We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay in Belize” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pause Accommodation

Save Saved
You added Pause Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pause Accommodation
1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly PAUSE for Peace - P.A.W. Cat Sanctuary)   |  
Hotel amenities
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to stay in Belize”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Madi and the Paw Animal Sanctuary are a wonderful organization, and the atmosphere around her guest rooms is relaxing, enjoyable,affordable and a great place to get away from the business of Front street, but still so close to all of the action and fun sights around Caye Caulker. We were able to stay in 3 of the guest rooms and found all of them to be clean, well kept, and a cool get away from the hot Belize air and quiet. They were a great option for us to go and spend time in the afternoons. Madi is an incredible woman, and we feel very blessed to have gotten the chance to stay with her. She also has an opportunity for people to help her and volunteer, which I highly recommend doing.
Thank you so much Madi!

Room Tip: It depends on what you want. There are two rooms with kitchenettes, which we really like. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
34
40
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Our stay with Madi has been the most authentic so far on our trip around Central America.
We were first warmly greeted by Madi & her bubbly personality. She was an exceptional host and shared the inspirational history of Paws Animal Sanctuary, she's doing a magnificent job for a great cause! So if you're an animal lover (cats and dogs are free to roam around the property during the day) this is a must stay! Also offer to help Madi for 1-2 hours a day to further enhance your experience.
We were given the studio room in the back which was very spacious and clean. Bathroom is separate, outside. It is basic but matches the price.
Location is very good - it is on the quiter side of the island but very close to restaurants (try Sandros, DELICOUS), ATM, Belize Diving Services etc Everything on Caye Caulker is easy walking distance anyway.
Thank you Madi for our great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Maddie is the best! And what she is doing for the island animals can only be expressed as admirable. I have never had a more personable proprietor at any other hostel I have resided. I also believe that due to Paws' nature, it draws traveler's of a like mind and disposition, which gives Paws an even greater community feel. The establishment so perfectly embodies the essence of the island, from its relaxing atmosphere to its quiet but central location on the north and west coast of the island.

Room Tip: The basic dorm is very basic. Foam matresses. I asked Maddie for a fan and she was happy to oblige...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ignacio, Belize
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in total with a friend, we both love cats and dogs. Madi(?), the owner of the hostel, was a very friendly and informative woman. She explained to us that she used to own a snorkel shop and saw people dumping things off her docks early in the mornings which turned out to be little kittens :( She said she now has 87 cats in total (all of them have different names!) and that most of the proceeds from the hostel go towards food, spaying, neutering.. etc! We thought this was beyond great!

As well as this awesome story (and feeling good about spending money going to an awesome cause) the place had it's own dock which you could snorkel off of or just sit on the docked boat to watch the sunset! As it's on the water on the opposite side of the island to most of the bars you get peace and quite and a good bit of wildlife (which sometimes ends up outside your front door...)

Overall we would both happily stay here again!

Ps. Don't forget the free coconuts... tasty and a lot of fun to get down!! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am so happy I chose Pause to stay for two days in Caye Caulker, not only the location and the services it offered were satisfactory but also the concept behind it, giving shelter to the cats of the island, which I loved it indeed. Highly recommendable if you are running away from the big city where you live.
Luckily, I had my very own cabin as no one else booked for those nights, so I really felt like home. This place is one of the few accommodations which faces West, that means that amazing Caribbean sunsets from your private deck are assured. Obviously, in Caye Caulker almost every accommodation is close to everything (supermarkets, party area, beach, restaurants), so Pause does.
If you are lucky to find Susie there, ask her to take you to for dinner with a Belizean family she knows and spend some time with the cats to make your experience even more authentic.

Hopefully I can come back one day...

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Staying at Pause is a real pause from the ordinary tourist track. With your own private deck, a boat roof to enjoy the sunset from, and a clean, fully equipped studio flat to call your home in Caye Caulker - what more could you ask for?
Friendly helpful hostess? - Check!
Free coconuts? - Check!
Best sunset spot on the island? - Check check!

Staying with Madi was great - the place is very clean, she herself is very informative and helpful, and being on the west side, you get the sunset, unlike many other places that are on the 'main street'. Caye Caulker is so small, being "on the other side" is literally 2 short blocks away - another bonus is that it's on the leeward side so the nightly 'storms' don't bother you at all. The beachfront flat is also air-conditioned, so very comfortable.

There are plenty of pets here, it is a cat sanctuary, after all. Madi offers this accommodation to pay for cat food, but despite having 85 of them, she's certainly not your ordinary Crazy Cat Lady ;-) Very welcoming, very helpful and kind.
The dogs were absolutely lovely too!

I loved staying at Pause, it felt closer to 'real' Belizean life than I think most other places ever will.
You might want to bring earplugs, in case there's a sad cat around, otherwise you're definitely in your own private bit of Caye Caulker bliss at Pause.
Loved it here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Anywhere you stay on Caye Caulker you have proximity to the beach and nightlife, but I think no other accomodation can you get such a personal and genuine experience!

Madi was the sweetest host ever, happy to tell us about the island, the people and give us other relevant information that we needed.
We were pleasantly surprised to see there were only three rooms to rent, (in our opinion, the fewer people the better) and we were alone for the first two nights, having a cosy veranda with seaview and the jetty all to ourselves.
We spent every evening watching the sunset from the roof of a boat tied to the jetty, and I wish I was still there doing it!

Room Tip: Go for the three bed apartment if you want your own balcony with seaview, but be aware you're sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pause Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pause Accommodation

Address: 1 Pasero Street, Caye Caulker, Belize (Formerly PAUSE for Peace - P.A.W. Cat Sanctuary)
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty lodging in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pause Accommodation offers guests a unique Caye Caulker vacation experience removed from the bustle of the main tourist areas. This charming, waterfront property offers a variety of different accommodations with something to suite an array of travel preferences. The Ocean Suite is our fully furnished room with double bed, kitchenette, private shower, A/C, floor & ceiling fans, dining table w/ chairs, fridge, microwave, stove, sofa and night table and a huge deck overlooking the Caribbean sea. Our Garden Suite also has a double bed, kitchenette with fridge and microwave, fan and private shower overlooking the garden. We also have the Beach Cabana - a dorm style cabana which sits right on the water's edge, sleeps three people, with outside bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pause Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pause Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.