We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Private Shopper
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The condo was great! Can't say one negative thing about it. The roof top hot tub was great too but only hot one night. It rained the entire time we were there and no sun so that was a disappointment. Without the sun there wasn't much to do on an island that small. Got tired of the locals always asking if I wanted some ganja. You really can't go barefoot there lots of broken glass. Not sure if it's the inconsiderate tourists or the locals. No beach to really speak of and really can't go swimming off the shore...lots of weeds and the water is shallow. It depends on what you're looking to do. If you want to relax by the beach this isn't the place for you. The condo is located in a business/residential place so dogs barking in the morning, maintenance men working...not a place for quiet.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    16
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Caye Reef provides excellent accommodations - truly a home away from home!!! I stayed on the third floor (apt #6). The apartment is very well appointed - fully furnished 2bdrms/2bath (I particularly enjoyed the warmth added by the art on the walls throughout the apartment). Everything you could need is provided in the apartment including bottled water dispenser, all kitchen appliances, dishes, cups, utensils, etc; and in the bathrooms plenty of bath and beach towels was. You also receive a cell phone with free local calling.

In addition, Bobbi and Sheena provide tremendous personal attention, support and resources for your stay!! From the moment they receive your on-line reservation they contact you, help arrange ground and other transportation from BZE to Caye Caulker. As a solo traveler, it is wonderfully comforting to walk out of customs/immigration into the beautiful sun of a new country and have someone waiting there for you!!! Bobbi met me at the Caye Caulker water taxi dock and personally took me to check in and to the apartment. Bobbi did a great job of orienting me to the apartment, showing me all the apartment amenities and how everything worked - and was never further away than a phone call if you ever needed her for anything. Bobbi was also a great resource for wonderful ecommendations for food and services throughout the island.

My 6 day stay at Caye Reef was comfortable, delightful, easy, relaxing and any need I had was easily met. Caye Reef has a great pool - but for me the best part is the rooftop deck providing exquisite views, a great jacuzzi and deck chairs for sunning and relaxing. The building is lovely and perfectly situated mere minutes (wallking distance) from everything you could possibly need. Walking to bars, restaurants, shopping, internet cafes, nightlife, water activities is literally a breeze (pun intended!!).

Caye Reef helped to make for me what was an absolutely phenomenal and beautiful vacation. I would highly recommend Caye Reef and look forward to returning again, again and again!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

What a great place. If you want a little more high end and are prepared to pay a little more ($215/nt for the Penthouse) this is the place for you. Nicely located in a quiet area overlooking the beach.
We had 2 rooms (3 people travelling) and due to the weather we were able to turn off the air con and just open the doors and windows. Perfect.
Bobby and her team organized pick-up from the Belize airport and met us at the Water Taxi on Caye Caulker.
The pool is fantastic when you don't feel like going into the ocean and it's nice to lounge around having a swim and a cold beer. The top level has a hot tube and the best 360 degree view of the island and sunset.
Best thing I think was the full kitchen so you could make toast or buy fruit from the vendors and have a easy breakfast. The large fridge also holds all your drinks!!
I couldn't really think of anything I would change as everything was great. Only word of caution if you can't walk up a lot of stairs, consider getting the lower level condo's which are also cheaper. They also do advertise WiFi, but you cannot get it in the condo, you have to take your laptop down to the pool area. No real issue just info.
As a fly fisherman, you can just wade out the front, hire a kayak or there is an outfitter around the corner who will take you out. www.anglersabroad.com

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We loved every moment on Caye Caulker...very unique experience with a fun Rastafarian feel. Being close to the split was great for snorkeling, fishing and hanging out! The walk into town always pleasurable, fresh juice was awesome. Four days was great and now we are in Ambergris enjoying a different environment, much more hussle and bussle here if you want it!
So postcard beautiful every moment from our veranda....gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

CayeReef is by far the best place to stay on the caye - in fact, I don't think I would have come to Caye Caulker if I hadn't found this place! It is a beautiful property - spacious condo, lots of living space and the bedrooms are big. It's a great location with nice views of the beach from the second and third floors. beautiful rooftop, great views of the island. If you are unsure about Caulker because of the lodging choices (I found the rest to be a bit too budget minded or "rustic" for my liking)- this place is unlike the rest! Stay here! You won't be disappointed if you are okay with staying in a condo type place. Bobbi is very responsive and will help with whatever you need.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great location on beautiful Caye Caulker. Incredible views with all the comforts of home. One of the few loactions with a pool and a rooftop hot tub. The management and staff were beyond compare and available by a furnished cell phone 24 hours a day. They were happy to recommend excursions and spent time showing us around the Island. We had a wonderful 9 day stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Just completed a very relaxing 9-day stay at CayeReef. We took the water-taxi from Belize City and were greeted at the pier by Bobbi and Freddy, the friendly bicycle-cart porter. Check in was quick and easy, and we were able to pay with our Visa card. Be aware that most places on the island do not take credit cards and travelers checks are only accepted by a few select people, so you will need plenty of cash. There is one bank with an ATM, but we never used it. Everybody takes US Dollars and there is no need to exchange money since the Belize dollar is fixed at 2:1 to the US Dollar.
CayeReef is a condo-type building with 6 units, all with balconies facing the front (East) side of the island. Our 2-bedroom/ 2-bathroom unit was on the top floor and was very nicely furnished with a new leather sofa, loveseat, and chair. There was a smallish flat-screen TV with great cable (although we never seemed to watch it much). The free WiFi worked well too. We found the kitchen to be more than adequate and due to the length of our stay we cooked quite often. The kitchen had a full sized fridge, range, microwave, and blender. There were low voltage issues when the microwave was used, but nothing major. The back bedroom was equipped with a safe large enough to hold a laptop. The place was a bit musty when we first arrived, probably because we were one of the first guests to stay there after the off-season. After a day of leaving all the windows open, the great island breeze cleansed the air and all was great. Between the ceiling fans and the tropical breeze we never used the A/C at all. Very quiet surrounding neighborhood made for great sleeping conditions.
There are two single-person kayaks for use by the guests and we took advantage of that. The pool was a nice change from swimming at the Split. Rooftop hot-tub wasn't heated, but no big deal since the view from there was so incredible.
We would highly recommend staying at CayeReef - I can't imagine that you will find a better place to stay on the entire island. "Go Slow"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.