We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was fantastic.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roses Grill and Bar

Roses Grill and Bar
Front Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
00-501-226-04047
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 64 restaurants in Caye Caulker
Price range: $4 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
McDonough, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The food was fantastic.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was by far the best meal on the island..... If you love fresh fish this is the spot... You can actually speak with the grill master when ordering your main course.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    230
    191
    53
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We really enjoyed this place - Found it almost accidentally, had planned on eating at Habaneros next door but they were closed. Very happy we ended up at Rose's - you pick our main course (meat) from the streetside and they grill it right there. Comes with 2 sides & 2 rum drinks, chips & salsa. I got the Tuna steak, Cabbage salad & potatoes - all were excellent!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best seafood on Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My g/f and I stumbled upon Rose's after checking into our hotel/lodge, and wow, we were amazed. Rose's had a sign out front touting it's Lion Fish lunch special that included free drinks. After having just spent the last 4 days scuba diving on Turneffe Atoll watching our dive master spear about 50 Lion Fish, we were eager to finally get a taste. The Lion Fish turned out to be the best meal during our 3 day stay on the island. It was mouth watering.

Atmosphere is fun, great deck seating, and service was friendly. Every night we passed Rose's on the way back to the hotel, it was a packed house.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rustic setting but very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

rustic, but what isn't in caye caukler! The place was busy the night wee were there which we took as a good sign. They cook the fresh seafood options right in front of the restaurant on a grill. For those who don't want fish or lobster the BBQ chicken is also very good. Also had a free apetizer wich for us was conch ceviche, very nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome grilled lobster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It was so delicious we ate here twice. The sides are great and the rum drinks are tasty, but the main reason to come here is the seafood.

We had lobster kabobs the first night, and they were succulent. The second time was even better; we split the largest lobster they had, and we were each given 2 sides and drinks. The bill, with taxes and tip, came out to less than US$20 each. Can't complain about that for a lobster feast.

True, this place is expensive by Belize standards and is only frequented by tourists. But you're missing out if you don't try Rose's while you're on Caye Caulker.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roses Grill and Bar also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Roses Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roses Grill and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.