We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise, Noise and more Noise!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of China Town Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added China Town Hotel to your Saves list
China Town Hotel
Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 30 Caye Caulker B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noise, Noise and more Noise!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This hotel is in the middle of Caye Caulker and there was alot of noise. Sleep was almost impossible on many of the nights. And the Chinese people who run the place absolutely refused to give us a refund so that we could find a more quiet place to rest. They required that we pay for our stay up-front (don't do it!), and finances were tight, so we could not afford to go anywhere else without getting a refund. They upgraded us to their "best" rooms on the top floor, but it was quite loud up there, albeit we did not have to hear pounding on the ceiling from anyone on top of us. There is no soundproofing in the building and the workmanship of the new construction is really, really poor. We could not even wash our hands properly in the sink due to it not being put together the right way. We had no hot water the last night and the manager never even came to our room to try to fix it -- despite complaints. This is a very lousy hotel and probably only OK if you are a teenager or young adult who loves loud noise and doesn't care about sleep (or anything else for that matter!). AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Room Tip: Don't get a room at this hotel. They are all bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    13
    30
    24
    33
See reviews for
3
40
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here with tucan travel tours and were initially really disappointed. The average room was tiny no window very dated or pokey mould on walls holes in sheets. Only when we kept complaining did we get upgraded to a lovely recently refurbished room. Unfortunately only 2 other members of the group got the upgrade as well. Caged rabbits and building work 8til late just finished us off really.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The rooms are basic (but clean) and their windows are too small to let in much natural light, but they're spacious enough. The best thing about this hotel was staying in one of the 2 penthouse rooms on the great roof terrace. If you can get one of those, you're laughing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We didn't have high hopes for the China Town Hotel after reading previous reviews. We had heard that the renovations were supposed to be finished in Jan but on arrival it looked like they weren't even close.
We were shown to our room, a "matrimonial" on the third floor, which was... pretty awful. It was small and dingey and I guess lucky for us... completely uncleaned. The bed looked like it had just been slept in and there was food and other stuff left behind.
I went downstairs to complain and in the process got an upgrade to a newer room up the top. A little bit of an extra walk but who cares - this room was miles apart from the other. It was huge - two big beds and clean. The bathroom was also clean and new and it was great.
I think we'd have been really disappointed and slightly horrified if we had to stay in the previous room, but luck was on our side so our stay ended up being pleasant.
Wifi was fantastic - not sure if that was across the board or just our location.
Being Caye Caulker the hotel wasn't far from anything so you can walk everywhere...including the the bakery on 2nd Street - do yourself a favour and go there!
We stayed three nights on Caye Caulker but it wasn't enough!
I don't think I'd take the risk of going back to this hotel unless I knew I was getting one of the new rooms though.
Also pool was still being renovated which was a shame!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brione sopra Minusio, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel is under construction for renewal.
Our room was definitely good for the price. Functional and with a lot of space.
Roof terrace very nice.
Restaurant is to avoid.. Definitely much better places can be found by a 2 minutes walk from the hotel..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a room on the top floor which was excellent. I did pop my head into some other rooms, and I could see there was significant differences in room quality

Positives
- Our room was excellent (other rooms likely to get negative comments tho)

Negatives
- Building works were a pain, noise, etc
- Pool out of action (and will be for at least another 1-2 months, they have major works in flight)
- Staff not all that helpful
- Safety deposit lockers didn't have very good security, they kept the key and seemed to hand key out to whoever asked for it (and you couldn't double lock with your own lock, as I often do in this scenario)

If our room had been poor , I would have given this hotel 1* or 2*

Room Tip: Ask for top floor, maybe even have a look at a few rooms, there's significant variation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was my only option since it was high season. They charge way too much for being away from the beach! When you walk in the receptionist does not look like she wants you there. I asked her if they have a pool, they said yes. Once I way OVER-paid for 4 nights they inform me that the pool is closed for renovation! Really! Thanks for disclosing that ahead of time lol. The rooms are blah, nothing special. They at least have A/C and tv. But the condition is dirty and grimmy. The water pressure is not existent, the white walls look grimmy and nasty, like a truck stop bathroom that you dont want to touch! The beds are ok. The major problem I had is teh renovations. They start at 8 am and end at 6 pm! So dont try to sleep in with hammering and arguing going on all day! The cleaning ladies are nice as hell and pleasant, probably from the fact that they do not really do much cleaning and are not stressed out to hurry and do a good job, lol. I paid for 4 nighst but moved out after two and had to get credit to shop at the chinese store next door. That is where the "un-friendly" lady upfront came through for me. She will do what she can to help, she just has an unfriendly initial appearance.

Room Tip: Yeah, go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to China Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Town Hotel

Address: Estrella Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your China Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Town Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.