We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish and More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habanero's Restaurant

Habanero's Restaurant
Calle del Sol | Playa Asuncion, Caye Caulker 00000, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

WE all had dinner one nite at Habanero's and was one of the top 3 meals we had to eat. Lobster, Snapper, King Crab and more.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ate here in mid-January after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor. We made a reservation through our hotel. When we arrived on time for our reservation (7:15), the two of us were shown to a table that sat 6 people and were told that the restaurant had a table of 6 coming in at 8:30 but that we should be done eating by then. I have ever been seated anywhere with a reservation and been given a time-frame to eat....I guess they lack poor management of walk-ins while balancing reservations. We had an average appetizer (queso fundido) and my husband had a chicken curry dish that was also average. I ordered the coconut crusted red snapper that was delicious. The atmosphere is nice and presentation of the food is great. Unfortunately, our experience was average, at best.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarioCasson, Owner at Habanero's Restaurant, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
You guys came Christmas week when we are packed out. The night you arrived we were already sold out in both seating's when you walked in. When i say " both seating's" what i mean is that we ONLY accept reservations between 6:00-6:30 and again between 8:00-8:30. We only seat 36 people so the reason for this is to allow ourselves as a business to survive. if customers were given the opportunity i would be forced to try to seat 150 people at the traditional 7:00-7:15 time that most of the world wants. So...we break up this traditional trend to allow our very small restaurant to get 2 seating's out of our night. There is zero chance of your 7:15 seating being prearranged by your hotel because no staff member would ever take a 7:15 reservation. The fact that the only phone a hotel could call for a reservation is my personal cell phone....isn't helping either. You guys came in without a reservation and sat on the bar waiting for a table. I had a 7 top NoShow for the largest table in the restaurant so after waiting another ten minutes for a large table walk-in without a reservation to show up and teamed with having absolutely no way to seat you for the rest of the evening i personally sat you at Table 6 with the explanation that i can seat you here but i have an incoming reservation at 8:30. This will allow you an hour and 15 minutes which is traditionally the time a table needs to comfortably and at their speed finish off a meal in our establishment and ask for the check. i also told you that if you need a bit more time when the reservation at 8:30 arrives that i was quite sure we would have a two top empty and we would simply move you to have dessert and coffees etc. if this isn't ok with you guys i suggest making a reservation for the following night. You both said this was fine. So i am a bit confused as to why this is posted on Trip Advisor. In high season it is highly recommended to have a reservation when thinking about dining with us just for the simple fact that we only seat 36 people at one time. Our reservation system is not one based on amateur experience but one based on the daily use and need of 14 years operating a small establishment. You were actually finished your meals and asked for the check before our 8:30 6 top arrived so again i am confused by this post. At any rate i hope this management response finds you in good health and we look forward to seeing you again on Caye Caulker.

Darren Casson
Executive Chef/Owner
Habaneros Restaurant Ltd.
Caye Caulker, Belize, C.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ate at a number of different places in Caye Calker and Habaneros was definitely the best meal!!! The food was as amazing as the presentation! It's a little more upscale than the rest of the places on the island but well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Went last night....thoroughly enjoyed it! Great atmosphere, great live music, the best frozen mojitos, tasty appetizers and an excellent meal. Thank you all so much!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A special place with surprise dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Habanero's is centrally located with a nice veranda overlooking main street. Most dishes are real surprises : a combination of world tastes (asian, carribean, latin, ..) and served in surprise ways. As in most places in Belize in general, prices are a bit high and wine is overpriced, but the food is very good. We were there on New Year's eve and had a good time. The owner is Canadian and will share experiences nicely with customers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habanero's Restaurant also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes

Been to Habanero's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habanero's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.