We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“No Frills”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The picture of this hotel that I saw on the Internet made it look pleasant but in person it is a drab, boxy, concrete bunker-like building, different from the many brightly colored light houses that dot this wonderful tropical island. It is located on a corner that is neither pretty or charming, several blocks from the water with no water views that I could see. Though the hotel is larger than most here the only staff I laid eyes on was a clerk who wordlessly checked us in and calmly watched us drag our bags up the stairs. The hallway to the room was dark and the room had an institutional feel. We met another couple who were as disappointed as we were. The guy told me that in retrospect he realizes that he chose the hotel for a silly reason - because it popped up so often on hotel search engines. I realized I had made the same mistake. Somehow I thought that indicated it was a good hotel. I would recommendation to other travelers that they search off the beat and track on the Internet or spend some time looking at guide books before you book a hotel because it keeps popping up on searches. Most of the accommodations in Caye Caulker are small places that won't appear on the major hotel search engines. When we decided to switch hotels, we found there was lots of room. We found a great place at about the same price but with charm, local character and lots of friendly local staff and we plan to come back in July.

Room Tip: We did not like our room and the clerk told us there were none that were better in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    77
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
74
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed in March, 2013 for 5 nights. Corner room on 3rd floor; great A/C, quiet, and very clean room. Friendly front desk staff and nice bathroom with great shower. No amenities in hotel but everything's a short walk. Tip: rent a bike to get around the island!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are great, otherwise get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a perfectly clean hotel with the basics - even terrace, safe, wife. But it is quite a dismal place. Like the kind of rooming house/hotel that the hero of a detective story checks into when he is down and out. A staff of one, not the slightest help with anything. And a concrete industrial size little building slap in the middle of paradise. All of Caye Caulker is very unglamorous but this place manages it with zero charm. The people who rated it higher must have just left the Barrier Reef bar (a wonderful water side bar with life music) and been quite mellow because there is no way this place merits more than two stars. But the Caye itself is so magical perhaps they gave it credit for simply being there. Also as far as you can get from this water in a town about 5 blocks wide.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerport, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for a week in March 2013 just before Easter. I wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly suprised! The rooms were spacious and clean, nice bathrooms with good water pressure and hot water. Air conditioners were quiet and each room has a ceiling fan as well for extra comfort. The beds were comfotable, rooms neat and clean. Room safes are a plus! Rooftop terrace was a nice touch for an overview of the Island. The staff was the best part. Friendly and helpful always looking to make you comfortable. As for as better hotels on the Island, I did not see many others that had much more to offer for the value of this hotel and as for rpoximity to the beach dont be fooled. There is only 1 main beach on the Island and since it is such a small Island it really doesn;t matter how close you are. So dont pay more thinking you are getting a better location. Wonderful stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floor are best... the first floor can get a little nosiy until the traffic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice size room, clean, very good shower with plenty hot water. Staff very friendly. Quiet AC and ceiling fan worked fine, big safe in the room. Nice rooftop terrace. Complenentary coffee in the lobby was a nice touch. Excellent wifi, we were on the third floor with a balcony which was nice. Great location in the center. Nothing bad to say about this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on Exodus's La Ruta Maya tour. The hotel was good with reasonably sized rooms and good bathroom and shower but our room was on the ground floor which meant it was a bit noisy as people walked past outside.

Would have liked to have stayed somewhere with a pool and we didn't realise there was no real beach on the island - seemed a shame to be in the middle of the ocean and not able to swim!

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Like others we booked to late to find a place on the water. The plaza was a comfortable place to stay in a good location. The safe in our room, plenty of hot water and the coffee in the lobby were nice touches. I only had 2 minor complaints: the fan in our room was broken but the AC did work well. It would have been nice to have had the fan too, it was so hot. It rained very hard our last night and the streets outside the hotel had huge mud puddles that covered the entire street. I noticed that other streets did not have so much water standing. It was not the hotels fault and it was fun to wade through the water in my flip flops but we did have to get a golf cart to leave with our luggage since we could not drag it through the water.

Room Tip: We did not pay for a balcony room but it would have been nice to have a place to dry wet snorkel gea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel

Address: Avenida Langosta & Calle al Sol | P.O. Box 3, Caye Caulker, Belize
Location: Belize > Belize Cayes > Caye Caulker
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Caye Caulker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Caye Caulker. All our rooms are fully air-conditioned, equipped with cable TV, mini fridge and hot and cold shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caye Caulker Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.