We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ceviche, good other dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Lobster Restaurant and Bar

Happy Lobster Restaurant and Bar
Main Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
501-226-0064
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 65 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Montrose, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great ceviche, good other dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This restaurant had the best ceviche, and other dishes were good too. But it's hard to order something else when your favorite is great and reasonable. For a mere $22 BZE you can indulge in this generous regional mix of fish, lobster and shrimp. Leave the conch out as it sometimes has the texture of rubber bands. Street adjacent seating permits a rich people watching experience, and free wifi lets you stay connected too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    62
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“decent place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We ate breakfast there twice. The food and service were both very good. It seems that in Caye Caulker most places have a good similar breakfast.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Top Contributor
551 reviews 551 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
“Good value for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Dropped in for our last dinner on the island.
We went for the day's special. The fish was not very fresh but the food was ok in general.
The choices are fine and the prices quite reasonable. Nice outdoor sitting area. Friendly staff.
Dinner for 2 plus 4 drinks was BEZ52 including taxes. Good deal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not a good breakfast choice...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I decided to try this place for breakfast. I was met by a surly man who barked "Self serve, self serve," when I inquired about coffee. A pleasant waitress arrived at my table not long after I got myself a cup of coffee and she apologized for not being at the restaurant when I arrived.

I ordered an omelet and hash browns and waited... and waited... and waited. I totally get "island time" but this was extreme and I was the only customer at the restaurant!

The coffee was undrinkable -- think very cheap American drip. My omelet of spinach, mushrooms [canned!] and cheese was bland and oily and the side of hash browns was absolutely uncooked.

The waitress never came back to the table after she brought my food. When I went inside to pay, the waitress was eating and seemed quite irritated that I wanted to pay my bill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Brunch with WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Thursday morning, September 12, brunch. Westside of Avenida Hicaco. Stopped here because it was open and our “taxi” driver recommended it. We had a yummy lobster omelet and a snapper burger, with screw driver and a pina colada. There was a big coffee brewer and it was really good coffee. We asked and the waiter said “Maxwell House.”

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Lobster Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Happy Lobster Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Lobster Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.