We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet guesthouse not far from the see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Save
You added Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Ricany, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet guesthouse not far from the see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you prefer a quiet night, I recommend this place. We had small house in the garden with fully equipped kitchen. It is not far from the main street and close to the beach. Oweners are fully helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We appreciated the location here - quiet and safe, yet so easy to walk in all directions to beach, shops, restaurants, trails etc. It's great to have the owners on site to help with information and assure security. The suite was clean and comfortable, with good cooking facilities ,deck space , WIFI and TV. Very good value overall.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We rented the spacious apartment for one week, and enjoyed the convenience of a full kitchen, comfortable living room and bedroom. There was hot water always available, and the bathroom tile work and kitchen appliances looked brand new. The apartment was spotless and well-maintained, and Joanne and Allison seem to take pride in keeping it that way.
Our hosts were friendly, helpful and gracious, and made it easy for us to find out whatever we needed to know to make our stay a great one.
We absolutely loved the terrace, and having breakfast outside. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the views (our sunrise and "after the rain" photos are striking). We were even surprised by a pelican flying right past us one morning!
The location is great as well. It is just outside the main area of town, affording a quiet respite and refreshing breezes after days biking, snorkeling,and kayaking.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent the past week at Jaguar Morning Star on Caye Caulker. We rented the top floor suite/apartment which is on the third floor of the solid concrete house just three blocks from the main business district.
The apartment itself consists of a large living/dining area with a full kitchen complete with full size fridge, gas stove, microwave, toaster and even a electric hand mixer. The kitchen area also has a full set of dishes and cooking utensils-which we used often!
The bedroom is large with two (firm) double beds and a cold, cold AC unit. The bathroom is quite nice with a large shower with H/C water and fluffy towels.
Owners Al and Joanna are quietly present-if you need them...we didn't...offering fresh towels and sheets.
The location (for us) was just perfect. It is about a 10 minute walk from town center in a quiet residential neighborhood, and located on the third floor-perfect to catch the nearly always blowing trade winds.
To complete the picture there is a fantastic east AND west rooftop deck that you can use in the morning and in the afternoon to sip your frozen drink from your vitamix blender.
Price is very reasonable given what you get....waay south of a Benjamin per night, and a lot less if you book by the week.
If we make it back to CC we'll certainly include Jaguar Morningstar in our plans. Recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a great stay. The owners are super nice, the view is great, room was clean, good location and it was nice that they let us use bikes all week. They were great to accomodate us when we extended our stay too. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yokneam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

very clean, have a cheap wifi access, and a cheap bike rental.
we got private bath, re fridge, coffee pot, towel, cable t.v, a large deck with a great view as the room was on the third floor. they are aminutes walking distance of snorkel & dive shops, restaurants, gift shops and the main street. you can sleep at night as it's not on the main street where all the noise.
you have everything you need for this island, we came for 4 nights and it was perfect. its 8 km island so it dosen't realy matter the location you can walk everywhere.
bring with you something against mosquitoes for the morning and for the evening (they are all over the island during the sunset and sunrise even on the beach!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San anselmo, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Perfect for us, the cabana was roomy, airy, quiet, and Al and Joanne were welcoming and caring. They take great care of their house, the garden, the cabana. Al is an amazing woodworker--a true artisan. JMS is out of the main action of the "downtown" and beach front, though just by a few blocks. We will go back one of these days--Caye Caulker was really fun--and would definitely want to stay at JMS. We didn't see the other rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Address: Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.