We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chan's Takeout

Chan's Takeout
corner of Dock and Second Street, Caye Caulker, Belize
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 69 Restaurants in Caye Caulker
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Don't let the Chinese take out fool you. They offer a lot more than that. I stoped here on the suggestion of the hair stylist and was very much suprised and happy. Great steak and rice meals that my husband enjoyed very much and I got the chicken which was nice and tender. Worth a trip to try out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goliad, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never thought Chinese take-out in the Caribbean would be so good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This place is convenient, delicious, has huge servings...and stays open LATE! The service is fast, but the food tastes great! I watched as the cooks prepared the food...freshly chopped veggies!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best fried chicken on the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My favourite fried chicken place on Caye Caulker island. Very reasonably priced at $8 Belize dollars or $4 USD for half a chicken, fries and coleslaw.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looks sketchy, but it is worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was brought a styrofoam box of food one morning. It contained fried jacks, some eggs, re-fried beans and some creamy cheese similar to La Vache Qui Rit. Sounds simple, but it was delicious!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good and cheap !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

There are only 2 tables but if you are lucky, you can seat there. The food is really good and tasty. I had the fried lobster filet with fried rice and salad for only 13 belizian dollars. It´s very cheap for Caye Caulker !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan's Takeout also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to Chan's Takeout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chan's Takeout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.