We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxury stay on a laid back island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CayeReef

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CayeReef
Save
You added CayeReef to your Saves list
Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Private Shopper
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A luxury stay on a laid back island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

CayeReef is the Plaza Hotel of the island, at least according to all of the locals!

It is by far the best place to stay if you are making a trip to Caye Caulker. Besides the excellent location to the Split and the gorgeous pool, we loved that:
- CayeReef is spacious and roomy, the best of vacation rentals with the comfort and ease of a hotel
- The A/C is amazing
- The property is gated and locked in the evening
- The views of the island from the rooftop are the best
- There are TVs in every suite, with cable

After several nights in the San Ignacio jungle, my husband and I were happy to have the lux comforts that CayeReef has to offer, and the price was amazing! If you're heading to Caye Caulker, reserve CayeReef early, because there are only six units and they book fast!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
50
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wash
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

be sure to lock ALL your windows at night- in spite of the locked gate to the building -- the hotel grounds are NOT secure at all. so be careful esp at night.
however the condo is great! clean and fully equipped. They met us at the boat and were efficient. a great location and beautiful property. We LOVED the hammocks on the roof with the jacuzzi! Great place to stay!!

Room Tip: req a room on upper floors not main level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartHH, Owner at CayeReef, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
We take the security of our guests seriously and note your concerns.

Incidents are rare. CayeReef with its access gate, 24hr cctv, limiters on accessible windows, and in-room safes provides guests with some of the best physical security on the island.

As with any destination, we strongly recommend taking the precaution of locking your doors at night, not inviting strangers into your apartment and using the safe.

Struan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Caye Reef is well cared for, and in a great location. Very near, but not so near that it is noisy, the split. Right across from Frenchies Diving Center. A fabulous pool, and rooftop deck for watching the sunset, along with a hot tub and seating. Great kitchen, great view, comfortable place. Even though this is a condo complete with a full kitchen, it didn't have anything like spices, or oils or other things we have frequently found in units with a kitchen, so you would have to start from scratch in order to cook. Additionally, we found groceries on key caulker quite expensive, so we opted to eat out rather than cook, though we did buy local fruit and fruit breads for breakfast, and there was coffee in the unit. The only reason slightly marked down for service is we asked for water and didn't get it very quickly.

Room Tip: All th units are good. Some require walking up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Belize
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I have stayed in Caye Caulker a number of times and the last few times have chosen Caye Reef. It has the amenities and location I love, comfy beds, a pool, a great Manager (Bobbi), and is a great value. It is my #1 recommendation when in Caye Caulker. Be sure to hit the sports bar on Weds, Fri, and Sun for trivia. Thanks for another wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Our visit to CayeReef proved to be very enjoyable, and we agreed after walking around the island that it was probably the nicest place on Caye Caulker. The apartments were nice and large, with great balconies that were good for resting and relaxing. Having a well-equipped kitchen made a big difference - paying a bit more for a room with a kitchen paid dividends through savings on eating out (and eating out on the island was a good deal more expensive than we had expected).

We would definitely recommend this for people looking for a nice comfy place to stay on a great little island.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This place is the best place to stay on Caye Caulker if you want to spend a bit more. It doesn't matter which room you stay in, they are all amazing. The view from the penthouse is great. I have never has so much room in a hotel or even in my own apartment back home. They have A/C, Satelite TV and even give you your own cel phone for calls within Belize. The manager Bobbi was always available on the cel phone (we only needed her because our bags were left in Miami and we needed to get them once they arrived, thanks America Airlines!) THe pool is a nice treat, but not necessary as the location is right near the split. The hot tub, was more like a warm pool, as the jets weren't so great, and the WIFI didnt really work in room 6, but there is free WIFI in almost every place on the island, so dont sweat it. Caye Caulker is the place to be. Anyone who stays on Ambergris instead of Calker is definitly making a HUGE mistake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Our stay at Caye Reef was lovely. We were so happy we decided to go with them. The rooms, bathrooms, and kitchen were very clean. We also felt very safe and the building was secure. Bobbi was simply wonderful!

Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CayeReef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CayeReef

Address: Front St, Caribbean Seashore, Caye Caulker, Belize
Phone Number:
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CayeReef is six beautiful & spacious beachfront serviced apartments, looking out over the world’s second largest barrier-reef. Comfortably accommodating between two and six guests, these luxury "homes-from-home" include: * Two large bedrooms with en-suite * Spacious lounge area with sofa/sofa bed * Fully equipped kitchen with mod-cons and breakfast bar * Walk-in showers * Balcony over-looking the reef * AC, or use the sea-breeze and fans * Free WiFi internet access * Cable TV * Telephone * Safe * Swimming pool * Roof terrace with jacuzzi * Spectacular views * Unconditional support. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayereef Hotel Caye Caulker

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CayeReef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.