient place to hang up swimsuits and towels; the drinks they sold in the office that could be kept cold in the cabana's mini-fridge; and the bikes, kayaks and snorkeling gear they kept on hand to rent.

We spent much of the time either sitting on or swimming near the property's dock. The beach -- such as it is -- doesn't have much in the way of sand, and once you get into the water, the floor is covered by sea grass. But the water is clear and not rough at all.

The property is a short walk from the rest of Caye Caulker, which has a laid-back atmosphere that's popular with backpackers. We didn't travel to Ambergris Caye -- Belize's largest and most developed -- so can't make a comparison, but Caye Caulker offered enough restaurants, bars and shops to keep us well-entertained for nearly a week.

We stayed in one of the cabanas, which had two fans but no air conditioning and a bathroom sink that was regularly visited by ants. But it was clean, spacious and well thought out. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Colin and Linda have done an amazing job with this property! The cabañas are clean, cozy, well-maintained and extremely affordable!!! They also have a private dock with lounge chairs and hammocks and there is access to bikes, kayaks and snorkel gear. Also Colin's hospitality was impeccable! He always made sure we had what we needed and felt more than comfortable. He was very accessible, warm and friendly :) I wouldn't choose any other place to stay on Caye Caulker. Colinda's is highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: They're pretty much all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panajachel, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in the upstairs oceanfront suite - clean, good layout of the rooms, well equipped kitchen and of course an amazing view from front patio. Colin is a great host with a good sense of humor and lots of helpful tips to get the most out of your stay on the island. I highly recommend Colinda Cabanas.

Room Tip: The ocean front suites are well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Just Want To Say THANKS To Colin for a GREAT place to stay! CLEAN and FRIENDLY STAFF and the Coconuts are a Great Touch.

Room Tip: Great internet connection in cabana's. All but one cabana has stairs, so keep that in mind if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Arrived to Belize Intl airport, Colin had arranged for our pick-up from the airport directly to the water taxi service. Also arranged a taxi from the water taxi dock to our accomidation. All details were emailed in advance. The accomidation is as good as it gets, unable to fault it in anyway. Advise taking the seafront appts (two of) if your budget allows. Owner also has equally good budget accomidation available, but be sure to contact Colin directly for better rates as you will cut out the booking agent on the Island.
Will be returning, the most relaxing, hassle free holiday of my life.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Pros:
Immaculate property
Tranquil, you are forced to chill out!
Wonderful owner, nothing is too much for him
Spotlessly clean cabañas

Cons:
I really can't think of any!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.6 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
19.8 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
12.3 mi away
Xanadu Island Resort Belize
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a safe, quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze, most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have eleven units available for rent; ranging in price from $59.00 - $149.00 Per night. Most of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge and coffee maker. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colinda Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.