We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Not sure what the issue really was with the Seattle review ..... certainly seems unusual. I'm thinking the problem may have been the renters not the hosts! We have stayed at Jaguar Morning Star on numerous occasions and have never had anything but a great experience. Joanne & Allison have always been very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, atmosphere is very quiet and peaceful - just what we are always looking for. Would highly recommend Morning Star (unless of course you want to party all night - you might want to stick to main street accommodations for that)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dornoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Will be back certainly. Fantastic location, accomodation, and SO clean, with every touch thought of. Loved the whole experience and the hosts softly, softly, touch. cant think where the Seattle couple were 'coming from' .... Morning Star has a huge amount of pluses!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

It's taken me a couple of months to write this review, because the experience at this place was so so awful. The couple who run it were rude, unfriendly, never smiled -- I had to ask their names and whether they worked there, since they ignored us when we arrived (and we were the only guests they had - go figure!). The place was under construction. We were asked not to talk outside after 9pm. The shower worked with a few tricks, the toilet worked intermittently and I had to fix it myself one night. The bikes were not available for our first day; the second day, one was broken. We even bought them a new bike lock because the one they gave us was broken and they insisted that a lock be used -- they did not say thank you for the new lock. We planned to stay one week but left after 2 nights. They threatened to call the cops on us for not staying longer, but we were leaving because the man actually yelled at us for talking after 9pm. I've never seen anything like this kind of behavior -- perhaps the large "FOR SALE" sign indicates that they realize they are in the wrong business. All together, we spent 3 weeks in Belize, and every single other place was wonderful. This place is not close to anything good (and without a working bike, this makes for long walks) and is TWICE THE PRICE of much much better, functional, friendly, helpful places. Free internet is standard on Caye Caulker - not here. Having traveled the globe as a backpacker, a luxury and a business traveler, this is the WORST PLACE.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinurg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and spotless. Joanne and Al were wonderful hosts. They were informative and provided us with interesting and useful information. We a great time.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
Pause Accommodation
Pause Accommodation
#6 of 23 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Address: Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.