We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Seafood, but at a price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roses Grill and Bar

Roses Grill and Bar
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
00-501-226-04047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood, but at a price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We went to Rose's our first night in Caye Caulker as it was highly recommended by every one we had come in to contact with after arriving on the island. It was nice to be able to pick your fresh seafood and have them grill it up for you. The food was good, nothing more special than any other place that served seafood except for the price. I am not cheap by any means and will pay for excellent food, but I really thought the price was a little over board. I did enjoy my meal and had a good time, but would most likely seek out something more reasonable next time as there are many options on the island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    243
    81
    44
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Seafood heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had lovely meal here, fresh lobster and fish. The lobster was Cooked to perfection and quite reasonable price, full large lobster grilled was $20. Wine and beer good, staff great and with a smile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“JUST-CAUGHT SEAFOOD COOKED JUST FOR YOU”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As you walk up to Rose's you'll see a street side table displaying the day's fresh catch, a charcoal grill and the chef who's going to put your choices from the former on the latter and cook them to perfection. You give him your order and then find a table and give your drink and side-dish orders to your server who will put it all together. In two evenings at Rose's we've ordered conch seviche as a shared appetizer and then split orders of snapper kebob, one night, and a combination special of stone crab, lobster tail, shrimp and snapper the next. All were superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“very good, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

You pick what yu want from fresh seafood and they grill it right there for you. It was a little pricy for Caye Caulker. We found out later that yu can go to "The Split" around sunset and buy fresh fish from local fishermen and take it to Roses and they will cook it for you. That will save you about half the cost.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best place on the island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

On Caulker for a week have eaten here three times. There is no comparison. Food is fresh, drinks are cold and cheap, staff is friendly. Is a must do. Should be rated number one!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roses Grill and Bar also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Roses Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roses Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.