We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Grill

Rainbow Grill
Beach, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 65 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Columbus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a non-pretentious restaurant with a great view and a straight-forward menu. The snapper, rice, and potatoes were a great first night meal after we arrived in Caye Caulker.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    135
    64
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best (only?) Mojitos on Caye Caulker”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We had walked by the Rainbow Grill many times and finally decided to give it a try.

We were very happy we did. This is a great place if you want to sit on the waterfront, in the shade(it gets very hot here) and enjoy a good variety of casual food with a wide variety of cool drinks.

We discovered it a bit late in our trip but spent an afternoon enjoying several very good mojitos as well as some casual pub type food which I honestly can't remember. But I do remember we liked it!

I do recall our server noticed an error on our bill before we did and quickly corrected it. Major points for that!

Its a fun, loud, friendly place overlooking the water with a good mix of tourists and locals

I do recall our server noticed an error on our bill before we did and quickly corrected it. Major points for that!

Its a fun, loud, freindly place with a good mix of tourists and locals

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst Fish Sandwich I've Ever Had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

The moment we arrived on the island we set out in search of a giant fish sandwich instead we found Rainbow. It would be a good place to serve great food, but they don't. The amount of fish in both sandwiches. was less than I would expect to see in a single sandwich. Also, serving a fish sandwich on white bread is simply not trying. Rainbow has an incredible location but serves the worst fish sandwich I've ever had.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food. Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

I've been to caye caulker numerous times over the years and finally got around to visiting the rainbow grill. The food was good. I had jerk chicken and my friend had grilled conch. Both were very good. The restaurant is located right on the water. Literally, right on the water. In fact, it may extend out over the water(not sure, it was nighttime and dark when I went). Probably going to go back again tomorrow.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The food is solid and the service is superior. We visited several times because it was such a pleasant way to spend a few hours, sipping beer, looking out over the ocean.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Grill also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Rainbow Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.