We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Angel

French Angel
Caye Caulker, Belize
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Boston
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a great snorkling trip with Marth! He was very informative an friendly! We got to see many fish, turtles, rays, sharks and he even stopped to we could swim with a manatee! It was a great day, and he held a shark and let me kiss it. Wish I had a waterprrof camera to capture the day! We also took a fishing trip with Gerard that was great as well. He took the four of us on a boat for four hours and we were catching snapper left and right. He baited the hook for us so that we didn't have to touch it (Made me very HAPPY). He also caught a nurse shark that was very cool. When we got back Victor prepared the fish we caught and we had a backyard cookout. It was a great dinner (Thanks to Victor!!!) and Marina and some of the other neighbors stopped by to eat with us. There was plenty of fish to go around and it was nice to sit and conversate with everyone! It was a memorable eaperience and one we all cherish! Thank you French Angel for providing safe and FUN days for us on our vacation!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    17
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, Ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“night snorkeling amazingness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went night snorkeling with French Angel, this was the second time, and it was just as good as the first! The owner, Ash, was super nice, but was sick and did not go with us. We had a really great guide who was super helpful and pointed out a lot of the wildlife. We organized the trip an hour beforehand and they were all prepped and right on time. We had a group of 5 so it was perfect for all of us to be our own tour. I was never uneasy and just felt at ease the whole time. The little time we spent with the flashlights off was the coolest part- seeing the bioluminescence all around us for just a little bit was well worth the cost. There's a whole other world out there on the reef at night- it is super cool to see it in the dark!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Night Time Snorkel was Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We did lots of activities on Caye Caulker...the snorkeling was terrific, but the most memorable was snorkeling at night with French Angel Adventures.
Ash was a serious (but had a fun loving side too), professional guide...who very much was on alert for all participants for a night time snorkel. He was concerned for our safety...and regularly checked to make sure all people were nearby and doing well.
We boated out to the reef, he got us to snorkel near the boat, while he checked that we were all able to snorkel; then we followed him on a tour. We were given intense mag lights, which he quickly wiggled to show something interesting to see. It was so neat to see the lobsters, octopus, and sea turtles swimming at night.
When the lights were turned off near the boat...we saw bioluminescence, which was very neat.
Stars above us, and 'stars' below...made for some marvelous dreams.
Great fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mislead but still an ok day - did not feel safe in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I emailed several companies and was so happy to find this place. With limited hours in Belize we wanted to snorkel Hol Chan. I was told that it was no problem, given prices and asked for lunch choices since it included food. They even sent over the timing for our day showing what time we would take a water taxi back to the cruise ship. The directions to get to Caye Caulker were very clear but they said they would meet us on the dock. They did not. We had to find our way to the little shack. We did not feel safe at all there. After checking in we were told it would be another hour and to walk around until then. We walked to the beach since it was not an area we were comfortable in. At the beach we were approached by a girl claiming to have dropped her cell phone off the dock. My husband and father tried looking for it. Then she came to me and started talking about her boyfriend being mad. I ignored her so she walked away and he then came out of the bushes and they walked away. It seemed like they were up to something.


We then decided it wasn't smart to be walking around there and went back to the shack to wait for our tour. We were informed that we could not go to Hol Chan since there wasn't enough time. I was very disappointed since we had just wasted 2 hours getting here and could have done the same tour we ended up doing through Belize City. Saving a ton of time. Also we would not get lunch as promised. No biggie but considering all of the things we were told that ended up being false it was annoying.

The snorkeling was fine, the guides were nice. Seemed like they were high though which was disappointing since we were there with my kids and parents. They also said the water taxi came every 30 minutes so we asked to leave early - again they were incorrect and we ended up sitting on the dock 1.5 hours waiting for the water taxi to bring us back to Belize City. Frustrating with 2 teens and a 3 year old.

Overall just an ok day - would not use this company again nor visit Caye Caulker.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad we did this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Went on a snorkelling trip to see the manatees, Hol chan and shark alley. Had great day out without any worries. We saw a sea horse on the way out. We then headed off to see some huge tarpon fish before heading out to find the manatees. Took a little while to locate them but we'll worth the wait. Lunch, fresh water and equipment provided. Great day out with a great guide. Saw everything you could hope for. Even saw dolphins on the way back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed French Angel also viewed

Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
Caye Caulker, Belize Cayes
 

Been to French Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Angel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.