We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dreams Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caye Caulker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Dreams Hotel
Save
You added Sea Dreams Hotel to your Saves list
Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family stayed at Sea Dreams in July. We rented the one-bedroom apartment for two weeks and launched all of our Belize adventures from the hotel. The location was quiet and convenient, the food (breakfast and snacks) were outstanding, and the amenities very convenient. But, like with most things in Belize, the the biggest difference here was the people. We traveled with children, and by the end of our trip, our daughters had become close with Ida, Melanie, and Anne (plus Heidi and Heyward's daughters.) I couldn't have imagined a better place to call home for two weeks. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Order Ida's ceviche. Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
139
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Sea Dreams was absolutely amazing. Relaxing and had a great staff. The owners Heidi and Heywood bring southern hospitality to Central America and make you feel right at home. Can't thank them enough. And you have to swim from their dock to the lazy lizard... it's a right of passage.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I visit Belize to fish a couple of times a year. More often than not I stay at Sea Dreams. This is a small family operated B&B. The location is very quiet - right next to the 'split'. The rooms are well appointed and the breakfasts are always fresh and generous. There are hammocks and bicycles a available for guests as well as a private dock for sunbathing or swimming. If you are interested in fishing ask the owner (Heywood) about fishing from shore or local guides. He's a very knowledgable angler himself.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Although Caye Caulker was not quite what I was expecting (It's very small, but more developed than I expected. Keep in mind, developed is a relative term because it is very small.), Sea Dreams Hotel was a great place to stay and if I ever find myself back on Caye Caulker it is definitely where I'd stay. The rooms are small, but very cozy with great A/C. The service was great and I found Anna and Stephanie to both be very friendly. Also, breakfast was delicious and my compliments to the chefs. We were there in the low season, which was perfect, so the bar was quiet and the owners were friendly. The private dock was very nice and we preferred it to the beach at the Split since it was less crowded and had no screaming kids. The only downside to the dock was that the music coming from the place at the Split was a little annoying, but that has nothing to do with Sea Dreams Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is an older beach hotel, so the facilities aren't what I'd typically give a 5 rating. But, the service and their concern for their guests is phenomenal.

On my first night at Sea Dreams, there was a thunderstorm, and during the rain, a leak developed in the ceiling, dripping right onto the bed. This happened around 1 AM, so no one was in the office. I called and left a voice mail about it, but my husband and I had to move the bed so it wouldn't get wet. In the morning, I stopped by the front desk, and they had already heard my voice mail and upgraded us to a bigger room. They had already turned on the A/C in the upgraded room so that it'd be comfortable for us when we moved into it. They also offered us both 60-minute massages, on the house, because they suspected we didn't sleep very well the previous night. They were so apologetic about the leak, and they more than made up for it with the upgrade and massages. I was so impressed with their thoughtfulness -- this is more than anyone can ask for from a hotel!

Some other pros:
+ Bikes, snorkeling gear, kayak, beach towels available for guests (no cost)
+ In-room fridge stocked with bottled water (free) and drinks (pay per, but cheap)
+ 24/7 access to water refills at breakfast area
+ Some of the best snorkeling and sunset-viewing on the island are right off the hotel's dock
+ Snacks (salsa, hummus, etc) are made-to-order, massive portions, very cheap
+ Free full breakfasts made by a couple of local gals (fryjacks and stewbeans, french toast and eggs, etc)
+ Powerful A/C
+ Comfortable hammocks upstairs; great place to chill at night
+ Firm beds

Only negative:
- WiFi was spotty in guest rooms

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are pretty small, so I'd recommend the apartments, which are very spacious and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Cabana for 3 nights. The Cabana itself is very nice. We had no issues with it. The free water, stocked fridge with drinks were nice touches. The service was good. The lady who checked us in, Anna I believe was awesome. Stephanie who replaces her for the majority of our stay was offish and although not rude was less than friendly and welcoming as Anna.

The reason for ONLY 3 stars:
If based on the above it would have garnished an easy 4 stars but there were two glaring issues. The first was the view. In pictures I have seen it does not show the Cabana looking out on an abandoned lot with a dilapidated hotel that never opened. If you hung over the Cabana and looked left you could see the dock, and easily to the right was the ocean but in the middle and the majority of your view..... For the upgrade price of the Cabana the view is not very nice. Our bigger issue was the noise. It may be a one off thing as Stephanie said the issue I am explaining are not common but I guess they happened two weekends in a row so it may be a new trend. One sound Issue was in the abandoned lot. There was 3 very large dogs and I guess are the SPLIT owner's. Theÿ barked insanely for one entire day. Not our idea of paradise.. The WORST issue by far was the live music from the Split. Other reviews said music from the Split was not an issue and I would agree as when they played normal music it was barely audible. However they had live music over the weekend for 2 days.. This music pounded away with Very Very loud base and some items in the Cabana occasionally vibrated. To cap it off it was some of the worst performances I have heard. Slaughtering every Bob Marley song in his repertoire to a DJ who was at best an armature.

We booked the Cabana for privacy and a place we could chill on our deck and enjoy the views, Island breeze, and the peace of a tropical island. This music and noise made that impossible. Our only saviour is they close down the Split at 10pm.

On our last day Monday, it was back to the bar's in-house music and no dogs. If this was the way it had been all our stay my review would be different.

I would check to see if the live music is now a regular thing before booking \(especially the higher priced Cabana which has a more direct line to the Split). Otherwise it is a fine place just expect no views from the Cabana.

Room Tip: Be aware of teh Cabans dismel view and possible noise from the Split if they have live music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaDreamsHotel, Owner at Sea Dreams Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Bubbavon,

We are happy that you enjoyed the amenities of the cabana itself and we regret that you had view and noise problems. At Sea Dreams, we are passionate about exceeding the expectations of all of our guests. Fortunately this happens in most cases. We are sorry that this was not your experience.

Regarding the view from the cabana, we regret that the unfinished building distracted you from enjoying the private veranda overlooking the turquoise Caribbean waters and direct sea breeze.

Regarding the music, as you noticed in most reviews and for your last night, music from the split is rarely an issue. Live music or visiting DJs are a special occasion for local entertainment . . . usually limited to Easter weekend, Lobster Fest (one weekend in mid-June), and New Year’s Eve. We remember the weekend in April when you were here. It was an unusual situation because of the loud music on a non-holiday occasion and because of the dogs that have never been at the split before or after this particular weekend. We are sorry that this occurred during your stay.

Bubbavon, we would appreciate the opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit!

Sincerely,
Heidi Curry
Owner
Sea Dreams Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found this place while looking for a great place to see the sunset. It is right near the Split and offers bicycles and paddles and a kayak for exploring. We used the kayak to explore the tarpon reserve and cross the Split. The room was adequate - fine for sleeping. But why stay in the room when things to do and see are so close. Morning breakfast on the second level is another excellent part of the package. A nice place to wrap up our stay on this very laid-back place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caye Caulker
0.3 mi away
Iguana Reef Inn
Iguana Reef Inn
#2 of 20 in Caye Caulker
5.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Magic Beach Resort
Island Magic Beach Resort
#9 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
De Real Macaw
De Real Macaw
#8 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
#11 of 20 in Caye Caulker
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
Weezie's Ocean Front Hotel and Garden Cottages
0.7 mi away
Tropical Paradise Hotel
Tropical Paradise Hotel
#20 of 30 in Caye Caulker
3.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dreams Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dreams Hotel

Address: Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Dreams Hotel is a family-run boutique hotel on the quaint island of Caye Caulker. We are located at the north end of the village which affords a three-sided view of the Caribbean Sea. Guests quickly become part of the Sea Dreams family: eating breakfasts with Iris on our thatch-covered rooftop, picking up fishing tips from Haywood on our dock, planning excursions with Anna, Stephanie or Kelly learning about island education with Heidi, enjoying impeccable housekeeping services from Maria Elena & Melanie, or enjoying a tropical drink with Celia at our Banyan Tree Bar. Our dock, located on the leeward edge of the split, is the entry into a unique slice of paradise: perfectly clear and calm, chest-deep, turquoise water with a white sandy bottom. Every evening, guests watch the sun melt into these waters and cast pastel shades across the skies. When guests are not diving, snorkeling, fishing, kite boarding, or touring Mayan ruins, they relax at the hotel with a drink at the bar, a massage at the spa, a book in a hammock, or a canoe ride to feed the local Tarpon. Accommodations range from intimate courtyard rooms to one-, two-, and three-bedroom apartments, cabana, and home. Amenities include free bicycles, canoe, hot breakfast, WIFI, AC, cable TV, bottled water and snorkeling gear. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dreams Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.