We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place on Caulker” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Private Shopper
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
costa mesa, ca
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best place on Caulker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Great place, likely the only place I'de stay in Caulker

Pros:
Good location
huge rooms
good value
jacuzzi on the roof
free cell phone to use

Cons
Large cockroaches
cant flush toilet paper

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks for the review justin44. Disappointed that you had cockroach troubles. They are a persistent risk in the tropics that we certainly don't tolerate them. We have treated the entire hotel since you stayed and they seem to have disappeared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We felt right at home at Caye Reef!! The apartment was so much bigger than I expected!! We were so comfortable there. We were surprised at how good the water pressure in the shower was! The view from the roof is amazing!! It is nice and quiet! We thought the bed was going to be to hard but we slept like babies! The pool is kept very clean and the temp was perfect. This place is the nicest place on Caye Caulker!! Worth every penny!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jus arun de corneh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This was our second time staying at Caye Reef and everything was perfect. They have thought of everything to make your stay relaxing, Wifi, cell phone, A/C, coffe & tea in the room, comfortable beds, I could go on and on. And Bobby goes out of her way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. There is a reason Caye Reef is #1. Thanks again, and I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Plenty of hotel space available on Caye Caulker this trip, but Caye Reef Condos was full. I would have stayed over another night, but there was nothing available. I can see why it's popular -- excellent value starting at US$105 for a two-bedroom, two-bath condo with full kitchen, A/C and cable. That's for a ground floor unit off-season. The suite was HUGE, with two bedrooms, two baths (though the water in one wasn't working), full kitchen and a living room area. Didn't try the pool, but it looked nice. Caye Reef has a great location, not far from the Split and within walking distance of most restaurants and bars. The island wasn’t very busy in mid-June, and several restaurants were closed or had reduced hours. Rose’s was humming, though, and we had a good dinner from the grill, despite a mix-up on my order. The popular Sandro’s Takeaway is still not serving anything but breakfast, as the co-owner hasn’t yet returned from Italy. Amor y Café has a nice vibe for breakfast.

Room Tip: The first-floor units don't have the seaview, but they're way cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I just returned from a 6 day stay at Caye Reef. I travelled with my Dad and Stepmom who are in their 70"s, two children 12 and 7, and 4 other adults. We stayed in units 2, 3 and 5. All of the units have pretty much the same layout, but unit 2 is on the ground level and you can walk right out to the pool from the porch (this was great for my Dad and Stepmom). Each unit has a full kitchen, so it's perfect for traveling with a large group. In addition to the pool, we enjoyed the rooftop jacuzzi and hammocks. The website photos really do give a good depiction of the property. The units were clean and the staff was extremely helpful. Bobbi, the manager, arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport, she met us at the water taxi and brought us to caye reef and took care of our every need while we were there. Frenchie's dive shop is across the street from Caye Reef and my son and I did our check out dive there. There's also a tour office right next door to Caye Reef to arrange for snorkeling, fishing etc.. Loved Caye Caulker and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Caye Reef.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Best place to stay on Caye Caulker. Clean and very comfortable. Close enough for a very easy walk to the split, but far enough to avoid the noise when trying to sleep. Very attentive management who works to insure you stay with them on any return visit. And we will return. Security is great. The pool is a terrific place to cool off and unwind. I can't imagine anyone who has spent time at Ambergris and Caulker ever wanting to return to Ambergris. We were a bit concerned that Caulker might be a bit too primitive for our likes. Far from the truth. It's not primitive.. it's perfect. Quiet when it needs to be, and raucous ( especially at the split) when it needs to be.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel is an oasis of luxury on Caye Caulker, Private and quiet while perfectly located for the all the action, a few steps away from the split for swimming in the sea. The appartments are spacious and have everything, well equiped kitchen, beautifully furnished living room, two bedrooms, and two bathrooms, There is TV and free Wi Fi. Each suite has a balcony with a hammock. The pool is lovely and usable 24 hours a day. If you want a quiet rest there are elegant white hammocks and a jaccuzi on the roof, which has great views of the island. The hotel is spotless and very well cared for. We found the staff welcoming and friendly. The property is enclosed behind a wall with the gate locked at night so quite secure. There are safes in each apartment. We stayed for five days and had a wonderful time relaxing, snorkeling by the reef and sampling the many excellent restaurants within a stones throw of Caye Reef. Great value for money and a high spot in our trip through Belize!.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.