We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish, good vice, very good service and very nice cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roses Grill and Bar

Roses Grill and Bar
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
00-501-226-04047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 65 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Brussels
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good fish, good vice, very good service and very nice cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

There's not much to say. It's a nice open with wide spaces restaurant offering fresh fish, chicken, crab etc for barbecue. You pick your food outside and they grill it and serve it. My fish was really good and the dressing too. My only comments would more be for the owners. Please put away those horrible tv, I don't like to watch a rodeo game while eating. And secondly, what about the chicken waiting to be picked by a guest. Shouldn't it be in a fridge ??? I would never eat the chicken. So maybe review your food saving compliance chart.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    208
    65
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

When we were in Caye Caulker 2 years ago I thought the food was better. This time we went for dinner. They don't have a menu for dinner, we didn't get one anyway, you choose your entree before you walk in and the server gives you a choice of three sides. We all had the lobster. It was about $10bz more than anywhere else and not any different. The restaurant is open air with a thatched roof and the atmosphere is neat, but when you look around all you see is tourists. The food wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. Service was sub par. For the price I'd go somewhere else next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We went here for our last dinner on the island and we were not disapointed. The seafood is fresh and caught that day. You can pick out what fish you would like for your dinner. The drinks were very generous and the service was fantastic.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“not value for the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

this place was a little too pricey for the food they were serving. Also you have to que and pay to the counter in the end.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg, manitoba
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I agree with other reviewers, there is not much choice for good food on Caye Caulker. We enjoyed the seafood here so much we ate here twice during our 6 day stay. It was fun to pick from a selection of fresh seafood and then to sit at long tables shared with others dinning. I am very picky about seafood, not one of my favorite foods, however I enjoyed baracuda steak and black snapper. My son had the best crab we have ever tasted. The service was very good by Caye Caulker standards and the cocktails were first rate. We were glad we walked past this gem. We did not eat lunches here so can only comment on the evening meals and service. Do check this place out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roses Grill and Bar also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Roses Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roses Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.