We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay On Caye Caulker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
gulf shores
Level Contributor
258 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“A Great Stay On Caye Caulker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at Caye Reef during a recent three week trip to Peru, Panama, and Belize.The unit was a top floor unit and was a good value for the money. The unit had three bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, living room, bar, and a great deck overlooking the sea. The AC was cold, the bed was comfortable, and the furniture was comfortable. The internet signal was strong and the boob tube had many channels. We made ourselves coffee every morning and ate treats from the local bakery. The pool and hor tub looked nice, however we never had any time to use them. The entire property was clean and well organized leaving guests little to do but enjoy the activities on Caye Caulker. I would absolutely stay there again. Enjoy. Richard Garcia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    19
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
58
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Well, let me begin by saying, sorry for the delay with this review. Back in November I was traveling to Caye Caulker and wanted to try different places to stay with my girlfriend. We had the pleasure of staying a night at The Caye Reef. The room was outstanding and the view extraordinary. We had a great meal at Don Corleone's and tok a stroll down the way towards the split. The moon was full and beautiful giving a very romantic view of nature.
We then retired to our room and relaxed in the hammock on the veranda for a while. We decided to sleep with the windows open because the breeze was too good to be true.
What a beautiful place to stay.
Thank you to Bobbie and her staff for making us feel at home.

Room Tip: All the amenities of home, but who wants that in paradise? There is WiFi, good A/C, bottled water, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olhao, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for one week with family. Taxi transfer from the airport was hassle free. The place was way bigger than expected and spotless. The staff were great - not in your face, but always ready to help (they gave us a cell phone to reach them too!). The roof views are out of this world and the hot tub was heated when we requested (a mistake because it was too hot for a 'hot' tub). Highly recommended. Cool and quite, but near the action - we let the breeze blow through the apartment and didn't need to turn the AC on (fans at night).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent 6 nights in the penthouse and could not have been happier. Great views, great sized unit and close to the roof with the spa. [Won't call it a hot tub because it's not heated but then who wants that in June!] We spent a couple of afternoons up there and found the chill factor outstanding. Quick walk to the split and up on the N. end so a bit quieter at night than other areas. They also cleaned the beachfront every morning and it was immaculate with reserved seating. :)

They provided a cell phone which we didnt think we would use but sure enough we ordered pizza delivery 1 night and booked TropicAir for our flight out instead of taking the slow, overcrowded ferry. [btw - Trpic flies into Belize Int'l]. They also provided large Crystal bottled water even though they purchase their regular water from the city and it was safe to drink. A very nice perk.

I would highly recommend this place. Nice staff, super location and excellent A/C!!

Room Tip: Penthouse is the best, only 1 more flight to the rooftop
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

For the price and location, CayeReef is a nice place to stay. It's a 5 minute walk from the center of "town" but close to the split, which is the best place for swimming. The rooms are big, have nice balconies and are well air conditioned, but the furniture is dated relative to the rest of the property and my bed sheets had lots of stains on them, which I wouldn't mind at one of the island hostels but for this place was a little disappointing. Outside, the pool and roof deck were both great. If you need a pool to cool off, this is one of the better options on the island. The hot tub wasn't hot but that didn't matter much to me.

The SCAM. So this isn't a huge deal but the owner should know better than to scam her customers. Basically, after I booked my room I got an email saying they would meet me at the airport and take me to the ferry for $25 (US) which is the same price of a cab -- this is true and so I didn't hesitate. What I didn't know is that they actually were charging $25 EACH to me and 3 other unsuspecting people and I had to wait 45 minutes outside the airport with driver so he could fill his van. Because of this, I had to wait for the next ferry to Caulker and effectively could have taken a taxi alone for the same price. To top it off, when I arrived at Caulker and had no idea where the place was there was no one from the hotel there to greet me, as had been promised, which was confusing/annoying. I really expected more from a place where everyone was so friendly.

Also, they double charged by credit card for the room though I assume this was just an honest mistake.

All in all, a good place to stay on Caulker but don't get duped by the taxi scam--pay for your own and get to the water taxi as fast as you can -- no reason to spend any extra time in Belize City.

Room Tip: Second and third floor rooms have better views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear that the taxi service was not to your expectation. The taxi driver was wholly independent of CayeReef and we gain no commission or other benefit from arranging a taxi to meet our guests. I expect missing the ferry was the reason you were not met on the Caye; though I trust you caught one of the many golf cart taxi drivers the short drive to CayeReef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerritos, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had reservations for four nights and extended one more night that is how ,much we loved the place! The condos are wonderful! The staff is outstanding! We were in the top unit No. 5 and when we entered on our first day we were in awe of the view and the space. The staff arranged bikes for us the first day and we rode all over the island. The place is close to everything. The location can't be beat! The two bedroom condo was beautiful, clean and comfortable. They provided a cell in case we needed anything from the staff? Free Wifi was efficient and reliable. We sat on the balcony every day and enjoyed the view and activity going by in the morning and the evening. It was such a treat! Great place to stay if going with friends, another couple, or family. When we come back, and we will, we will stay here.

Room Tip: The top floors are the best! But any room would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

If you want to get away while still having all of the convenience of home, this is it! This was our first trip to Belize and was prompted by my sisters wedding. We reserved the whole of CayeReef (Six independent suites with two rooms each) and had an amazing experience.

The rooms are well maintained, with full kitchen facilities, internet access (not that you'll really want it except to update facebook and make your friends jealous!), multiple bathrooms, and very easy access to the beach!

The roof-top hot-tub is amazing. The views from the top are... wow... and then there's the pool which the kids loved (when they weren't at the beach...)

All-in-all, I couldn't suggest a better place to stay especially if you've never been to Belize before. Now... if you're a regular and like to get closer to the locals, there might be alternatives but for my money, this is the place!

Room Tip: If stairs aren't an issue, get a higher room. Views are great! Otherwise, all the rooms are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thanks for the terrific review Andrew F. I know it is usually easier to complain than complement so it is great to get your pat on the back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.2 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#12 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
20.5 mi away
Anchorage Resort
Anchorage Resort
#14 of 20 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#10 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.