We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, clean and quite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse to your Saves list
Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse
Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
yokneam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice, clean and quite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

very clean, have a cheap wifi access, and a cheap bike rental.
we got private bath, re fridge, coffee pot, towel, cable t.v, a large deck with a great view as the room was on the third floor. they are aminutes walking distance of snorkel & dive shops, restaurants, gift shops and the main street. you can sleep at night as it's not on the main street where all the noise.
you have everything you need for this island, we came for 4 nights and it was perfect. its 8 km island so it dosen't realy matter the location you can walk everywhere.
bring with you something against mosquitoes for the morning and for the evening (they are all over the island during the sunset and sunrise even on the beach!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San anselmo, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Perfect for us, the cabana was roomy, airy, quiet, and Al and Joanne were welcoming and caring. They take great care of their house, the garden, the cabana. Al is an amazing woodworker--a true artisan. JMS is out of the main action of the "downtown" and beach front, though just by a few blocks. We will go back one of these days--Caye Caulker was really fun--and would definitely want to stay at JMS. We didn't see the other rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We loved this guest house - the view from the upper deck - the beautiful furnishings and clean comfort made this our favorite place in Caye Caulker...

Room Tip: Either one is great....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is specific to the cabana. Spacious, decent bed, good furniture, nice wood floors, bathroom is nice. Everything was clean. There is fridge, stove, microwave and some basic utensils, plates, bowels, etc but nothing too much. The owners are very nice and if you ask nicely, they'll cut you down a coconut and chop off the end so you can drink the water. We asked Allison, one of the owners where to buy a fresh coconut and he said, "I can cut you down one here from the tree." It was great!

Town is very small anyways, but the place is on the other end of the main bulk of the activities - but it's a matter of a few minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It's not fancy but we liked it. The room was clean and big enough for us. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is away from the main lively areas so quiet and as Caye Caulker is so small it only takes a few minutes to walk to anything - even from here to the Lazy Lizard at The Split was only about 15 minutes walk. We did use the bicycles the guesthouse provided on the first day but after that found it easier to just walk and not bother with these.
We found it quite calming to sit outside the room on the balcony and survey the sea over the buildings. My only suggestion would be that a washing line for drying swimming gear on would be helpful...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at Jaguar Morning Star for 3 nights and we can only say that it was the most wonderful experience.
Al and Joanne are absolutely nice and friendly and they took great care of everything we needed.
The rooms are super clean, designed with pleasant colors and details, have a fridge with freezer, a coffee machine and some plates and cutlery.
Our favorite feature was the terrace from where we enjoyed great sunsets and awesome views of the ocean (you can see both sides of the island). And in the beautiful garden you can spot colorful birds and butterflies.
Overall we can say that Jaguar Morning Star offers a value for the money that is hard to find anywhere else on the island.

Also, you should check out Al's woodworks - he is a great artist!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Not sure what the issue really was with the Seattle review ..... certainly seems unusual. I'm thinking the problem may have been the renters not the hosts! We have stayed at Jaguar Morning Star on numerous occasions and have never had anything but a great experience. Joanne & Allison have always been very friendly and helpful. Rooms are very clean and comfortable, atmosphere is very quiet and peaceful - just what we are always looking for. Would highly recommend Morning Star (unless of course you want to party all night - you might want to stick to main street accommodations for that)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.0 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.0 mi away
Pause Accommodation
Pause Accommodation
#6 of 23 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse

Address: Elma Novelo Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaguar Morning Star Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.