We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanda's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanda's Place
Save
You added Amanda's Place to your Saves list
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer into Fall Savings
Ranked #3 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Recently got back from a week spent at Amanda's place on Caye Caulker with the family. Can't complain, everything was perfect. The place is conveniently located on Front St. a short walk from the water taxi terminal. It has everything you need and is very clean. Our 3-year old daughter loved the pool and hammocks (and so did we). Amanda and Kim at cayecaulkerrentals.com were very friendly and and made sure everything went smoothly from the moment we got to the airport to our departure. When we got there, I was a Little bummed out when I realized I had forgotten my camera on the AA flight. I mentioned this to Kim and he did all the necessary leg work to get it back for us the next day on a Tropic Air flight. And get this, he didn't ask for a dime in exchange! Thanks again Kim!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
45
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Amanda's Place, as other reviews mentioned, consists of two smaller ground floor apartments with A/C, and a top floor that is double the size, with a huge balcony and no A/C. After looking at pictures online, my husband and I picked the top floor because of the awesome balcony, complete with two hammocks for lounging and people watching.

Our favorite elements of Amanda's Place:
1. The balcony. Keep in mind you don't get this if you stay in one of the bottom two apartments. Having the outdoor hammocks is absolutely perfect for kicking back with a Belikin and a book, which we did on a daily basis.

2. The apartment itself was super cute, well maintained, and homey feeling. The kitchen is huge and well supplied, and having a full fridge and freezer saved us from venturing out constantly for drinks or snacks. There is even a blender so if you get sick of Belikin (impossible) you can make fruity delicious rum drinks (which we did).

3. The pool. When i told my husband that we were staying in a place with a pool, he scoffed "We're going to be on an island surrounded by water...what do we need a pool for?" The naysayer, ate his words and visited the pool every single day. Turns out, having a pool is awesome, no matter where you are. We spent a lot of afternoons hanging out on the balcony, then cooling off in the pool.

4. The location is super close to most activities, including Havana Nights which is one of our favorite bars on the island. There's also a snorkel and fishing shop right downstairs - Mario, one of the guides there, is awesome.

5. Amanda is really nice, and is right across the street if you need anything. Her and Scrumpy (her sweet dog) are friendly and welcoming.

Things to know before you go:
1. Not having A/C is fine if you know what you're getting into. There is a decent breeze, and the ceiling fans and floor-standing fan help a lot, but we caught a mini-heat wave that kept me awake some nights. We were there in early October, when it's normally cooler and rainy. It rained the last two days, which really cooled things off and helped with the sleeping situation. If you go in the winter months (high season), you'll be totally fine with no A/C.

2. Bring really good bug spray and get mosquito coils for the balcony at night. Your ankles will thank you for this.

3. There is no daily cleaning. There is a broom provided and stuff to wash your dishes, etc, but the towels and sheets will remain the same the whole time you are there. Not having any sort of cleaning is the sole reason I am giving 4 stars rather than 5. For the price, I really do think that cleaning should be included. We stayed for 5 days and by day 3 the towels were starting to feel a little ick. We did hang everything outside to dry, but it's the Tropics, and stuff doesn't ever get completely dry. A cleaning, even every 2 or 3 days, would have gone a long way.

It really is a very nice place, and we'll probably stay there again for at least a night or two the next time we go to Caye Caulker. Highly recommend.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Amanda’s properties are in best locations, near ferry docks, restaurants, dive shops, and tour vendors. Amanda is charming and gracious. She obviously loves sharing her special island with stressed-out Norte Americanos. You should know that Amanda’s properties are truly rustic. So is the rest of Caye Caulker, from the airport with country-road runways to the bar at the Split, which plays mellow, global rock that wafts over turquoise water as it ebbs and flows between the two parts of the island. There are no 5-stars here. They would not belong. Nonetheless, there is excellence: Belize Diving Services for dedicated and knowledgeable dive instructors and dive masters, Habernero’s for dinner, Popeye’s for breakfast, Tsunami for guides that will take you to where the fish are biting. The local coffee is terrific. Go and go slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Amanda's Place is owned by Amanda, a British transplant to Caye Caulker who lives across the street with her dog, Scrumpy.

First off, Amanda is hilarious and an excellent person to rent from. She's very honest and no-nonsense and keeps her property in mint condition. We rented for 7 nights and, while there is no housekeeping on a daily basis, we found the room perfectly clean our first night and did our best to (mostly) keep it that way. There are extra trash bags and dish soap to help you while you're there. Bath towels and beach towels are provided.

Amanda's Place consists of a large two story building divided into three sections. The bottom two sections are each 2-person suites with a bathroom, small kitchen, bed and couch, A/C and a fan. The top section is larger and also for 2-3 people with a fan. In the same complex there is another house that can hold up to 6 people. Everyone shares the lovely little pool that sits in the middle of the complex.

I was surprised at how lovely the whole place was! We stayed in one of the small 2-person suites and enjoyed the excellent hot showers, the provided drinking water (you can't drink tap in Caye Caulker but you can use it for brushing your teeth), and the lovely screened in windows and door. We never had to use the A/C because of the lovely breeze and ceiling fan. The little kitchen came with dishes and a mini-fridge to help us store our cool drinks. I would bring your own shampoo and conditioner and soap as there is none provided (other than hand soap).

However, we spent most of our time out by the pool. The pool is amazing - perfectly clean and a great place to get to know your neighbors. There are deck chairs to relax in, a sun shade and umbrellas to keep you cool, and enough depth to swim a bit.

In terms of location, it couldn't be better. Right on the main street and only a 10 minute walk to the Split. It's less than 5 minutes from the water taxi and close to Habaneros (the fanciest restaurant in town) and around the corner from Glenda's (great for breakfast).

I would highly recommend this place for excellent value, a perfect location, and great amenities. An added bonus is the little book that Amanda provides in each room that serves as a place for past guests to provide reviews and suggestions for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I had a peaceful, quiet 3 night stay at Amanda's Place. The pool is great (one of the few on the island) and it has a great location. The kitchenette was nice to have, especially the fridge for keeping our Belikins cold! The AC worked great.

The only drawbacks were:
* The bed was pretty firm. We both prefer a softer mattress.
* You have to rent bikes. It would be nice if there were a few for use my guests.
* The faucets were weird. Sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn't.

We will definietly stay again though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amandaowner, Owner at Amanda's Place, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
I would first like to thank you all for your kind comments on this forum and bring you up to date with a couple of improvements made this last month or so.

I hear you about the taps/faucetts! I too found them to be strange and can now say that they have all been replaced and all work properly (well they worked, but they were odd!)! In terms of the beds, I have now added cushion top mattress covers and replaced a couple. I would like to say that they are still firm though. I have found it impossible to work out which is more popular and ran a survey. It seems that the firmer mattresses won the lotto. I hope that works out for everyone.

One last word, TripAdvisor is an excellent place to air your reviews but also please do feel free to let me know in person when you feel that there could be an improvement, or leave a comment in the books in the accommodations which are useful for me and also for the next guests.

Thank you all, Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We had a wonderful 9 day stay at Amanda's Place. The outside hammocks are great for lounging and the pool is a god-send on hot island days. The accomodations werer perfectly, well, accomodating. Kitchen was completely adequate (but if you're able to get the plates out of the storage/display unit you're doing better than we did).

The bed matresses left plenty to be desired, but got the job done.
Everything was clean and in good working order. Amanda herself lives just across the street and is readily available should the need arise.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Caye Caulker is a great step back in pace with some of the best snorkelling I have encountered. We arrived having booked at Amandas Place and arrived by water taxi having forgot to let Amanda know what time we would arrive. Didnt matter she was standing on the pier waiting for us, for the third time that afternoon!! She is a lively and friendly host and the accommodation is spot on. It is very central but not too noisy, has its own pool (priceless as there are few on the island), hammocks for doin not much and ours had a full kitchen (though food is good and cheap all over island)... She also recommended some great tours and if your the fun loving sort that doesnt mind a tipple you may spot her at one of the locals, she will introduce you round and make you feel right at home. We will be going back for sure...it's a great place to 'slow down'.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Caye Caulker hotels
0.0 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amanda's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanda's Place

Address: Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amanda's Place is a small owner-run slice of paradise. It has 3 different types of accommodation, from the large 3 bedroom home called Casita Carinosa to the smaller and more rustic one bedroom home of Casa Amancer with the two additional suites called Amanda's Place. They each have a different configuration, but all have some kind of kitchen, WIFI, queen beds, fans, and A/C (not in Casa Amancer). Rented individually or together it is one of most attractive places to be with the lush tropical garden and the delightful swimming pool. Hammocks abound, and roof top terrace ensures your privacy. The pool is shared by everyone. It is set off the beach by about 150 feet and on the main street north/south called Front Street. Beach, bars, restaurants, tour shops, grocery stores are all within a 5 minute walk. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanda`s Place Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanda's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.