We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-around amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colinda Cabanas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colinda Cabanas
Save
You added Colinda Cabanas to your Saves list
Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ocean View Cabana $59.00
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Calgary, AB
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All-around amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Colin and Linda are super friendly and helpful hosts. We rented two of the cabanas which were very clean and well taken care of. They had mini fridges, coffee makers, and basic kitchen supplies. Ours had two fans which cooled off the room nicely in the evening and sheets and towels were provided. The patio had chairs and a hammock... perfect for relaxing with a coffee in the morning.
They had snorkel gear and beach towels we could use, kayaks for rent, and beer and water for sale in the office. Colin recommended a couple different snorkeling tours for us and followed up afterwards so he could tell future guests. We were visited by iguanas and saw dolphins right off the end of the pier!
Linda let us look inside the suites and they were gorgeous! You can tell this place is their pride and joy just by looking at it... I would highly recommend Colinda Cabanas to anyone staying on Caye Caulker and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
206
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our family of five just returned from a 9-night stay in one of Colin and Linda's beachfront cabanas - my husband and I on the bottom floor, the kids up top. It was perfect for our family and perfect for the price. When it came time to pack up for home, we did not want to leave!

We spent hours swimming, kayaking, snorkeling, reading and doing yoga out by the dock (and snoozing a little in the hammocks, too!) Beautiful view of the ocean and a quiet, secluded and safe place. Colin and Linda provided many good recommendations for places to eat and things to do. We rented bikes for the week, which was all the transportation we needed for this little island.

Best of all? We met a lovely couple from Washington State who had come back to Belize (and Colindas) to get married. Our daughters sang a hymn during the ceremony out on the dock and our son served as photographer. Linda decorated the dock with flowers and greenery. After the ceremony, we celebrated with champagne and cake that Linda had gotten as a surprise for the newlyweds. We will never forget our time with Caroline and Troy and wish them many happy years together!

And thanks to Colin and Linda for providing us with such a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here almost a year ago. We found it by accident when we saw a flyer advertising the Colinda. Ended up being our best stay on the trip. Super friendly hosts, gave us lots of recommendations, help and anything we needed. Magnificent views, cozy cabañas which have since our trip been renovated and look awesome! Thank you Linda and Colin!
- the American boy and Belgian girl from last year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I only had the pleasure of staying 2 nights but will definitly come back! Nice, clean, quiet location with it's own private dock and away from the hustle and bustle from town but a quick bike ride or stroll. Recommend for families, couples or even those on a backpacker budget as I was. Thank you Colin and Linda

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We only spent 3 days at Colinda's after spending the previous 3 weeks travelling around Central America and it was the best place to relax and chill out at the end of a very bust holiday, I wish I could have stayed longer. We had a cabin on the beach and it was amazing waking up on the beach and getting straight out in the sun on the deck. Our cabin was really nice, clean and tidy and best of all the beds were really comfortable. Linda is really lovely and got us settled in in no time and then we got to relax on the deck with beers that you can buy cold from the office, perfect for when you've been travelling all day! It's not a long walk from town or the boat dock and you can walk all along on the beach. It was awesome and I hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: If you go for a beach front cabin you will not regret the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We loved it here - south of the main strip which meant peace, quiet and stunning views. The budget cabana was really good value, clean and really cute. Colin is a joy - really friendly, super helpful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My buddy and i stayed in cabin #6 for five days in 01/12. The beds are comfortable, great locks and good screens on the windows, good water pressure and ample hot water. Very well kept grounds and great dock with hammocks and chairs. The owners were friendly and accommodating but otherwise unobtrusive and respectful. For the value and the locations the cabanas make a great "upper class" backpacker place or a perfect cheap couples spot. The main building with a/c and new construction look beautiful as well for a bit more money. No complaints at all and very pleased with the choice, especially since many of the other hotels on the island appear both more run down and noisier. One word of caution or advice, the location is great for peace and quiet and a short walk during the day but it is still about an 8-10 minute walk to the bars/restaurants

Room Tip: Specify cabana on stilts as opposed to the one ground floor cabana if able. may want to rent a bike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colinda Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colinda Cabanas

Address: Playa Ascunsion, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colinda Cabanas is located on a safe, quiet beachfront property on the island of Caye Caulker in Belize. Blessed with an almost constant Cool North-Easterly breeze, most nights star-gazing is amazing while listening to the surf breaking on the reef. Naturalists and children alike will enjoy the abundant species of migratory birds, reptiles and marine life. We currently have eleven units available for rent; ranging in price from $59.00 - $149.00 Per night. Most of the Cabanas and all of the beach suites offer ocean views. All units have a fridge and coffee maker. Some units have full kitchens and a/c. The bathrooms have a good supply of hot reverse osmosis purified water. Free WiFi in room. We also supply bicycles and kayaks. (Free of charge on a first come basis). A 175' long pier with chairs, palapa and hammocks and safe swimming area completes the picture. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colinda Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.