We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience. Stay Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas

Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas
Save
You added Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas to your Saves list
Corner Chapoose Street & Langosta Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Experience. Stay Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I paid only $10 US per night for a small, clean, comfortable, private room. The owners are incredibly gracious hosts and were borth born on the island. This is as local as it gets, and I could not possibly recommend them more highly! It id not directly on the water, but I would definitely stay here again over any of the beach front places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed one night at Sandy lane after meeting the owners daughter on the ferry from Chetemal. The rooms were the cheapest on the island and great value. We only left as it was so hot we wanted a place with air conditioning.

The owners were really friendly, and really made the place. They took us on a tour of the island and recommended places to eat. They were great.

Location is good just behind the main street.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If you are lucky enough to get cabana one, like I did you will be very lucky indeed, tidy, clean, own basin, desk, fan. Really nice family run establishment. THE SAME PRICES AS A DORM ROOM IN THE LOCAL HOSTELS!

Room Tip: cabana one is perfect for solo or couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flores, Indonesia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This place is the best deal in Caye caulker. Rooms are spotless, have hot water, good shower, the bed is very good and the owners are nice.
All that for 15 usd (private room, for 1 or 2 people).
It's nt in front of the beach but it's in a very good location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent a few hours walking around Caye caulker looking af different places to stay. A kitchen or a shared kitchen was high on our list of priorities. We looked at places ranging from $ 40 to $100 all were amazing and some very luxurious. We walked past sandy lanes sign and went to check it out. There are different options, we got a private cabin with kitchenete and cable Tv for just $20 usd per night. We are backpacking through central america so this was perfect for our budget. Its got a lot of character and the owners are lovely. Location is perfect only thing is no wifi but cafes nearby offer it. There is also a barbeque area. We stayed 5 nights with housekeeping every second day. There is only a sign on the street it doesn't have any contact details so you just have to turn up. More on Belize and central America at www.onelongvoyage.com

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I only review places I really love and this is one of them. I can still taste the grilled fish we cooked on the open grill and bought from the family for practically nothing. A cool place that sits off the beach but has a good view of the local culture...ie right next to a football (soccer) field, which gets used regularly.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

A very friendly, family run place just by the soccer pitch in the middle of Caye Caulker - a great location close to restaurants and bars, and easy walking distance to the Split in one direction and the water taxi in the other.
My friend and I stayed in a first-floor room with a single bed and a double bed, and a sink in the room which was really handy. There were clean sheets and towels every other day, and even a couple of books in the room (which we swapped for ones we'd finished with!). The veranda caught the morning sun and was a lovely place to sit out for a while and watch the world go by.
Although the loos and showers were shared (we were only paying BZ 25 a night for both of us...), they were clean and there was always hot water.
We were also able to do a (big) machine load of washing for BZ 5 which was great - there are plenty of washing lines, and everything dried overnight even in October.
When we were choosing our room, we had a look in one of the cabanas, which had a kitchen and everything, so this would be a great option for people looking to stay a bit longer and cook for themselves too.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pause Accommodation
Pause Accommodation
#6 of 23 in Caye Caulker
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#20 of 30 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas

Address: Corner Chapoose Street & Langosta Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Lane Guest House & Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.