We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Belize Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
santa cruz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Belize Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our fourth time to Belize, but our first time staying on Caye Caulker. Caye Reef was everything we were hoping for. Spacious and clean apartments, very helpful & friendly staff, relaxing pool, and beautiful rooftop hot tub & views. It doesn't get better than this....we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We just returned from 4 overnights at CayeReef and it filled or exceeded all of our expectations. Start with the simple things we "need" like good a/c and wifi, plus drinking water provided inside our apartment. Our first floor unit was roomy, clean and comfy, and the hotel itself was conveniently located. A smallish but nice pool on the ground level and hot-tub on the roof -- actually lukewarm water was all that we needed (and we didn't spend time in the tub) but we did use the roof a lot for the 360 degree views of sunrise and sunset, the chaise lounges, patio tables and chairs, and the wonderful hammocks -- heaven! The staff (Heidi or Haydee I think her name is) were very friendly and eager to fill any need, whether setting up transportation (they arrange it but you pay the provider directly) or telling us where we could buy specialties or recommending restaurants. The food and service were fabulous at Roses, Magandon, 88 West and other places we tried -- deliciously fresh seafood. Prices were not really inexpensive but that's due to the type of restaurants we choose and it was certainly comparable to what I'd pay in the states for fresh seafood, and it was very well prepared (so probably a better value than usual). Smoothies and alcohol seemed a little high to me, but the prices reflect what people are willing to pay and the drinks were good. The people selling souvenirs/art street-side on tables and under tents are willing to bargain on prices.
Half-day snorkeling boat trip to the reef was awesome -- I wish I knew the name of the company. Rico's brother signed us up then Rocky and Major/Minor to us to 3 places, including one where we were able to swim with sting rays and nurse sharks! The next day we went to Healing Touch Day Spa for massages/body scrubs/facials/pedis -- my therapist Rosa was wonderful, much better than I've had in the U.S. at a better price. Icing on the cake -- one of our friends lost her ring there, it was of some financial value and huge sentimental value. They couldn't find it but the next day another member of our party returned to the spa, and they had found it rolled up in the dirty towels for washing. Too many places you would never see it again so that was another huge thumbs up for the hospitality, customer service and honesty we experienced regularly on Caye Caulker. We always felt safe -- the local men will call out friendly greetings particularly if women are walking alone or in small groups, but it seems harmless -- sometimes we answered and other times not.
We did take the water taxi to San Pedro Town on Ambergris Caye one day where we found better shopping including a great little handmade jewelry shop called Ambar (inside Fido's) -- they have beautiful unique work and good prices. San Pedro had more, nicer indoor shops and higher quality but was also more expensive. We preferred the laid-back lifestyle on Caye Caulker where you could walk everywhere, wear whatever you want including barefoot and bathing suit, etc.
I flew from Belize City to Caye Caulker because I was travelling alone and meeting friends, then returned to Belize City the final day by water taxi. Water taxi is definitely the way to go -- difference in price one way ended up $80 versus $25 (that includes taxi from airport to water taxi dock plus water taxi one way). The flight didn't save me any time because we were quite late taking off and the water taxi only takes about 45 minutes. The view from the prop plane was beautiful though and the landing on a small runway was exciting!
As I said at the beginning, Caye Caulker is idyllic, and CayeReef is a big part of that. We just returned home and I already want to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and constructive review JoniIn. I have spoken with Heidi (the acting-manager for a month) and thanked her for her good work. She is really pleased with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What a great place to relax in Caye Caulker. Just steps from the Lazy Lizard on the Split. We spent 4 days diving, snorkeling and just hanging out. The manager is a gem and the units are great. We had a two bed two bath unit with a wonderful view. The roof top sunsets were well worth the trek up the stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
It was a pleasure hosting you here at CayeReef. Heidi, our acting-manager, is over the moon at being mentioned. I hope the trip home went well and we can host you again on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a good location, a lovely roof & strong WiFi at the rooms, but it is too expensive compared to the other places on the island and the high price doesn't include breakfast. It might suite a family or a small group but for a couple u really don't need a whole 3 rooms appartment

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
CayeReef aims to provide our guests with the most spacious and luxurious accommodation on the Caye - and we try to promote ourselves this way. This comes at a price which most guests find reasonable. We regret you formed the impression CayeReef would be less well-appointed and cheaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place lived up to the reviews in TA. It was a beautiful location on the Caye. Clean and comfortable. We were 2 couples so the 2 bedrooms were great. The sunsets from the roof were really great as was the hot tub up there. The kitchen was reasonably stocked with tools. It was nice that the WiFi worked pretty well. We were on 3rd floor and the view off the balcony was outstanding. A very relaxing place. From our walkabouts, it looks like the nicest place to stay on Caye Caulker. Thanks for a great, albeit too short, a stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We shared the top floor two bedroom two bath apartment with another couple. The apartment was new, well appointed and just what we wanted. AC and wi fi, and fresh drinking water. We made ice and kept our drinks cold in tHe fridge.
The pool was lovely. There are only six units. Everything was beautifully maintained. The staff, Bobbi, was very helpful.
We loved the location with restaurants close be and the public beach just up the road

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such encouraging feedback Peter B. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was wonderful. Beautiful views of the ocean from the balcony, as well as a hammock on the balcony. Very clean, spacious, well stocked kitchenette, if you wanted to cook. Very centrally located, about a 3 minute walk to the split. I really enjoyed the rooftop hammocks and spa. A great place to overlook the island and watch the sunset. Would definitely come back. Ask for the second floor, the view is nice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH_at_CayeReef, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the 5* review "Wheresmynexttrip76". We work hard to give our guests a fantastic experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
20.5 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.