We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay on Caye Caulker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Place to stay on Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

CayeReef is by far the best place to stay on the caye - in fact, I don't think I would have come to Caye Caulker if I hadn't found this place! It is a beautiful property - spacious condo, lots of living space and the bedrooms are big. It's a great location with nice views of the beach from the second and third floors. beautiful rooftop, great views of the island. If you are unsure about Caulker because of the lodging choices (I found the rest to be a bit too budget minded or "rustic" for my liking)- this place is unlike the rest! Stay here! You won't be disappointed if you are okay with staying in a condo type place. Bobbi is very responsive and will help with whatever you need.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great location on beautiful Caye Caulker. Incredible views with all the comforts of home. One of the few loactions with a pool and a rooftop hot tub. The management and staff were beyond compare and available by a furnished cell phone 24 hours a day. They were happy to recommend excursions and spent time showing us around the Island. We had a wonderful 9 day stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Just completed a very relaxing 9-day stay at CayeReef. We took the water-taxi from Belize City and were greeted at the pier by Bobbi and Freddy, the friendly bicycle-cart porter. Check in was quick and easy, and we were able to pay with our Visa card. Be aware that most places on the island do not take credit cards and travelers checks are only accepted by a few select people, so you will need plenty of cash. There is one bank with an ATM, but we never used it. Everybody takes US Dollars and there is no need to exchange money since the Belize dollar is fixed at 2:1 to the US Dollar.
CayeReef is a condo-type building with 6 units, all with balconies facing the front (East) side of the island. Our 2-bedroom/ 2-bathroom unit was on the top floor and was very nicely furnished with a new leather sofa, loveseat, and chair. There was a smallish flat-screen TV with great cable (although we never seemed to watch it much). The free WiFi worked well too. We found the kitchen to be more than adequate and due to the length of our stay we cooked quite often. The kitchen had a full sized fridge, range, microwave, and blender. There were low voltage issues when the microwave was used, but nothing major. The back bedroom was equipped with a safe large enough to hold a laptop. The place was a bit musty when we first arrived, probably because we were one of the first guests to stay there after the off-season. After a day of leaving all the windows open, the great island breeze cleansed the air and all was great. Between the ceiling fans and the tropical breeze we never used the A/C at all. Very quiet surrounding neighborhood made for great sleeping conditions.
There are two single-person kayaks for use by the guests and we took advantage of that. The pool was a nice change from swimming at the Split. Rooftop hot-tub wasn't heated, but no big deal since the view from there was so incredible.
We would highly recommend staying at CayeReef - I can't imagine that you will find a better place to stay on the entire island. "Go Slow"

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond ok
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our family(Grandmother, parents, 3 year old) stayed at Caye Reef for almost 2 weeks. Bobbi and her staff made our stay so comfortable. Bobbi and Charles met us on the docks upon arrival and helped us with our luggage. We were given a cell phone to use for questions or needs and also given keys and a warm welcome. The apartment was large with two bedrooms and had everything we needed. I especially want to highlight the orthopedic beds-they were wonderful! I have had back surgery so a good bed is important on a long-term vacation. These were great!
We were pleased to have a weekly apartment cleaning with fresh towels and laundry service included; we also had fresh drinking water delivered as we needed. Our recyclables were picked up every day.
I highly commend Bobbi and the entire staff including Charles, Sheena, and Haiti for making our stay memorable and cozy.
We did run out of hot water one day but Bobbi quickly resolved it after one quick cell phone call. Any other small incidents were taken care of immediately after a call or request to Bobbi.
We were thankful to stay on such nice property so close to a beautiful ocean view. The management was perfect in that we were immediately taken care of if needed but also given our space and privacy to enjoy the laid back ambiance of Caye Caulker Island.
Since we were there for a long period(11 nights), I believe my evaluation of the excellence of Caye Reef is accurate and valid.
We even got a helpful send-off from Charles on our departure morning. We were all a little sad to leave and will miss everyone on Caye Caulker Island. Thank you all for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Thanks again Sheena and Bobbi for making my stay in Caye Caulker a perfect and relaxing one. Nice pool, nice people, good location, didn't even make it up to the roof this time for the sunset, I was just too lazy. My number one choice on the island. Oh yeah, had fun at the split in the afternoon, and of course Trivia night at Sports bar that night. Good times, can't wait to go back, and will keep recommending Caye Reef.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We stayed here in March with another couple and were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms were big, the kitchen was fully stocked and the living room area was spacious. It was great to sit on the deck and look out on the ocean in the morning. It is a very popular hotel for families with children so the pool was usually occupied by the little ones while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

great service and alot more for just under $200!

My friend and I arrived to Caye Caulker without a reservation and proceeded to get in a golf cart and scan the area for the "best place in the island". We were looking for a clean, air conditioned place. Trust me, upon driving up and down the only main street and checking out a couple of potential destinations, we decided to give the Caye Reef a personal look since it was almost at the end of the main road and we were out of "good options".

A cart taxi took us a couple of houses down to Bobbi, the manager of the Caye Reef. She proceeded to give us the tour of the place and the price. Immediately we were sold on the place. It was very, very clean and super spacious (see images). We arrived late afternoon and Bobbi instantly welcomed us and handed over the keys. She also provided us with a cell phone to place local calls (very handy since my blackberry had issues with int'l dialing). The place has everything imaginable to prepare your own meal (if you'd choose to prepare your own fish for example). A nice touch was that each bathroom had a ceiling fan! This was very handy after a long day on the beach and trying to cool off.

I would recommend this for 2 couples. At $100 per couple its a steal! It has a jacuzzi on the rooftop overlooking the entire island....a hammock in your own personal balcony and a couple more on the rooftop. Not to mention that this location is prime (closest hotel to the "split", a bar on the beach where everyone in the island hangs out all afternoon). Its also located next to the best restaurant on the island (Don Corleone).

Bobbi even went out of her way to ensure we had free transportation to the airport by sending us in their own personal cart (eventhough she was very sick!). You can't beat that kind of service.

Stop looking for hotels and just book CayeReef to ensure your stay is a pleasant one.

tell bobbi that sean and alex send their best!

alex - miami, fl

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
20.5 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.