We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at amazing prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Syd's

Syd's
Middle Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
206-0294
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food at amazing prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were drawn to Syd's by the amazing smell of barbeque. Unfortunately, we got there after they were already sold out of the Saturday-night special BBQ chicken. We had the fried chicken, shrimp kebobs, extra fries, a beer and a water for 22 USD. Pretty unbeatable! The food was great and the atmosphere in the backyard is very chill. We really liked Syd's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    102
    29
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I don't even like fried chicken but emptied my plate here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Yep, normally hate the greasy stuff but this was really good.

Hands were not covered in grease , coating was crispy, not soggy and although it took a small wait to come out (we were told in advance it would be half an hour by the waitress/fine) it was a good and really cheap meal.

Thanks syds for showing me how good fried chicken can be, I still won't be eating it back at home though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best chicken, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went here for dinner on our last night on the island & wished we would have discovered it sooner! I went with a party of 4 and we all enjoyed our dishes but I think the big winner was the fried chicken. My boyfriend got a 2 piece meal of this and declared it the best friend chicken he has ever ate, so much so that he ordered another 4 pieces so that we could all try it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the fry chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We ordered the fried chicken with beans and rice. We had a late lunch and the place wasn't crowded so the service was fast. Really good fried chicken. Would go back if we had more time not he island.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Belizean cuisine is a must...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Don't even think about ordering a burger here, go for the stewed chicken, rice & beans and coleslaw. It is AMAZING! If you are really hungry, order the ceviche to start (conch is my fav but sometimes it's out of season).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Syd's also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Syd's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Syd's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.